We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    87
    41
    8
    0
See reviews for
14
106
5
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a very warm welcome by the hotel reception who kindly advised she had room for us in the main hotel building, there are two and in view of the rain we were most grateful to be in the main building. We had a nice room at the back of the hotel - with a kettle in the room which was a plus. We found that the bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Room Tip: I imagine that the rooms at the back would be quietest but do not think even the front ones would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Best Western L, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Madam and Sir!

We were very pleased to welcome you in our hotel in occasion of Rallye Fougères 2014!

Thank you very much for your comment on this website and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
162 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This hotel has both good and bad points. We stayed for 3 nights in November. Good location, difficult car parking, breakfast was very poor and was not included inthe room proce - quite exepnsive for what it was. Would be noisy at most times of year due to square right outside building. Wifi did not work whole time we were there, had to use ethernet cable, which we always carry.

Hotel restaurant was quite good, staff were friendly / helpful, fairly good english.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying, ask fro a room that does not overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

Not the fanciest, nor by any means the roomiest of hotels, but situated in a great spot with a staff who went out of their way to try to make everything work. Rooms are clean and comfortable although very small, breakfast was very good, with eggs involved. Location bang in the centre of everything.
All in all a pleasant stay

Room Tip: there are some larger rooms and suites so worth checking if you need more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in the annexe of the hotel on the third floor looking out over the square. The first room I was given smelled of cigarette smoke, despite a no-smoking policy in the hotel. However the very helpful receptionist immediately moved me to another room opposite which had no smell. The room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was particuarly spacious. The free wifi wasn't working when I first arrived, but someone was working on it already and had fixed it within half an hour of my arrival.

I had no problems in the annexe, and it was always possible to go to the main building (despite the Breton rain!) for assistance if necessary. My only problem was with the noisy locals in the square at night. On both nights of my stay I was kept awake by young people shouting, screaming and carrying on in the square directly underneath my window. Despite being on the third floor and keeping my window closed I still was able to hear the noise from the square.

Of course my only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but if you're considering this hotel, perhaps ask for a room facing away from the square. I stayed on a Thursday and Friday night so maybe it would be quieter on other nights.

Enjoyed the hotel, just not the noise from the square!

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravellingScot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012, as it happened the warmest week of the year! We booked because of the reviews on here and the Best Western reputation.
Our room was in the front of the main hotel, not the annex. Unfortunately the area in front of the hotel was the meeting place for the local drunks each night! As it was so warm we had our window open and the noise outside woke us up each night from about 3am.
The restaurant on the front of the hotel is of excellent quality, with good service and seating inside or out. Varied menu choices, including local seafood and typical French meat dishes.
Free wifi is available but wasn't on all the time we were there; probably just a glitch!
Room wasn't too bad, not as nice as their website suggests, but bathroom bright and clean.
Overall, not too bad, but could be better for the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuernseyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

First class Best Western hotel in wonderful town. Rooms were great, first class items such as blankets, towels, toiletries, etc. Breakfast was included and incredible, beyond the norm. Parking provided in guarded basement of shopping center across the way. Interesting church nearby, lots of street restaurants nearby also. Cost was about $75 a night. There are two parts to the hotel, with access card controlled to the newer branch. The management, especially Sophie, were really helpful, including when the wi-fi server wasn't working properly. They stopped what they were doing and came fright over to fix it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Brieuc hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edgar
Hotel Edgar
#3 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Clisson
Hotel de Clisson
#1 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint-Brieuc Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ker Izel Hotel
Ker Izel Hotel
#4 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Champ de Mars
Hotel du Champ de Mars
#6 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais de Beaucemaine
Relais de Beaucemaine
#7 of 8 in Saint-Brieuc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin

Property: BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin
Address: 2 Place du Guesclin, 22000 Saint-Brieuc, France (Formerly Hotel Du Guesclin)
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Saint-Brieuc
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Saint-Brieuc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Le Duguesclin in Saint-Brieuc Bay is the ideal place to stay as a base to explore Brittany. With a central location on the regional map, we are the right location for trips to the main tourist spots which are all within 100 kilometers, such as Dinard, Saint-Malo, Perros-Guirec, Brehat, and Cap Frehel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Le Duguesclin Saint-Brieuc, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing