We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here with very high , it was supposed to be the highlight of our France vacations and we left with very disappointed.
The hotel itself is nice but not outstanding as you would expected at over $ 500 per night.
Our room, I believe a deluxe king, was just unacceptable, old furniture with missing paint, the carpet in urgent need of a replacement, worn also it was clean it seemed dirty.
The room a three star at is best. I did send a note to the GM after our stay and he offered a complimentary night, if I would like to come back, which I wont.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Directeur général at Domaine des Hauts de Loire, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Sir,

I am very surprise by your comment.
I already send you a direct answer and told you that I was at your disposal to find the best solution if you would like to come back.
You told me in your message about the noise your neighbours did and never about carpet or rate.
I was agree about the noise and that's the reason why I offered you a compensation.
Unfortunately I am completely disagree with your last comment.
The room you stayed in was a Standard room and certainly not a deluxe at 500 $, and you stayed two nights.
Concerning the carpet, we bought it two years ago, it is not old, but perhaps we have to think about the colour that let you think that it's not clean.
Dear mister please accepts again all my apologies for the disadvantage you suffered for.
I can understand them; you don't need to ad wrong information.
In you next comment, please just tell the truth, and if you change your mind I will really be very happy to treat you for your next stay.
I remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    73
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
98
303
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with very high expectations. I left with flea bites. I could just stop there but I shall give details: staff is lovely and gracious both in the hotel and restaurant. The hotel itself is pretty but not outstanding. Our room, I believe a deluxe king, was large and decorated in traditional French toile fashion. The room was shabby. Carpet was especially worn. Bed only OK. We ate in the restaurant-service impeccable and food very good as it should have been given the cost. When we woke up next morning we had flea bites. I attribute this to the French policy of allowing dogs in rooms. That's fine but really make sure there are no fleas. Overall a disappointment given the reputation and glowing reviews this hotel receives. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Directeur général at Domaine des Hauts de Loire, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to wright this revue.
I am very sorry that your stay was not what you expected.
I can guarantee that we are refurbishing some rooms every year.
I will appreciate if you can contact me to talk about that and let me know witch room you stayed.
Concerning the flea, our rooms are cleaned every day and I can assure you that it is certainly not a dog that brings a flea.
We have a special service for the dog, (Basket), they are not accepted in the rooms with carpets and there is a special attention for the cleaning of the rooms the dog stayed in.
We are in the middle of the wood and it is possible a mosquito or a spider bites you.
I am very sorry for that but in a country house it could happen.
Nevertheless, I am very sorry for the inconvenient you suffered from.
Please accept all my apologies.
I wish you will not stay on bad memories, and I invite you to contact me directly.
I will be happy to treat you for your next stay.
I remain at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

As soon as you turn off rue Gilbert Navard into the long tree lined entrance to this place you will immediately realize how stunning this place really is. The property is absolutely beautiful with the houses built on what feels like a nature preserve. There are a number of walking trails from 15 minutes up to 45 minutes that let you tour through the wodded areas of the grounds. You will come across beautiful ponds and even may pass a few black swans along your way. While it was too cold for us to swim, the swimming pool looked like great and definitely an amenity we would have enjoyed if it had been a few degrees warmer (my wife and I visited in early October).

The real majesty of this place is the hotel and the staff. You are welcomed into a homey, but elegant lobby where you will be greeted by an extremely friendly and helpful person at the front desk. It is here that we also first met William (a delightful employee at the hotel who always seemed to be there). I specifically mention him because he paid such careful attention to us and made us feel so welcome. Whether it be showing us to our room, welcoming us in the morning for breakfast, greeting us in the eveing for dinner or walking us to our car, William really embodied what this place is all about, impeccable service! It seemed like he was always there, and I just wanted to recognize we greatly appreciated his assitance and he left a lasting impression with us.

The room was very nicely appointed with exposed beams on the ceiling and plenty of space to spread out. The bed was extremely comfortable and the building itself was really quiet and relaxing.

The food was outstanding. We had the continental breakfast which consisted of freshly baked breads, crossiants, and other delectable baked goods. These were paired with a variety of fresh fruit jams. There was also a fruit basket with some delicious oranges and some other sweets. For dinner, we ate in the restaurant with far exceeded even it's 2 Michelin star rating. The food, service and ambience were absolutely perfect. We did not do the pre-fixe, but ordered a la carte. We both went with fish dishes, which were prepared spot on. There was an excellent wine list which featured a number of great local wines from the region.

The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the river and the main roads of the area. You travel through a lovely little town Onzain. Since you are rather close to the D952, it is a great place to stay while you travel through the area to Chateaus and neighbroing towns. It was about 30 minutes from Château de Chambord and Château de Chenonceau, and is about 10-15 from a really the delightful Château de Chaumont (with incredible gardens).

I highly recommend that anyone traveling through the area makes it a point to stay at Domaine des Hauts de Loire. The only regret I have is that we only stayed two nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, Directeur général at Domaine des Hauts de Loire, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to write a so nice review.
It is always enjoyable to read so nice comment about our team and the property.

We all look forward to welcome you again

Thanks again.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We celebrated our 16th anniversary at this immaculately kept, high-end property between Bloise and Amboise. The restaurant is justly celebrated and the staff is polite and friendly. For us, the best moments were low-key ones: watching sunlight break through massive thunderclouds over the fields or walking through the lovely gardens under a very bright full moon. $250 per night for the spacious Room 36, in the building out back from the main house. I'd suggest two or three nights, using the place as a home base for exploring the chateaus, wineries and nearby towns in the valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was so stunning. The service, grounds, and overall experience are beyond impeccable. The Michelin rated restaurant is a must try as well. This is such a beautiful place to come relax. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jenesaisquoiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The domain is beautiful ! Not far from the chateaux de la Loire and in itself a castle !
Everything is perfect ! The staff is the friendliest we have had the chance to meet in all the chateaux we did all,over the world , and that is quite a praise since staff in those were also
very nice. They make you feel at home and so welcome morning to night .
The food is awesome tough it could vary more . But then again if you ask they will make the
effort to cook something else for you.
We loved it even the pool is warm and welcoming :-))

Room Tip: Make sure you take a walk or a bicycle ride through the vines and all around their garden. We had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redbourn
Level Contributor
166 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This is the sixth time we have stayed , normally requesting room 19 which is in the old stable block . The room , although one of the cheapest, has a super king sized bed and two arm chairs plus an external patio area. The staff are very friendly and will assist you if you try to speak French , although their English is excellent.
The restaurant is superb ,definitely worthy of it's Michelin star. Surprising the wine list is quite short and mainly features excellent quality and reasonable priced Loire wines

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redbournite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
8.3 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Le Manoir les Minimes
24.9 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#2 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
9.6 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine des Hauts de Loire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine des Hauts de Loire

Property: Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Address: Domaine des Hauts de Loire 79 rue Gilbert Navard Onzain, 41150 Onzain, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine des Hauts de Loire 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the wine road and at the heart of Loire castles in the midst of greenery, the Domaine des Hauts de Loire welcomes nature lovers that dream of retiring in a haven where a cosy and warm atmosphere dominates. A four star establishment, this Relais & Chateaux has become a true institution of French tourism. The Domaine des Hauts de Loire’s restaurant welcomes you around a prestigious table. The Chef Remy Giraud, 2 Michelin Stars, offers a new menu several times a year in line with the seasons and in accordance with the region. “L’Art Des Mets” cooking school In his school, Chef Remy Giraud dreams of initiating students to the fulfillment of a recipe or a preparation technique, so many opportunities to discover the characteristics of a product, its gustative qualities and the pairings that can be made with it. On Wednesdays and Fridays, the Chef passes on his know-how through private classes (1 to 2 people) or in groups (3 to 8 people). Each student discovers a recipe, prepares it under the Chef’s supervision to finally taste his own hard work. Sunday is kept for sweet pleasures with the hearty classes of Pastry Chef Cedric Noel. Once a month, the kitchen is left to the young future pastry chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Domaine des Hauts de Loire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Hauts De Loire Hotel Onzain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing