We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, fantastic location, extremely helpful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citotel Hotel de France
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic location, extremely helpful staff.”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel overnight en route to La Rochelle. Manager Frederic could not have been more helpful or accommodating and made us feel very welcome - not an easy task when you see a family arrive with 4 children instead of 3. We found the hotel quiet, very clean and well located. It is a very short walk from the historic centre, port and a bustling market. We arrived home to find a phone message from Frederic to let us know that we had left behind some small items of jewelry. From our experience Vannes is an incredibly beautiful town with a friendly welcome for a large family. We would love to explore more of Vannes and the Golf de Morbihan than one day would allow. We will happily return both to Vannes and to the Hotel de France.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    84
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
45
95
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

You will not find more helpful and courteous managers/owners anywhere! clean, convenient and easy to find in Vannes.

Room Tip: The elevator was rapid so any floor is probably fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff here are great. Incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the historic town centre. Our room was on the first floor and overlooked a rooftop courtyard and corridor. It was basic but nice and clean although there was a slight musty smell that quickly disappeared on opening the window.

Due to the location of the room there was some noise until about midnight as people wew sat out on the rooftop courtyard chatting and drinking. it also meant you couldn't keep the window open as it was a security risk and everyone walking down the corridor could see in the room.

There is a small car park that you can use for 5 euros a day but you will need to call ahead to book it.

There is a small bar and the prices are great value.

All in all a reasonalbe hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We had the same experience as the last 2 reviewers. We stayed for 3 nights in a large room (#3) on the first floor with a view of the garden. It was comfortable and very clean. The hotel is located on a calm street but not far from the train station and 10 minute walk to the historic town center. The hotel managers (husband and wife) could not me more gracious and welcoming. They made you feel like you were staying at a gite rather than a "chain hotel". We had to leave early one morning to make it to the ferry to Belle Isle and they were all too willing to prepare our breakfast prior to 7AM to accommodate our schedule. Very pleasant stay. Vannes is a beautiful town and great place to stay to discover other parts of southern Brittany. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valere81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
574 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here so we could walk to the train station in the morning for our train to Paris. It is a nice walk to the old town and the port. It's a 'chain' hotel, but it has friendly service and good value. We booked early and got a comfy room (#4) on the ground floor at the back with a view of the garden. Very quiet. Nice size with a shower that's separate from the toilet.

we left some of our Brittany travel books in the room to lighten our load... and the hotel was nice enough to call and tell us that we had left them. Nice touch. And one of the several reasons we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor as they're all on the backside of the hotel facing a nice gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is a find--not overly fancy but very comfortable and welcoming. Our room was large. The location is perfect--easy access by either train or car and yet walkable to all the sites. Hotel managers Marylise and Frederic and their adorable family could not have been nicer--they went out of their way to make sure our time in Vannes was pleasurable, even assisting with a little rental car mixup we experienced there. There are fun restaurants nearby on the Rue de la Fontaine.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear and we heared zero street noise. Don't worry about trains--they stop a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel is situated in a calm street near the main train station. It is about 10-15 minutes on foot to the old town. Rooms are adequate, not so big, but comfortable. Staff is welcoming and friendly.

Hotel is good and at the same time price is significantly lower than in some hotels nearby. So price/quality is very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
#24 of 32 in Vannes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis styles Vannes Gare Centre
0.3 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel Hotel de France

Property: Citotel Hotel de France
Address: 57 avenue Victor Hugo, 56000, Vannes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Citotel Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citotel Hotel Vannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing