We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service needs work...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Escale Oceania Vannes
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Spent one night in this hotel, easily found on way to city centre since its ideally located a very short walk from the heart of the town. Unfortunately parking is limited in the area, the hotel turned out to have only ~10 parking spaces so on street parking (free from 7pm to 9am) is necessary unless you booked ahead for the paid hotel parking. We were initially assigned a cramped twin room despite booking a double and after some debate about the hotel being booked out, we were moved to a nice double room facing away from the main street. The room itself was clean, well laid out with a large wet room en-suite Location is really the selling point for this hotel, but the service and confusion at the front desk about rooms and parking detracted from the stay.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank aidan_moriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Escale Oceania Vannes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2010

the bathroom was not cleaned properly and they false advertised about free wi-fi--it was only free for the first 15 minutes--the breakfast was worth it--you get what you pay for--the location is good though--only 3 minutes walking distance from the historic part--there is no view from any of the windows

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast. I was overcharged on my room. The staff aside from giving good directions does not know what they are talking about. The walls are paper thin and I could hear the elevator all night. The bathroom had mold in it. The hallways are dark I imagine so you could not see the filthy, threadbare carpet, it also smelled funny. I was charged and "Internet" rate which was considerably higher then the rate advertised all over the hotel. When I asked for a price match I was told I was already charged. The Manager Sophie does not return emails nor does her boss. If you can find a better place to stay in Vanne do! This place is good for one night only if you are stuck or on a packaged bus holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveburyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Whilst the Hotel is called Oceania it is known locally as the Hotel Mascott as per the sign on the two main out-facing walls which are the most important to the motorist unfamiliar with the area. Only a vinyl banner at eye level tells you it's the Oceania Vannes and this can easlily be missed on a busy road.
Having parked with great difficulty you are met by excellent reception staff who are most helpful. Guest Parking is £9.00/US$15 a night but after objecting we reached an agreement to sort it out on departure but we never did. The room had all the charm and appeal of a prison cell but at the same time had everything needed and was adequate. It was clean, just about enough space for two adults and overlooking the dreariest view in the whole of France - the car park! The breakfast was the usual continental offering and was good, except for the bread, which appeared to have stayed there longer than we did. At £8/US$12 it was not good value for money which was as much as you could say for the hotel in general. Not a patch on the equivalent UK Lodge type hotel and far more costly. Its saving grace was the excellent staff, especially the hotel concierge.
As regards location the hotel is a short, if difficult, walking distance from the the old town but somewhat far from the harbour. A free shuttle bus is supposed to operate around the town but we couldn't find out from where and to. The tourist office is opposite the harbour and the staff there are also very helpful. Vannes is a lovely place and a good touring base but I think our stay of 4 days there was a day too much. If they had a few decent restaurants in Vannes centre it would help. We did not use the hotel retaurant.
We had tried to book 3 nights in a standard room and one night in a suite offering wine, flowers etc for our anniversary but central bookings did not want to know and we eventually booked through an independent hotel agency. We would use the hotel again but for one night only which seemd to be what other poeple did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellvillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

My family and I stayed at the Escale Oceania and found it to be a small, clean and passable hotel.

The hotel is situated in a good position to explore the delightful town. Our room was average, it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typically French and the staff were helpful and friendly.

We really had no problems with the hotel and would return to it in the future. We enjoyed Vannes with its quaint streets, good selection of shops and cafes and the nice communal parks. We did, however, find there to be few decent restaurants, most seemed to cater for tourists.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jack360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2007

i WAS A LITTLE SUSPICIOUS OF A 2 STAR. But I found the hotel very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff no frills and the location was not only close to the historic town 1 min walk, but just a 30-45 mins drive to many of the best historic places.I found the drinks at this hotel a litle pricey.The surrounding restaurants in the town are very good and most are about 40-50 Euros per couple including a bottle of wine.Make sure you take a sensible pair of walking shoes.Telephone calls from the hotel to London are not cheap so use the payphones in the street. Many shoe shops and boutiques but nothing you cannot buy in the UK at similar prices. Nearby is a large supermarket with inexpensive wines and food great to take on picnics. Enjoy Vannes the downside is coming back to the Uk...its like someone has turned the lights off............Have a Good One David Grant..London david.grant007@btinternet.com

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NorthbyNorthwest7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend. It has since been renamed the 'Escale Oceania' but still had the 'Mascotte' signage on the outside of the hotel. The hotel is located about 3 mins walk from the centre, and about 15 mins from the Port area & Rue Gambetta.

Our bedroom on the 3rd floor overlooked the main road, but was very quiet as the windows are strongly double glazed. The room was basic, but immaculately clean. The TV offered a number of channels including English language one's.

The buffet breakfast (included in the rate) was substantial and good quality, my only criticism is that brekkie finished quite early at 10am on the weekend. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant in the evenings as there are a plethora of good quality restaurants in the centre.

The hotel has limited free parking outside, and most of the spaces were taken up with coaches over the weekend. However they do offer a covered, secure parking option for 9 Euros per night, this parking is at the back of the hotel.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKTAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vannes hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Vannes Centre Ville
1.5 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
0.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Manche Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Vannes Centre Ville
2.4 mi away
Best Western Le Roof
Best Western Le Roof
#2 of 32 in Vannes
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Vannes Le Port
Mercure Vannes Le Port
#11 of 32 in Vannes
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escale Oceania Vannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escale Oceania Vannes

Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 56000, Vannes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Vannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Vannes
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Escale Oceania Vannes 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the most beautiful bays in the world: the Gulf of Morbihan and its astonishing islands! In the hearth of the historic centre, close to Palais des Arts and the Port, the hotel has 65 renovated rooms with all the modern conveniences. A warm welcome, a private car park, a room service and bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Escale Oceania Vannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing