We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem, in a wonderful town”
Review of La P'tite Souris

La P'tite Souris
Ranked #13 of 273 Restaurants in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: I think this must be a new restaurant - the taxi driver had not heard of it. We had dinner there on Wednesday 25th July. Extremely good - lovely decor - delicious food well presented, 3 course 27 euros + wine - pitcher of Rose 8 euros. Lovely staff - can't say enough good about this place - you do need to look at it!
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Little gem, in a wonderful town”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Vannes is a great town to stroll round for the day and La P'tite Souris is the perfect place for lunch. I had pan fried fois gras, with a rhubarb chutney and a glass of raspberry wine to start and it was gorgeous. A grilled fillet of sea bass, with a cider sauce followed and it was cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful. My wife and son had a scallop gratin to start, which was cooked perfectly, followed by a very good entrecôte and sautéed potatoes. My daughter had sautéed prawns and they went down a treat.

We discovered this restaurant on the last day of our holiday, we wished it was earlier, so we could have paid another visit.

Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    196
    44
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vollen, Akershus, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The excellent little mouse in Vannes!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A gem of a restaurant! When it comes to value for money no other restaurant in Vannes can possibly beat "The little mouse". Contemporary french cooking, excellently and excitingly performed. And to prices that are close to unbeatable. Had the Menu Gourmand for 27 euros, lovely fois gras, a perfectly grilles dourade and the breton Tiramisu (which btw had very little in common with proper Tiramisu, but what the heck does that matter when it is so mouthwatering gooood!). To sum it up, a three course meal for two, aperitif to start, a demilitre pichet of wine, coffee to finish. Totalling 70 euros! How do they do it?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henning I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vannes, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Tripadvisor's dream”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hard to get really excited but a good restaurant nonetheless. I had a confit of lamb shank and although I was expecting something with a nice rich sauce, it came out sauceless. With chips. Doesn't sound great, does it? But it was lovely. Kinda like confit of duck (funnily enough!)

Service was a bit lackadaisical (Surely I get a helpful vote just for using the word lackadaisical!)

Still an' all, a good restaurant, with good food, great location and giving you enough tiny things to complain about without ruining the experience. Perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Streaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Small, discreet resto only a couple of minutes beyond the main bustle of the harbour. Discreet presentation, attentive service, and exceptional cuisine, of a standard well beyond the price. Wine served en pichet, which also helps contain the cost. Recommended without qualification, and it is open on Monday evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinH916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La P'tite Souris also viewed

 
 

Been to La P'tite Souris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing