We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Tasteful Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tasteful Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was far the best most comfortable Hotel we stayed in whilst traveling through France.
The Hotel has amazing history, so do check their website.
The owners have done an amazing job at the restoration, classic with modern, so the place still retains an individual style. The owners are very helpful and friendly and they even twisted a restaurants arm to hold a table for us as their kitchen was closing. This was over the bridge on the banks of the Saone and the meal was excellent! They also mentioned we should visit Forteresse de Berzé le Châtel, which is set in the countryside just outside of Macon before heading to Cluny. Beautiful, had a guided tour, Wife and I and bought some wine from them. Worth visiting if not just to support these amazing historic buildings. Cluny was very nice too and worth a visit.
We had a room at the front, no noise issues at all, even with windows open. Bathroom is very modern and was a good size. Room in general was of a good size, very comfortable, very clean and the bed was just sublime.
Great location for exploring Macon and parking for the hotel is not an issue.
It is a shame that not all Hotels are like this one.
Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FeebleWeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    201
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
77
229
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my husband while passing through Macon. This 3 star hotel has just had a re furbishment and has a charming 'belle époque ' style salon and breakfast room. This is a family run hotel and the staff were all really friendly and knowledge in recommending local restaurants. Breakfast was reasonably priced with a very good selection. The bed was super comfy. The hotel does have its own secure parking. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljh186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Macon close to the river and many restaurants. Breakfast served in the hotel but no restaurant - not necessary with so much choice within walking distance. Rooms are a good size and well appointed - this old building has been lovingly restored to modern standards in a very sympathetic way. Parking is on the street which is free overnight and wasn't too difficult to locate a place.

Room Tip: Choose a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAISYBOO17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Friendly service. The room was very clean and have air-conditioning. The room and especially the bathroom are not very large, but the nice breakfast and free Wifi made it perfect for a hotel in this price category.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent one night here recently whilst driving down from the UK to the south of France. This hotel is perfectly located on the river, there is parking on the street and it's only a few minutes stroll to the town centre, shops and restaurants.

We had two rooms which were both very nice with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was good and it was nice to see the addition of scrambled eggs and sausages to the usual French fare expected.

Highly recommended and we will use it again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel was in a good location for Macon centre. We had a comfortable room with air conditioning. We only stayed one night and it was good for our requirements. Breakfast was ok but the hot food was rather cold but the rest of the food was very good indeed and there was a good variety.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macon hotels
2.2 mi away
Le Moulin du Gastronome
Le Moulin du Gastronome
#1 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 30 in Macon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Macon Bord de Saone
0.6 mi away
ibis Styles Macon Centre
4.0 mi away
Novotel Macon Nord
Novotel Macon Nord
#7 of 30 in Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
Address: 92 quai Jean Jaures, 71000, Macon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an 18th century building, the BEST WESTERN Hotel d’Europe et d’Angleterre overlooks the Saone River and offers an incredible view of the Saint Laurent Bridge. This boutique hotel mixes classical decoration and modern comfort. The large rooms, with large king size beds and modern bathrooms are convenient to relaxation. At the buffet breakfast the choice of regional products offers the chance to discover the French cuisine. In the lobby bar, a Burgundy glass of white wine invites you to enjoy l'art de vivre a la francaise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing