We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but don't expect to get much sleep”
Review of Hotel Le Marina

Hotel Le Marina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vannes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Marina
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location but don't expect to get much sleep”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel is in a great location, very central with nice view down the marina. But as it's at the edge of a mainly pedestrian shopping area you get woken very early by numerous delivery lorries. And the late night bars can be noisy so you don't get to sleep early either. But the room was good value, clean, and the breakfast down stairs in the separate Ocean bar/restaurant was good.
No parking but close to large underground public car park - fairly expensive at 12 euro per night, charged by the hour

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you prefer sleep to a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excalibur1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
berkshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We didnt stay at this hotel, but we did eat in the restaurant. Its not expensive and is in a great spot overlooking the marina. Good inexpensive wine and very nice mussles, friendly staff.
Vannes is a great town to visit, fantastic old buildings and winding traffic free streets. Really loved the town, and would go back to stay there some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevensharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and then returned for another night. This is a basic hotel. There is a bar under which you go through to get to the rooms. It's right in gambetta place by the port and our room overlooked the port. Magical. It was basic rooms with small toilet and shower, clean, tidy and very good value. Would stay again. A great atmosphere rather than a posh hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryharryharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

This place was tied for the worst hotel during my six-week tour of Europe. The location is excellent, right on the harbor. Parking is hard to find. The staff speaks virtually no English and had no map showing the location of the public parking lots. The room was tiny. Too few electric outlets. I could have two of the following three items in at any time, the TV, light, or iPad charger. The trucks start driving by at five, making a late sleep impossible. The bathroom is so small, that one cannot stand directly in front of the toilet. One has to make a 'bank shot.' The proprietress is an older French woman of the worst kind. She is rude and perpetuates the myth that all French people are unpleasant. To be fair, the rest of the staff was nice. The wifi worked sometimes. The signal was always weak. Michelin rates this hotel very well. The reviewer must have gotten paid off for that rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ichabod777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vannes hotels

Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2006

One of the stranger hotel experiences on our trip to Normandy and Brittany. We arrived at the port without reservations, just took a cab from the train and depended on a brief description in a guide book. Hotel has no entrance, just a busy restaurant on the port. You enter through the bar and a waitress takes care of you. We chose a room in the back which turned out to be very quiet, comfortable and extrememly reasonably priced. The location was perfect for all sightseeing. Near to the old town, the market and the port for trips to the islands in the Gulf of Morbihan. Breakfast was outdoors at the restaurant and very pleasant. We really enjoyed our days in Vannes. Its a lovely town.

Helpful?
8 Thank ItalianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vannes hotels
0.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean
0.4 mi away
Escale Oceania Vannes
Escale Oceania Vannes
#1 of 32 in Vannes
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
#24 of 32 in Vannes
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Mercure Vannes Le Port
#11 of 32 in Vannes
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel La Marebaudiere Vannes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marina

Property: Hotel Le Marina
Address: 4 Place Gambetta, 56000, Vannes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing