We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ker Izel Hotel

Ker Izel Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ker Izel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Certificate of Excellence
Llanfair Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel is spotless ,quiet and easy to find.The central location makes it just priceless for a stopover on your way south or north to ferry ports.The owners were attentive and found us a great place to eat on a busy summers night.We asked for a quiet room when we booked ,no problems all taken care of.As we were leaving early for a long journey south our hosts fixed us a great cup of coffee before we left.The price is o.k as well.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are around numbers 22.just ask them for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    88
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
110
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
frimley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

After some confusion over the telephone while we were on route about our booking and arrival date we arrived at the hotel almost at the same moment our rooms were about to be let to someone else. Eric and Emmanuelle the owners, recovered the situation in an instant and made light of something that could have been difficult for us, so thank you both. The service provided by Eric and Emmanuelle is what makes this hotel the only place to stay in Saint Brieuc, nothing was too much trouble and the maps and information came out as soon as one asked a question.
This is not 5 star so don't expect lavish decorations or large bedrooms with all the extra's, what you get here is true value for money, centrally positioned, great breakfast and a service that is all too lacking in larger more expensive hotels. Despite being labelled as the "crazy Englishman" in jest we would definitely stay here every time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calonge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Unfortunately I got the dates of this booking wrong and we arrived a day late. Clearly the proprietor had been very concerned. Fortunately our room was available for the next two nights that we had booked and they were able to offer us a third night in another bedroom. Our luggage was brought in and taken to our room without asking and it was also moved for us when we had to change rooms.
Eric (the proprietor) took a lot of time to explain the local facilities and to direct us to some restaurants. The next morning he gave us a map of Brittany on which he had highlighted the places that were worth a visit.
The rooms themselves whilst small were really fresh and clean and very well equipped - full lenght mirror, hair dryer, two bedside lights, stand for the case, wardrope and drawers.
The buffet breakfast was first class.
We certainly would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are good but number 3 was very comfortable and is on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N10BOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

A really friendly welcome, helping with parking, bringing in our bags, etc and arranging free parking down the road. The breakfast was excellent. Our room was very clean. Owner speaks good English and his wife spoke slow, clear French so we could understand. We were given excellent on what to do and where to eat. Generally a very good stay close to town centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swallowtail05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel is a tall old building with winding staircases and small rooms, tucked away in a narrow street right next to the old medieval part of town - we learned it used to be a brothel before its present incarnation! Proprietors Eric and Dominique were very welcoming and helpful, and and their pride in the place is evident. Fortunately the hotel has free parking just up the road in a large garage. Our attic room had everything we needed, even a long mirror - everything was carefully thought out for the convenience of guests. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool though it is not at present in use, due to the high cost of conforming to regulations for its maintenance - but since the June weather was cool it wasn't a great loss. Restaurants and bars are a short walk away, and Eric went to the trouble of trying to book us into one (unasked!) for an evening meal as soon as we arrived - unfortunately full, but we wandered round and found somewhere to our liking. The town itself is slightly run down, but quiet and pleasant enough for a short stay or as a base for exploring this pretty area.

Room Tip: Call first and ask about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingladyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

2 star hotel, 5 star treatment ,An old but very well kept hotel, the room was clean and comfortable, the service was first class. Breakfast the best we have experianced in France ever and we have been visiting France for many years.Landlord could not have been more helpfull . Town centre but quite also private secure parking provided for free as is the Wi Fi. Would i stay again. A definate yes .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

All is perfect in this hotel, starting from the kindness and friendly care of the landlord to the finely restored location and rooms.
He helped us to bring the luggage to the room and gave us some precious hints for eating and visiting: the lounge is filled with lots of books and magazines about Britanny and the local region.
The breakfast is very good and served with lots of care.
Worth a detour !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Brieuc hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Clisson
Hotel de Clisson
#1 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edgar
Hotel Edgar
#3 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint-Brieuc Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin
BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin
#5 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#6 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.1 mi away
Relais de Beaucemaine
Relais de Beaucemaine
#7 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ker Izel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ker Izel Hotel

Property: Ker Izel Hotel
Address: 20 rue de Gouet, 22000 Saint-Brieuc, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Saint-Brieuc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ker Izel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ker Izel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ker Izel Hotel Saint-Brieuc, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing