We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not great”
Review of Saint Regis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saint Regis
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night in room 219. The room was decorated in typical French clashing colours and styles reminiscent of the 1970's. The toilet was in a separate closet with no sink for washing up. The toilet was situated in an area on one side of the bedroom and the sink and shower closet on the other side, so when you had to visit the toilet you could only wash your hands by going through the bedroom to the other closet - not at all hygienic! Unfortunately my husband became very unwell about one hour after we ate at The Sphinx restaurant (see review). Can you imagine what it was like for him to have to use the toilet repeatedly with no washing facilities close at hand? We did not stay for breakfast. There was no pool so rating below does not count.

Room Tip: Ask if your room includes a toilet and sink in the same closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flechiedod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed three nights again at this hotel in May 2012.The rooms are unchanged since my last review and are basic. Was hot and got an airconditioned room on the first floor. (Surprising how in Europe in many places in summer you get caught out with no airconditioning..it can be suffocating. There is always heating but airconditioning will have to check.).Buffet Breakfast included, basic and sufficient. I like the hotel because of the location. AND because of its restaurant. Super restaurant, very good service.Location is good, we dont have our own cars, and we can walk it through the town. Lovely town for walking.
Recommend this hotel for Restaurant and location.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size depending on the floor so you can check room out before occupation?. Rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Close to the north south autoroute I have used this hotel in the past as a an overnight stop.
Last time I spent three nights there with a client as our south Burgundy base.
While we were there we looked around the town itself.
To be honest Beaune is going have more appeal to most tourists, but it is in easy reach if you wish to go up and spend a few hours there. Chalon (no s), is less well known which will be a plus point to others, and placed between Dijon and Macon it makes a good base for wine buffs.
The St. Regis is a short walk from the old town which is well worth a visit, and the food both in and out of the hotel is very good. Seeing the sights and having lunch in the centre then dinner back at base is a day I shall gladly try again.
The prices were ok, the food, the staff, the rooms were all better than average. I had no complaints and will be returning.
Someone made a similar point that this place is six hours driving from Nice and six hours driving from Calais.
William.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingwood-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel is part of a big chain in France. The hotel however is converted from an old building...as usual the old buildings in France have a charm of their own. It is located on the Rue de la Republique, one of or the main street in Chalon sur Soane. as it is converted , the single rooms are small,the lift is small as it has utilised the space within the spiral staircase. The staff are very helpful. They speak English which helps outsiders, naturally! If you are looking for a modern trendy hotel, then this may or may not be for you but if you like the charm of different hotels,then definitely do visit. It is one of the most recommended hotels in Chalon sur Soane.The area is quiet. The street outside is very good (with a Dominos pizza opposite if you need that in the middle of France! ). Coming to the restaurant, we decided to sample the French cuisine (We are Indians so it is an adventure). We had a fish dish (do not remember the full name of the dishes) and a guinea fowl dish with a red wine (Rhone).Lovely absolutely. Definitely you have to try this restaurant. The service is also excellent. Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights - our first night on the way to Cannes and then on our return from our holiday as a stop over on the way to Calais.

A really lovely hotel in a perfect location close to the old town of Chalon sur Soane. The room was very clean and spacious, just what we needed after a long drive.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again when travelling to the South of France as it is exactly half way, so a brilliant place to stop for the night.

Maybe the only thing which could be improved is the breakfast - at 15 euro each it was quite expensive for what was on offer and if travelling with young children it is better to go out for breakfast at one of the many cafes available. Also, the restaurants in the old town are very good, so we didn't eat at the hotel itself.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

I always make it a point to stay at this hotel, you can't beat the location, the ease of parking a car, and the best staff around, very friendly and helpful and they speak good english.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nukefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2004

We slept badly due to sauna-like temperates of our room and fiddling with aircon control didn't seem to make much difference.

In the morning we discovered the culprit was a huge hot heating pipe in the cupboard next to bed.

When complained to reception, the response was a 'tough' and a Gallic shrug. They also explained that climate control facility isn't switched on to work during the winter and persisted in charging us for the much needed bottle of Evian from the minibar.

Good to see that the comfort of their guests is so important to them. I will never use this hotel again.

6  Thank blondeme2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chalon-sur-Saone hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Jean
Hotel Saint Jean
#6 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
#5 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Logis A La Villa Boucicaut
Logis A La Villa Boucicaut
#8 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Colombiere
Hotel De La Colombiere
#12 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Jacobines
Hotel Des Jacobines
#7 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Regis

Address: 22 boulevard de la Republique, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Saint Regis)
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range: £79 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Regis 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saint Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chalon-Sur-Saone
Chalon-Sur-Saone Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing