We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small quaint and basic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saint Jean

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Saint Jean
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small quaint and basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Ideal for overnight stay the owner is excellent and can't do enough for you the breakfast is great. No air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    62
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
58
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

1 night before boarding a Viking river cruise. 66 Euro for a triple room with ensuit (3 flightsof stairs) but good size room. 6 Euro for a good breakfast and an easy walk to the boat (500 mtrs). Some great little eatery's close by as isthe old part of town. At 66 Euro it aint the Hilton but I have stayed at B&B's twice the price and got a lot less. Friendly helpfull owners that are happy to speak english.

Room Tip: If your not big on stairs check which floor your room is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed the night after disembarking from our river cruise; we couldn't pick up our rental car until Monday morning. The number one asset in this hotel is Sylvie, a very charming, helpful lady who I gather is an institution at that hotel. One reviewer said "shabby chic" and I would agree, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the hotel. Our room was large, comfortable, and the bathroom was great, especially the lighting. Things to be aware of: there is no air conditioning and no elevator, but staff helped us with our bags. I had a hard time with the Wi-Fi and could only access it in the breakfast room, but it was free! We were there on a Sunday and we did not find a place to eat at the time we wanted to eat. We ended up with the standard ham and cheese on baguette, which was fine since we had just come off a river cruise where we were overfed.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room with a king bed if you can't or don't want to climb the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annpriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here en route to Uzes in the south of France. At 56 Euro (plus 6 Euro for a typical French breakfast) it was our BEST VALUE accommodation of our whole trip. It is however very SHABBY CHIC so don't expect too much but nevertheless it is a delightful little hotel located right on the River Saone and just an easy walk over the bridge to lots of Restaurants and Cafes or to the square around the corner with more outdoor cafes to choose from. Our room had two large windows over-looking the river; it was spacious, with a good sized bathroom with hand held shower over bath which is fairly typical for France. If you organise it ahead of time they have a few car parks in front of the Hotel. Great value Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking the Saone (altho traffic can be a bit noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed three nights in this hotel and had a wonderful experience. We used Chalon as a base for riding bikes around the vineyards and canal paths in the area. The hotel is not the newest but it is clean, breakfast is very good and the staff is wonderful. We had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryScripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lovely location, view of river. Ask for room 31 but not whilst I'm there! Plenty of room.
Sylvie est tres charmante
If you want character this is for you

Private parking is in a garage in the next street, a bit of a hassle, but better than searching for free parking locally

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chalon-sur-Saone hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#3 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
#4 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
Kyriad Chalon Sur Saone Centre
#6 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Des Jacobines
Hotel Des Jacobines
#7 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jean

Property: Hotel Saint Jean
Address: 24 Quai Gambetta, 71100 Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Chalon-sur-Saone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chalon-sur-Saone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an << hotel particulier >>, center city, peaceful environment, by the river. We have 25 rooms available, from 1 to 5 persons, all personalised and equipped with (bath or shower, WC, TV, phone) with vu to the river or to the yard. You will like the stone stairs and the breakfast room located under the glass roof in the yard. And the size of the rooms. In add to the garage, you will find easily free parking places. Next to the hotel, many restaurants in the center city will answer to our << gastronomical >> waiting. Free breakfast for all mail reservation or on hotelsaintjean fr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing