We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent stay at the Mercure. Room recently refurbished - I think last month on the 1st floor(still a slight smell of paint), huge bed, funky bathroom and separate toilets...and extremly quiet (thanks to the door between bedroom and front door). Would recommend and come back anytime (5-10 mins walk to lovely harbour)

Room Tip: any rooms on the 1st floor as recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    277
    100
    34
    18
See reviews for
65
281
31
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
}���S��
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Very good stay at the Mercure. All staff very helpful, not least the lady at breakfast who remembered after the first day how my husband liked his coffee.

Breakfast in general was very good, lots of choice of styles from the breakfast buffet. Even the cooked breakfast of bacon and scrambled eggs was very good for a French (or even an English) hotel.

If you want an authentic French experience this is not for you but if you want a good standard of hotel that you can feel comfortable in, I would definitely recommend it.

Clean and well maintained throughout.

Clearly some rooms have yet to be renovated so I'd suggest enquiring when you book, but ours was fully modernised and faultless in every way. Beautiful views of the sunrise above the Golfe too.

Room Tip: Enquire whether your room is one of those that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Chissock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We only stayed for one night the room we stayed in on the 5th Floor was excellent extra large bed modern excellent bathroom. Good location for us to briefly explore the town of Vannes. Large free carpark.
Didn't use any of the other services offered by hotel.
We want to visit this area again so will use this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I always use this hotel when I need to go to the area for business, the main reason is that I know I will get a particular standard when I use a chain hotel. The lower-priced rooms are arguably a little tired, but certainly clean and above all, quiet. The staff are always helpful, and attentive. The location is not too far from the centre of Vannes that you cannot walk it, and the views from the hotel across to the water are wonderful. The restaurant attached to the hotel is good, and popular, something which is not usually true for most hotel restaurants. Parking is free. Gripes? Well the buffet breakfast, while good, is a little expensive I feel, and there should be free WiFi in the rooms but those are about my only negatives. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillidoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Wanted a hotel that wasn't downtown, and chose this, partly for car parking. Very modern and warm colors against white, friendly reception, nice room with a great view of the water that recedes to expose sea floor, amazing sight daily. Good breakfasts, excellent coffee. Family friendly, gay friendly, business friendly, too. This was our base for exploring the region, and was always good to come back too. Front desk staff can be a bit abrupt if busy, but otherwise very personable and welcoming. Restaurant staff excellent and friendly, warm folks. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Stayed for three nights with Riviera Travel on DB&B package. Our room was very big, lovely and clean, nice bathroom with separate loo, plenty of hot water. TV with Eurosport & World news channel the rest are French. Like most foreign hotels, no tea/coffee making facilities, we took our own travel kettle.
The meals were very good, nice quality food and well prepared, we were also given complimentary wine and bottled water, which we didn't expect. Breakfast was quite good, some fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, bacon, cooked meats and cheese, plenty of coffee and hot water to make your own tea.
It is about two miles from the centre, but there are plenty of buses. It was nice and quiet in the evenings, no problem sleeping. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Okay so it wasn't really a double bed - it was two three-quarter beds pushed together. The room was lovely, with the small niggle of no tea-making facilities. The restaurant and reception service were very friendly and efficient. Food was variable, but mostly good. My only other criticism was the lack of service in the downstairs bar.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Archaeology_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vannes hotels
2.5 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
1.5 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
548 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Le Roof
Best Western Le Roof
#2 of 32 in Vannes
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
0.8 mi away
Appart'City Confort Vannes
0.2 mi away
Golfe Hotel
Golfe Hotel
#13 of 32 in Vannes
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Vannes Le Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Vannes Le Port

Property: Mercure Vannes Le Port
Address: 19 rue Daniel Gilard | Le Parc du Golfe, 56000, Vannes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Vannes Le Port 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short stroll from the jetty where you can visit the Morbihan gulf . 1Km from the Cathedral and its ramparts and the Museum "La Cohue". A/C luxury rooms. Regional cuisine. Meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Vannes Le Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Carnac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing