We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brit Hotel Magdalena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brit Hotel Magdalena
Barnsley
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly spacious family room in a budget hotel, easy to find and ample parking

Extremely comfortable beds just what's needed after a long drive

Location good with supermarkets and restaurants nearby and a short drive into Nevers itself

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbinsandBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
22
14
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

If you have never had fine Greek dining, this is the opportunity to try. If you're looking for a gyro move on nor is it a pseudo "taverna...this is as fine a meal experience as eating in a 4 star Athens or Aegean restaurant. Milos is both elegant and Greek to its soul.
A must is to tour the counter to pick out your fish entre. My Athenian wife, found her favorite fish two small barbouni, (red mullet) to grill and she pronounced them as done perfectly. Our friend had the second and now wants nothing but mullet!
Prior to the entre we started with meze of perfectly grilled tender octopus, horiatiki (tomato/fresh summer vegetable salad and tzatziki (yogurt mix)
For dinner I opted for the grilled mushrooms (shiitake & trumpet) with and feta which was delicious and plentiful, even though technically a meze.
The wine was a wonderful bottle of Biblia Chora; crisp chilled Sauvignon Blanc, to accompany our feast. .
Our waitperson, on hearing my wife's"native" pronunciation of the dishes thoughtfully asked one of the captains who was a fellow Greek to stop by.
This is our third trip to Milos and is always one of our must dining experiences in Las Vegas. We have also dined in the Montreal location and the Athens location. All wonderful. Milos is in the Cosmopolitan which is walking distance and well worth the walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
664 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our family stayed one night at the Brit Hotel Magdalena during a 21 day / 14 city vacation through France, Spain and Portugal. I had left making hotel reservations until the very last moment, so there were very few choices for accommodations. While this hotel was the least expensive of the 14, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was large, clean, and most important quiet. I am a very light sleeper, but didn't hear a thing all night. Perhaps it was because our room was not facing the road. The furniture was not very old.

Parking is ample, and free. We did not use the dining facilities, but there are many choices within a close radius. If we come back for visit, this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We needed a base for a couple of nights as we were travelling in the area. This hotel is uninspiring and basic, located on the outskirts with lots of other hotels, but has ample free parking, and is easy to find from the autoroute (come off the N77 at junction 33 and it's 5 minutes down on the left). The owners were very pleasant. However they were in the process of renovating the rooms and the drilling and banging kicked off at 7.30am every morning which left us somewhat aggravated! No-one told us that this would be happening when we booked, which left a bit of a bad taste in the mouth. Also, the room was freezing cold despite the radiators being on constant. I mean REALLY cold! So I would say these were the negative points. If you book, try and get a room on the 3rd or 4th floor as these have already been renovated. We were on the 2nd and in the thick of it. However, the owners were very pleasant and although we can't comment on the food as we did not eat there, they were happy to make us a (much needed!) WARM cup of tea in the evenings etc, free of charge. I think we were just unlucky going when we did. Leave it six months - get the renovation out of the way (as well as the cold weather), and then I'm sure it will be fine. I must say, the bed needed replacing as it dipped in the middle, but the shower was great !

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varennes-Vauzelles hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

First time (2006) we found it by chance, 2007 we planned our route so as to use it. Now found your site while planning a trip elsewhere and wanting to find other hotels in this chain.
Commercial district on the outskirts of town, modern 'shoe-box' building with ample parking, unguarded but in an area that seemed safe as most places.
Staff friendly and helpful; public areas and our room well furnished and clean; restaurant with good selection (breakfast and evening meal) perfectly adequate, inded well above average for a budget hotel.
Perfect stop-over for most people (we're pensioners) but no attractions just outside to 'delay the hasty traveller'.

  • Liked — Excellent value for money and in the right place for our journey
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes-Vauzelles
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Nevers Varennes Vauzelles
Ibis Budget Nevers Varennes Vauz...
#3 of 10 in Varennes-Vauzelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Nevers Centre
Kyriad Nevers Centre
#3 of 24 in Nevers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Campanile Nevers Nord - Varennes Vauzelles
Campanile Nevers Nord - Varennes...
#7 of 10 in Varennes-Vauzelles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel
Europe Hotel
#4 of 10 in Varennes-Vauzelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astrea Nevers
Hotel Astrea Nevers
#8 of 10 in Varennes-Vauzelles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clos Sainte Marie
Clos Sainte Marie
#9 of 24 in Nevers
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brit Hotel Magdalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brit Hotel Magdalena

Property: Brit Hotel Magdalena
Address: 1 rue Paul Eluard, 58640 Varennes-Vauzelles, Nevers, France (Formerly Relais Akena Hotel Magdalena)
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Nievre > Nevers > Varennes-Vauzelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Varennes-Vauzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brit Hotel Magdalena 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brit Hotel Magdalena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brit Hotel Magdalena Varennes-Vauzelles, France, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing