We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, centrally located logis”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Bourgogne
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here one night en route through Macon. The hotel is close to the main tourist area and the river. It is in an attractive 19th century building which has many original features preserved.The accomodation is modern and the rooms a reasonable size. The breakfast room is high tech modern and the breakfasts good. We booked in advance and were shown a small room with little space and with an inadequate shower. On complaining we were moved to a much better room. Check your room before accepting it. Otherwise staff were efficient and helpful. There is a locked area for cars (an extra 10 euros) which is worth having as public parking is at a premium. Book this in advance if you can as it has limited capacity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Spend 7 nights in the hotel .
stayed in the the luxe room thas located in the courtyard building
Room clean spacious.

The lights are automatically with sensors. ....and was a bit annoying some time ....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We spent two nights here after heavy rain forced us to drive on further than we had planned, coming up from the south of France. The hotel is three star, & does not pretend to be anything else - although it does appear to be undergoing a bit of refreshment. The staff were helpful & efficient, replacing a dodgy mattress immediately we complained about it. Parking is tight but secure, breakfast is OK but could perhaps be a couple of euros cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel de Bourgogne for one night, en-route to Chamonix. Traditional-style hotel filled with features of a previous era, yet tastefully brought into the present. Our room, at the rear of the hotel, had recently been refurbished and, whilst not large, was designed to maximise available space. All fittings were high quality and new, and the window blind arrangement was especially interesting. The staff were courteous and very efficient; the receptionist being very particular to establish our proposed time for departure the following day, so as best to arrange the cars in the (admittedly) tight car park in the courtyard. We experienced no problems with the parking. Breakfast at 11€ was good value with a large choice to suit most tastes, and was served in a delightful conservatory.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We used this as a stopover. We paid for a parking space, the space was obviously very limited as our space was too narrow for us to get out of the car and we were literally boxed in. This worked out ok as the people blocking us in left earlier than us but if they hadn't we would have had a problem. Ridiculous. The hotel looks nice enough but clearly needs some money spent on it. The corridor outside our room smelt strongly of urine. Our room was clean but shabby, bizarrely the ceiling had been replaced by a suspended ceiling made of white rubber, it literally rippled if you touched it! Definately a unique feature! The breakfast which was not cheap was very limited, with orange squash instead of juice (why??)

Won't be visiting again but the wobbly ceilings have given us something to chuckle about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MammaGump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Recently used this hotel as a stopover whilst travelling. Location is ideal for centre of town. Parking was charged at 10 euros and was a real squeeze in the hotel garage . Did not book breakfast as also overpriced. Rooms are basic but clean. Our room was overlooking the square which was nice as Christmas lights had been put up. Public areas were all clean and had been refurbished which gave a good overall impression but sadly the staff were miserable and unhelpful. Ok for overnight but not what you need if staying longer there are probably far better places for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel much nicer than overlooking garage at the back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocknrolla444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I liked this hotel. Sure some of the staff was a bit lifeless but, upon leaving and wanting to mail postcards, we happened upon two very nice ladies.
The most memorable part of our stay (one night) was the dinner. There was absolutely nowhere else to eat so, after scouting around, we came back to the hotel. In the interim a huge bus full of German tourists had descended and were packing half the alloted restaurant tables. This did not look good. How could two wait people look after us, other guests and the Germans? But they did. Admirably. The meal and service was excellent.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BulleWatervilleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
0.2 mi away
Brit Hotel Macon Centre Gare
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Macon Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 30 in Macon
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Du Nord
Hotel Du Nord
#7 of 30 in Macon
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Address: 6 Rue Victor Hugo | Place De La Barre, 71000, Macon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Price Range: £64 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bourgogne 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inter Hotel De Bourgogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing