We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREEZING room-”
Review of Hotel Le Boischaut

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chateauroux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Boischaut
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Chateauroux
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hosts: Didn't have much interaction with reception, they were pleasant and spoke some English.

Room: quite a small room even by French standards, but a good bathroom, and all was very clean. A annoyance was the curtains which were made too small for the window, which had the sun beaming in at the crack on dawn. This however was overshadowed by the lack of sufficient heating in the room. There is a small electric radiator beneath the window, which made little difference to the room temperature, and we were very uncomfortable for the whole night, waking up from the cold. Actually had to get up and put a jumper on over my Pj's to be able to sleep. It was February, but not a particularly cold night, so I would defiantly avoid this hotel over all the winter.

we liked the free parking and free wifi

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

We choose this hotel because of the recommendation on Tripadvisor. It was nothing special though. I will not recommend someone to go there.

The lady at the reception was very friendly and gave us tips for restaurants. Apart from us likely only 3 other rooms were booked. We never met other guests.

We were upgraded because we booked directly. But the room we were upgraded to was small and had a seventies look. We wondered what the normal rooms would be like.

When one of us wanted to take a shower, the water was brown :-(. The rooms very noisy, when sending a whatsapp to a person in the other room, you heard her phone pinging.

The location is out of the city center. You'd best take your car when you go out. There is free parking and paid parking in a garage. But this garage is very small so it could not fit our car.

Beds were very small, 200x140 cm. and with (how old fashioned) blankets and a sheet.

Breakfast was nice but (to my surprise) not included in the room price. It was cheap though, 7.60 euro. We had croissant, baguette, fruit, coffee/tea, orange juice.
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We travelled from Tours to Toulouse and decided to stay in Chateauroux for 1 night. Probably that was not the best idea, because Le Boischaut is too far away from railway station and you would have to walk a lot, if you're not willing to spend money on taxi.

Everything else was definetely worth the money - rooms are spacious and clean, and i think we had an AC, but i cannot remember now. Personnel was nice, and receptionist was patient enough so we found common language even though i hardly speak any French

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drungarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from Loire Valley to Provence. We decided not to make advance reservations because we did not know how far we would get while driving that day and wanted to just stop whenever we felt tired. We saw the sign for the hotel and stopped to check on rates/availability. For the same price or less, we might have stayed at a B&B instead of a city hotel. The room was quiet and pretty clean (but could have used a vacuuming), the bathroom was clean and fairly good sized except for the tiny shower (which is not unexpected in a 2 star hotel in France), and the breakfast was good. After initially seeming somewhat cool to us, the proprietress became very accommodating and friendly. She also made an effort to speak English with us, which was nice. Although the rate sheet indicated there was secured parking, we were told there was not, but that we could park in the open lot behind the hotel, which she said was safe.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank Jean-Maie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres sur l'arrière sont certainement plus calmes que celles sur la rue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chateauroux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#5 of 12 in Chateauroux
24 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Chateauroux
Kyriad Chateauroux
#8 of 12 in Chateauroux
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Colbert
Best Western Hotel Colbert
#1 of 12 in Chateauroux
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
Hotel Ibis Chateauroux
#4 of 12 in Chateauroux
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Continental Logis
Hotel Le Continental Logis
#2 of 12 in Chateauroux
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elysee Hotel
Elysee Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chateauroux
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Boischaut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Boischaut

Address: 135, Avenue de la Chatre, 36000, Chateauroux, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Chateauroux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Chateauroux
Price Range: £51 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Boischaut 2*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing