We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food combined with charm and professionalism”
Review of La Gourmandiere

La Gourmandiere
Ranked #17 of 273 Restaurants in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$64 - US$87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Aurelia & Olivier Samson you reception for your biggest pleasure . In noon in the week we propose you Bistr' Aurelia, in evenings and weekend, it is Olivier's Table, 1* to the guide Michelin, 2 atmospheres and 2 styles to propose you the creative and generous kitchen which follows the rhythm of the seasons.
Stockholm
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food combined with charm and professionalism”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Celebrated a birthday, five girlfriends. The combination of personal, friendly staff, almost cosy setting with very enjoyable food from first amuse to last sweet with some seasalt on top made an evening to remember!
Extremly good value for our money, for food, service, wine.

Dont miss out on this hidden getaway.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KajsaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    55
    20
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Quality speaks the same language all over the world. As a group of 10 Kiwis, most of us had never been to a Michelin Star restaurant before (OK, so 1 or 2 in our group didn't know what a Michelin Star was.... Sorry).... But you can't mistake a place that does its job well. Simple, modern, tasteful surroundings; very good service (in English even), and delicious food. It was a set menu - 3 courses or 6. All the courses were superb. One of our group left not quite full due to the high proportion of seafood on offer, but otherwise we were all replete. I don't think there are any Michelin star restaurants in NZ.... Grove in Auckland would compare well on a food front, but to doesn't quite have the sophistication....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and excellent service”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Went with a group of 10 to enjoy some quality French cuisine. Had choice of 2 menus. Food was very nice, good wine list and received excellent service from the staff. Even gave us a sweet treat to take home and enjoy for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZAnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“chic modern restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

modern , pleasant decor in this 1 star michelin restaurant which has been open on this site on the edge of vannes for only about 18 months. young, friendly breton chef/owner is doing very good things in the kitchen. good value menu and wine list. all six of us loved our food. the service is spotty and slow[this is by french standards]. would absolutely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bolgerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Michelin star food at 40 euros”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Top table of the Vannes region.
With limited staff, you get a short or long seasonal menu only, but renewed every two weeks. One guy complains about lack of choice, I must strongly dissagree and I applaude the integrity of Olivier Samson and the high quality that you get when the menu list is not 20 pages long.....
This is food excellence. With the rigourous experience at Anne Sophie Pic (3 michelin star in Valence), le Parc des Eaux-Vives (Geneva) , and la reserve de Beaulieu on the french Riviera (2 stars) , I'll eat my hat if this guy doesn't get a michelin star very soon.
Excellent wine selection as well. A magical moment with a bottle of l'Hortus Grande Cuvee (king of the Pic Saint Loup).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pbo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gourmandiere also viewed

 
Vannes, Morbihan
Vannes, Morbihan
 
Vannes, Morbihan
 

Been to La Gourmandiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing