We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but restaurant not good for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Roscoff
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel but restaurant not good for children”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was close to the Port for an early ferry the next morning. It was excellent value for money. We had booked 2 rooms for 2 adults and 3 children. Both rooms were good although one was excellent and better than the other as it had a gorgeous view, was more modern and clearly recently decorated. The position is perfect as it is close to the pretty beach and only 20 minutes from the port. I wish we had stayed there longer. The main difficulty was the meal. I asked whether the cater for children at dinner and was told they would be able to provide what we wanted if we asked. All 3 children are choosy about what they will and won't eat. They couldn't provide pasta or frites so we were stuck with the adult menu and one from the children's menu. The youngest child did not order a starter. I asked if he could just have some frites and perhaps some ice cream. We were told that frites were not available. We asked for pasta and that was not available. Had we been told this by reception when we asked we would not have gone into the restaurant. The adult menu was not appropriate for the 2 older children. A small bowl of sautéed potatoes were provided for the younger child which he didn't like and left half. He did love the ice cream. We were charged the full 3 course child meal price for this. The 2 older children didn't have a starter, as again there was anything suitable and they didn't like their Main as it was either duck or fish. They don't like fish so chose the duck which they didn't like and to be fair it is not a children's choice. They ate their potatoes and nothing else. Their desserts were also left as they chose what looked like chocolate mousse but wasn't. I tasted their desserts and they were not good. We were charged the full adult price for 3 courses for their meals. The accommodation was excellent value. The price charged for the 3 children's dinners was ridiculous. The dinner was good for my husband and me. There didn't appear to be any other more suitable child friendly restaurants in the vicinity and we hadn't wanted to drive again having driven for quite a lot of the day so this does present a problem if you are travelling with children as there doesn't appear to be a suitable dining option for them. They are normal children who will eat chicken, pizza, pasta, frites, and so on but none of this was a possibility. We would go back to this hotel as just 2 adults but definitely not with children and in those circumstances I would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HeidiBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    568
    190
    93
    35
See reviews for
182
831
93
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had booked an apartment at the Les Residences Spa de Rockroum for a weekend away in Roscoff.Having bought items to prepare for our supper in the apartments kitchen, we were severely disappointed to find ourselves accomodated in the hotel !!
As it was August all apartments /rooms were full and we therefore had no choice other than to accept this dismal room. Whilst the room itself was adequate we found no enjoyment in staring into bushes which were located directly outside our balcony. A fridge in the room is an added bonus especially for us as we were able to save some of the food that we couldnt cook in our " apartment " !!
Booking in starts from 4pm( which is quite late in the day especially if you are just staying the one night ) although it took us another 40mins to locate exactly where we needed to be !!
Bookings at the apartments also include Spa access, although you would need to make the walk along a street to the hotel to gain access... in bathrobes ???In that respect and (only this) we were fortunate to be accomodated in the hotel with direct access.
The spa itself was good but busy with no private changing areas that we could find.
The breakfast which is advertised as starting at 6 am on Expedias web site didnt commence until 7 am ( we had to leave at 7.15 ) When we arrived to take advantage of our free breakfast included in the price, we were told that this wasnt the case and after much arguing were eventually allowed in The continental breakfast was very good although as we were in such a rush couldnt enjoy much of it.
Much of our experience is coloured by the very poor experience of booking through Expedia. ( so please be aware that what you book may not be what you receive........ complaints are also ignored )
Other rooms in this hotel looked very nice especially those with sea views. The restaurant looked lovely with a very good menu if not a little pricey, although I guess that you pay for the view ( breakfast is taken in another room)
Also be aware that unless you pay there is no parking outside the hotel... although you are allowed to park outside of the reception to unload you luggage for a short period of time.
If using the spa you need to wear hats so if you have them take them with you, although there is a shop on site which sells them... seemed a bit pricey to me although to be fair Im not up to speed on the prices of these elsewhere !!
Top tip... DONT BOOK THROUGH EXPEDIA

Room Tip: Those with a sea view although these would cost a lot more. Otherwise a room on a high floor where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Pleasant hotel. Lovely Spa with choice of pools. Excellent restaurant. Parking was not good as one had to park down the road. Room was adequate with a good bed. Shower looked like a power shower but the pressure was not great. Would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiechappie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Although we had booked an overnight stay in a family room at the associated Residences apartments, we ended up staying in a hotel room here. Arriving after a 5 hour drive and having walked quite a way trying to find the way into the Residences, I ended up in this hotel reception. What follows is necessarily coloured by my being tired and the location instructions sent by the hotel and the signage on the ground being inadequate where present.

I was rather too weary to hit the roof when the receptionist told me that there was a problem with my booking, (he intimated I was to blame) but that he would do what he could to sort it out - that's the booking I made and paid for a month ago, which had been confirmed by the hotel, we're talking about. Continuing in the manner of a man going out of his way to do me a favour, the receptionist offered me a room in the hotel for the same price. I had to accept, despite the fact that one of my reasons for choosing the Residences apartments was that we could have our car - packed full of holiday stuff - nearby. No car parking at the hotel apparently (the information in the room contradicted this) so we had to leave it 300 - 400 metres away in an open car park. As the hotel was very quiet, I wonder whether the management had taken the decision to close part of the Residences and move all the one night only guests into the hotel to save the running costs of operating both places.

The room appeared and smelled freshly renovated and was clean and tidy and the sofa bed had been made up ready for our arrival - so full marks there.

Marks removed for the ground floor level balcony being just a few metres from a street which meant that we heard every car that passed. It was a quiet road on a Saturday night/ Sunday morning and the whole area was almost deserted, so this was not so bad, but during the high season or during the week when the builders are at work on the site opposite, then perhaps not so good. Odd numbered rooms on the other side of the corridor overlooked the sea and would undoubtedly be very much nicer and quieter.

Wifi was only available in the part of our room nearest the reception desk and there were several rooms - on several levels - further away along the corridor from ours, so go no higher than room 10 if you want an internet connection. Room décor is designed to look good in the photos, but the wobbly cupboard doors, the trailing wiring in the wardrobe, the impractical wash basins and the tv suspended at head hitting height could be looked at. A hospitality tray would not go amiss either.

We paid a very good price for a room for the four of us, so it was not surprising that breakfast was not included. We opted not to eat in - for a cost of 13 euros per person - and picked up coffee and croissants from a boulangerie on the way to the ferry. That said, my husband did wander into the dining room first thing in the morning in search of a cup of coffee and a very pleasant waitress indicated the machine where he could help himself to one. Unfortunately it was, he reported, dire which is astounding in a country where bad coffee is almost unknown.

So, trying to be as fair as I can, my experience of this hotel was very definitely affected by the supercilious receptionist who clearly feels the job to be beneath him. The morning receptionist was charming, even if she did try to overcharge us on the room tax. This was a cheap place for an overnight stay in a clean room, but Roscoff has many other such hotels and we'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protowanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velizy-Villacoublay, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This was the 3rd time and there will be a 4th time next year!
The great added value is the location of the Thalassotherapy center, close to the nice Roscoff village. At the same time, Batz island is very accessible and attractive walks are available directly from the Thalasso center.
I would recommend to take a room in the hotel better than a residence flat, the pleasure to go directly to the Thalasso care center, without the need to put your coat.
Personnel is very professional, kind and looks very happy to work there.
The center inside deco has been completely revised in nice colours.
Nice walks are proposed along the half days when you do not get thalasso care.
Last but not least, there is a sea food buffet "a volonté" every thursday evening.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the seaside, for 25 euros more per day, this is very valuable due to the landscape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thegonnec france
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked this hotel for a change and found the hotel much the same as the Best Western in Dourdenez. The main difference for us was the size of the spa facility's .The spa has two sea water pools one for swimming the other for swimming and water jets and seating area's like Jacuzzi. There is also a very large ( 20 people) Jacuzzi. The sauna and steam room are also large. Do be warned if people have booked treatments then the Jacuzzi can be out of bounds likewise the swimming only pool.
We did go on a Monday evening and the spa was empty so we really able to relax.
The only downside to our stay was the price of the evening meal a tad on the pricey side.
Also note that the car park is about 200 mtrs away and in bad weather is a turn off.

Room Tip: If staying in the summer months a sea view room is a must,however in the winter a ordinary room woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manutdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Having passed through Roscoff dozens of times in the past, I did not realize what a bustling summer vacation destination it actually is.
Stayed in the apartments just a stone's throw from the hotel and was impressed with it right form the get go. There was a welcome bag that contained the stuff that you would normally forget; dish cloth, dish detergent, scouring pad (that kind of stuff).
The shower was excellent could have stripped your skin right off, if you wanted. Free washing and drying machines, even free laundery detergent.
It was a lot better than I expected, from pretty wide experience of these types of apartments, in France.
My son was particularly thrilled with the indoor pool area; two excellent salt water pools with built in jacuzzis. One of the lifeguards was a bit of a jobsworth, though!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank relaxed101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roscoff hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Mer Roscoff
0.9 mi away
Hotel Brittany & Spa
Hotel Brittany & Spa
#4 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
Hotel Le Temps de Vivre
#5 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Residence des Artistes
0.4 mi away
Ibis Roscoff Bord de Mer
0.2 mi away
Hotel aux Tamaris
Hotel aux Tamaris
#3 of 12 in Roscoff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff

Property: Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff
Address: 16 rue Victor Hugo | 16 avenue Victor Hugo, 29680 Roscoff, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Roscoff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Roscoff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Roscoff
#7 Family Hotel in Roscoff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Thalasstonic de Roscoff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thalasstonic De Roscoff Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing