We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location & Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Le Roof
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for one night and would come back, the room was light, clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful, the gourmet menu in the restaurant was perfect with amazing fresh seafood (loved the oysters & scallops) which we ate whilst looking out over the bay and enjoying our wine, what more could you want !
The only negative thing was that we had tried to book online before arriving and when we arrived the price quoted was higher but after mentioning this we were charged the original price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allangi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Le Roof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you wish to enjoy a good romantic lunch or dinner with your wife or husband , you could try this one ; first , the situation is just magic as you are just in front the golf of Morbihan which is a treasure of nature and you can have a nice walk before or after your lunch . The restaurant view is really nice and the service in relation with this ; of course , seafood are the best plate to taste but you could also have the famous " steak tartare" . Plenty of good wines to enjoy also with your meal .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I am writing this in my quality of Speaker and Designer of professional seminars. I was, with a business partner of mine and 7 people (the CEO and Board of a French midcap).
- Overall very satisfied.
- It is clear that the hotel is not a "seminar only" location (my worldwide benchmark remaining Chateauform). But the quality of the staff, their capacity of rapid reaction, service orientation, service recovery and the great exemplarity of their General Manager (who took his car to go and buy in urgency sound material for my laptop) largely compensate for this and made our stay and experience very good.
- Overall surrounding: On a semi-ilsland, the hotel is located on the see (a lovely bay)
- Conference room: With inspiring view on the bay. Perfect to the exception of the noise: it wasnt our case but I guess one audience could be disturbed by another in the adjacent room. The removable walls are not perfectly soundproof would the other audience be noisy.
- Bedrooms: Clean, comfortable beautyful. I have seen worse 4 and 5* hotel rooms!
- Food: If you like seafood, excellent. I dont like seafood but the meat was perfectly OK
- service: as commented, excellent
So a definite GO if you plan a seminar in the region. I would also recommend for private stay!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view on the sea
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I have stayed in Le Roof on more than one occasion on business and always found it to be clean and comfortable. The rooms are adequately sized for Europe and the views over the harbor are beautiful. The dining room serves a full breakfast and the dinners at night are very good. The salted sea bass is exceptionally good. The hotel is not air conditioned but the temperature is rarely too hot to be uncomfortable and fans are furnished. I always look forward to my stays in Vannes and Le Roof.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the harbor!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

What a horrible experience! Beware: this hotel looks great on the internet and has some positive reviews which led us here deceptively. What the hotel information doesn't tell is that this hotel is butted up next to a busy pedestrian walkway and public beach which has non-stop noise, including yelling children and teenagers and barking dogs well into the early morning hours. When we could finally not sleep at 1 a.m. I made my way to the front desk and was told they could not control the public paths all around the hotel and they had to call the police in order to get the teenagers on the public path and beach just outside our room to stop yelling. Since there is no A/C in the rooms, you have to keep your windows open so there is no escape from this non-stop noise. To add to this nightmare, we made our reservations through Best Western 4 months in advance but were met at the front desk with a very hard denial: the room we had booked 4 months prior for our dream vacation was suddenly closed for repairs! In other words, our seaside view, large room was not available and we were put in a tiny attic-sized room for 1 night and sent across town to the Mercure hotel for the other nights. I was not allowed to view the room we had booked which was supposedly being repaired from a water leak. I am a 35 year customer of Best Western and have NEVER had such a horrible experience in my life, Caveat Emptor: Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bustravelpro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We drove up from La Rochelle to Vannes and stayed at Le Roof Hotel. It's in a lovely setting on the coast, lots of boats on the water, there's a small beach and swimming area to one side of the hotel and another contained swimming pool to the other side which is tidel, it's a good idea.
The hotel itself is somewhat dated in style and decor, but comfortable. The sea views are great, there are seats and tables outside, you can get lost in your thoughts just sitting there admiring.
The rooms are not very big, the bathroom is quite small but adequate, very clean. We had a balcony with plastic chairs, but our room overlooked the car park.
The staff, friendly and efficient.
We just had breakfast at the hotel, it was good, self service, whatever your choice.
This would be a lovely place to escape to now and then.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the sea! And chairs on the balcony. :-)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StellaNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is located at a peninsula, which hosts birds and some inhabitants, and attracts visitors of the small beach and the natural pool, joggers, restaurant visitors, guests of this hotel and people attending meetings in the hotel. Sometimes it feels as if the latter category dominates the other, judging from the usually full parking lot and the groups using the terrace and garden until late. For me, that takes away part of the vacation experience, as it confronts me with the business setting I'm used to in daily life.

Nevertheless, its location is extremely peaceful, with a nice view over the gulf. We enjoyed the comfortable superior room with seaview, balcony, minibar. The room lacks airco, but was not needed during our stay; temperatures where moderate and there was plenty of fresh air coming from the gulf. Breakfast was good and pleasant. The hotel hosts 2 restaurants: one busy bistro (café Le Conceau) with OK-ish food and one more quiet and a bit more expensive restaurant with better food (although I assume they share the same kitchen). It was very nice to have a drink at the garden terrace with some complimentary bites, in the late afternoon.

From the hotel it is a nice stroll the center of Vannes, along the gulf with some very nice views. Walking slowly, taking pictures, etc, this took about an hour. Vannes is a nice town with some small museums and an aquarium for rainy days. More known tourist attractions as the prehistoric fields surrounding Carnac or the peninsula of Quiberon are well doable by car from here. Next to the hotel is a small beach and a natural swimming pool and a crepe-restaurant, so on hot sunny days one could stay near the hotel as well.

Besides the presence of the business people one more critical aspect: paying with the new Best Western unit cards while not having a code with us (our fault) caused a check-out procedure of an hour (which could have been much shorter if the staff would have been more helpful). But overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vannes
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
2.9 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
1.0 mi away
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Mercure Vannes Le Port
#11 of 32 in Vannes
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Appart'City Confort Vannes
7.9 mi away
Miramar La Cigale Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Le Roof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Le Roof

Address: 10 Allee Des Freres Cadoret, 56000, Vannes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vannes
#3 Business Hotel in Vannes
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Le Roof 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Le Roof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roof Hotel Vannes
Best Western Vannes
Vannes Best Western
Best Western Hotel Vannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing