We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon...”
Review of Hotel aux Tamaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel aux Tamaris
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night last night as part of a long-route journey to the south of France for a wedding. Unfortunately I got ill a few days before arriving at Tamaris. Upon arrival first thing in the morning my (new!) wife who is much more fluent in French than I explained that I was ill and asked whether they had a room available early. They cordially got a room ready several hours ahead of schedule. The next morning they arranged for a Dr appointment for me at the fantastic surgery two doors away. I was seen almost immediately! The staff at the hotel seemed to genuinely care - very impressed!

Aside from that, I understand (I wasn't eating but my wife was) breakfast included fantastic local jam and the bed is unusually generous in size. The view is fantastic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    161
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
332
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night last night as part of a long-route journey to the south of France for a wedding. Unfortunately I got ill a few days before arriving at Tamaris. Upon arrival first thing in the morning my (new!) wife who is much more fluent in French than I explained that I was ill and asked whether they had a room available early. They cordially got a room ready several hours ahead of schedule. The next morning they arranged for a Dr appointment for me at the fantastic surgery two doors away. I was seen almost immediately! The staff at the hotel seemed to genuinely care - very impressed!

Aside from that, I understand (I wasn't eating but my wife was) breakfast included fantastic local jam and the bed is unusually generous in size. The view is fantastic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Tamaris for a week, in a sea-facing room, with no car for transport.. The hotel was very well presented, very clean,with extremely helpful staff . We were provided with tea-making facility in room. The bathroom was very well planned and the shower one of the easiest to adjust that we have ever found.
Thed room was small, by Australian or American standards, but very comfortable and adequate. WiFi was excellent.
Roscoff is a delightful town to stay in and we visited the red granite coast by train and buses--all on time and excellent. Brittany Ferries are also very well managed and I recommend the ferry, the town and this hotel to anyone wanting a weekend in Brittany.

Room Tip: Pick a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saperlopopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Hotel has a wonderful view over the sea towards Ile de Batz. Only 5 minutes walk into the centre of Roscoff. A good continental breakfast is available and owners and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAERNARFON,WALES
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well,this is a great little place with friendly owners who certainly know how to run a hotel. We stayed here for two nights and will certainly return for longer, now that we've found this place.
We had a sea view room, well worth the extra. The superking bed was really comfortable. I can't stand hard beds and most places have them now. Please don't change the beds.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and really good value.
Parking right outside and everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VILLENEUVE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I can't wait to return to this lovely hotel! It is right on the waterfront in Roscoff, but a few minutes' walk from the hustle and bustle of the old port. In all, it's a perfect location. (In the absence of any taxis at the train station I had no trouble walking there, with two rather heavy wheeled suitcases.) Do try for a seafront room: the view, and the famous fresh air, are worth the whole trip!
My room (26) was not large, but that is typical of old French hotels. THe decor was great, though the carpet was a bit tired. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was very quiet; the heating in the room worked brilliantly and was easily controlled.
One caution: I rented a bicycle from the hotel, and while it was in very good condition (it seemed very new, too), it only had seven speeds. If you are poking around the coast, that's fine, but to go inland at all, even to nearby St. Pol de Leon, you will need at 21 speeds to manage the hills, unless you are a Tour-de-France type! Not sure what the other rental options are in Roscoff, but Morlaix (30 min. away) has a major cycle rental place, right outside the Tourist Info centre. Speaking of which, Morlaix's Saturday market is fabulous -- lots of organic produce, cheese, baking, and hot food.

Room Tip: I would think that any seafront room would be great. You can sit on the bed and watch the sun set ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank La_Cicaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Comfortable room with sea view. Very quiet. Lovely staff who speak English. Plentiful on street parking outside hotel. Very reasonable breakfast and bar prices. Great location very close to Centre Ville

Room Tip: Go for a front room with sea view. Top floor windows a little small but first and second floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.8 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#6 of 12 in Roscoff
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Chez Janie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aux Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aux Tamaris

Property: Hotel aux Tamaris
Address: 49 rue Edouard Corbiere, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#4 Family Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aux Tamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an independent and very calm hotel that offers personal attention and warm welcome, the fresh sea-air and direct access to Roscoff's cobbled streets for great prices, look no further than the Tamaris. Deceptively discreet, it sits just behind the church square and gazes elegantly over the watery horizon. The décor is themed to combine fresh linen and warm contemporary colours, while prices start from just 65€ for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel aux Tamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Tamaris Hotel
Hotel Aux Tamaris Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing