We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just watch that wind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel aux Tamaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel aux Tamaris
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just watch that wind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The first time we had a week-end break in Roscoff we wandered past the Tamaris and thought how nice it would be to stay there - but that it was probably rather high-end in terms of cost. When we investigated the tariff we were amazed how reasonable it was and according booked to stay on our next visit. And the next. And the next. The only thing that now stops us choosing the Tamaris automatically every time we're over there is the fact that it's so damned popular that it's sometimes hard to get a room. When you do the experience is magical: nothing but sea and a view of the Ile de Batz by day, nothing but stars and the flashing of lighthouses at night. The Tamaris is totally tranquil, well away from the town centre, the management helpful (they always store perishable foods in their fridge for us on the night before we leave) and the rooms superbly fitted out and comfortable. Just beware the 'stopover' rooms offered at the lowest rate, which are at the back of the building and thus dont benefit from sea views. OK in extremis, but otherwise not the same experience. Breakfasts are generous and excellent value. But do watch the wind. This is a very exposed site and once the gales get up they can be very lively: returning to our room one day we were unable to open the door and thought perhaps the lock had jammed. It hadn't. We had left the window partly open, a gale had blown up and it was the pressure of the air on the other side of the door that was stopping us opening it.

Room Tip: Book early. Forget the 'stopover' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    149
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
309
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights having arrived at 08.30 on the ferry from Plymouth on our bicycles.

We were able to have breakfast (fantastic) and leave our panniers before setting out on a days cycling. When we returned later in the day our bags had been taken up to the room.

Definitely worth paying the extra for a room with a sea view and the staff are wonderful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boveyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night last night as part of a long-route journey to the south of France for a wedding. Unfortunately I got ill a few days before arriving at Tamaris. Upon arrival first thing in the morning my (new!) wife who is much more fluent in French than I explained that I was ill and asked whether they had a room available early. They cordially got a room ready several hours ahead of schedule. The next morning they arranged for a Dr appointment for me at the fantastic surgery two doors away. I was seen almost immediately! The staff at the hotel seemed to genuinely care - very impressed!

Aside from that, I understand (I wasn't eating but my wife was) breakfast included fantastic local jam and the bed is unusually generous in size. The view is fantastic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night last night as part of a long-route journey to the south of France for a wedding. Unfortunately I got ill a few days before arriving at Tamaris. Upon arrival first thing in the morning my (new!) wife who is much more fluent in French than I explained that I was ill and asked whether they had a room available early. They cordially got a room ready several hours ahead of schedule. The next morning they arranged for a Dr appointment for me at the fantastic surgery two doors away. I was seen almost immediately! The staff at the hotel seemed to genuinely care - very impressed!

Aside from that, I understand (I wasn't eating but my wife was) breakfast included fantastic local jam and the bed is unusually generous in size. The view is fantastic.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Tamaris for a week, in a sea-facing room, with no car for transport.. The hotel was very well presented, very clean,with extremely helpful staff . We were provided with tea-making facility in room. The bathroom was very well planned and the shower one of the easiest to adjust that we have ever found.
Thed room was small, by Australian or American standards, but very comfortable and adequate. WiFi was excellent.
Roscoff is a delightful town to stay in and we visited the red granite coast by train and buses--all on time and excellent. Brittany Ferries are also very well managed and I recommend the ferry, the town and this hotel to anyone wanting a weekend in Brittany.

Room Tip: Pick a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saperlopopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This Hotel has a wonderful view over the sea towards Ile de Batz. Only 5 minutes walk into the centre of Roscoff. A good continental breakfast is available and owners and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanleyFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAERNARFON,WALES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Well,this is a great little place with friendly owners who certainly know how to run a hotel. We stayed here for two nights and will certainly return for longer, now that we've found this place.
We had a sea view room, well worth the extra. The superking bed was really comfortable. I can't stand hard beds and most places have them now. Please don't change the beds.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and really good value.
Parking right outside and everything you need is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VILLENEUVE62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#4 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chez Janie
Hotel Chez Janie
#8 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel aux Tamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel aux Tamaris

Property: Hotel aux Tamaris
Address: 49 rue Edouard Corbiere, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#4 Family Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel aux Tamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for an independent and very calm hotel that offers personal attention and warm welcome, the fresh sea-air and direct access to Roscoff's cobbled streets for great prices, look no further than the Tamaris. Deceptively discreet, it sits just behind the church square and gazes elegantly over the watery horizon. The décor is themed to combine fresh linen and warm contemporary colours, while prices start from just 65€ for a double room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel aux Tamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aux Tamaris Hotel
Hotel Aux Tamaris Roscoff, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing