We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for sightseeing of the castles of the Loire Valley with a car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chateau des Tertres
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good choice for sightseeing of the castles of the Loire Valley with a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel is well positioned in a large plot of land with a beautiful countryside view. The building is charming. A small chateuax. The place is very quiet. A little away from the cities but is a central point of the region and allow to rest after the long car rides through the beautiful region of the Loire. The price is quite affordable for the level of the hotel. Therefore, considering the affordable price, do not expect much from this hotel. There is no restaurant, the rooms are not large, there is no TV and WIFI is not available in all rooms. The service is the basic. In short: a nice place to rest after seeing the many beautiful chateux Loire Valley by car at a reasonable price. There are bicycles to get around the region.

Bom escolha para visitar a região dos castelos do vale do Loire com um carro

O hotel está bem posicionado, em um amplo terreno com uma vista campestre maravilhosa. A construção é charmosa. Um pequeno chateuax. O local é bastante tranquilo. Um pouco afastado das cidades mas está num ponto central da região e permite descansar após os longos passeios de carro pela bela regiáo do Loire. O preço é bastante acessível para o nível do hotel. Por isso, considerando o preço acessível, não espere muito deste hotel. Não há restaurante, os quartos não são grandes, não há TV e o WIFI não é acessível em todos os quartos. The service is the basic. Em resumo: um local agradável para descansar após conhecer os muitos e belos chateux do vale do loire de carro a um preço razoável. Há bicicletas para andar pela região.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    40
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

we had booked a standard room, got an exectutive upon arrival. Huge room with a big bathroom incl bathtub. Nicely decorated in an old fashioned way. The area is very quite but this being an old building you can hear when your neighbors come home... It did in no way ruin our stay so (nobody comes home at 3am in this place!)
The view to the front garden is wonderful It was too cold to sit outside when I was there.
Breakfast is in a cute little breakfast room whith a little buffet incl juices, cereals, dried fruits and compot, plus bread and croissants of course. Don't leave it out.
Very friendly receptionist.
No dinner in the chateau, you need to go out. But they have a few menus on display from local restaurants to chose from (most are a bit pricey)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TsavoDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent a relaxed and comfortable 6 nights here in September 2011 and found it a very lovely place. We had a room on the 1st floor of the Chateau, looking out over the grounds and vista beyond (just stunning) The room was large and very comfortable and the place was very quiet. It is just out of the small village of Onzain and an easy drive to many of the wonderful Chateau in the region. We found it a wonderful central place to base ourselves as we toured the surrounding area. The Chateau does not provide dinner, but the breakfast available was generous and very tasty. They have menus from a range of good restaurants in the area and would book a table for you if you wanted (very useful for our limited French). There was a number of tables and chairs and sun loungers on the terrace and the grass in front of the Chateau and they were very happy for you to collect your own food and wine from the local shops and sit and eat it there (plates, cutlery, glasses etc available) . Be warned there are no televisions, so bring a good book and enjoy the wonderful peace and calm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen108, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We thank you for your nice comments and wish to welcome you again in the future.
Yours Sincerely, Christine & Bernard Valois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Fiancee and I stayed here for 3 nights in Aug of 2011. We chose Onzain because we wanted peace and quiet at a small town in the Loire that is convenient to all the chateaux. Hotel Tertes did just that.

From the moment we drove up the drive way into the hotel parking area, it was breathtaking. The check-in process was simple, and the staffs were amazing. They helped us with directions, phone call to Avis Blois to ask early drop off questions, and anything we needed to enjoy and simplify our stay at the Loire.

We had a room in the chateau over looking the front. The room smells fantastic with their lavender scent air freshener. I had a smaller double room, but it was elegant, clean, and plenty of space for two people along with a side table.

The bathroom supplies were the best out of all the hotels we stayed in France. Although we only have a tub with no shower, not even a half door, we learned to just take a bath every day and relaxed.

Onzain was quite central to everything around, for 2 full days there with a rental car, we visited in order: Valencay, Chaumont, Chenonceau, Chambord, Cheverny, Blois, Villandry, Langeais, Usse, Tours, Amboise with plenty of time to spare. We could of easily visited more but we decided to slow it down.

We did not have their breakfast, but we did enjoy some quiet time at the public patio with a nice view on our laptops using their flawless wifi. Overall this hotel was beautiful and relaxing, we will definitely be back if we ever head back to the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: a room in the chateau over look the front was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen108, Gérant at Hotel Chateau des Tertres, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We thank you for your nice comments concerning the Château des Tertres and wish to welcome you again in the future.
Yours Sincerely, Christine & Bernard Valois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Our family stayed there after visiting nearby Chambord and Chaumont-sur-Loire. Because we were a family, we were lodge in an annex with 3 large rooms, our own little private inn!.
The innkeeper recommended a lovely bistro, "Madeleine de Proust", and made reservations for us. The buffet breakfast was superb with a great selection of cereals, eggs, pastries and fresh hot cafe au laits!

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the main building, make sure you specify it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way from Paris to Bordeaux. Beautiful building, very stately with a sweeping terrace overlooking the hill. Easy parking on site. 10 minutes from more populated areas like Blois where you can have a nice meal by the water. Room was older but nicely presented. Very clean. Bathroom small, and shower head was not attached to wall which was a minor hassle. Window opened out to a beautiful view of the valley. There was even a lift which was a nice touch in an old chateau. No dinner service but options not too far away. On leaving, we hadn't opted for breakfast but asked if they would mind us having a coffee. The wonderful host brought us a big pot of coffee with milk, a bowl of fresh croissants and set it out for us on the verandah! A lovely gesture and really topped the stay off for us. Highly recommend this place for a visit - for the price it was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

What a lovely place to stay! I would thoroughly recommend for anyone who's looking to spend some time in the country and to relax. You will need a car or a bike to get here and to get to the restaurants as they are all approx 3km or further away.

The lady who checked us in was wonderful and so helpful and accommodating. In fact all of the staff were great. Breakfast is lovely and worth the EUR10 and is served in a beautiful room overlooking the gardens. Its also worth sunbathing on the grass by the terrace or just simply having a glass or two of wine on the terrace itself. Very peaceful and great value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
1.1 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
8.2 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
5.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 1 in Chaumont-sur-Loire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Fleuray
Le Fleuray
#1 of 1 in Cangey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau des Tertres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau des Tertres

Property: Hotel Chateau des Tertres
Address: 11 B rue de Meuves, 41150 Onzain, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau des Tertres 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire Valley castles country. Located only 5 Km from the International Garden Festival of Chaumont-sur-Loire and nearby the royal châteaux of Blois, Amboise, Chambord. Château des Tertres is an exceptional spot for tourism and leisure. Perfectly located to discover the Loire Valley by bike. We propose numerous circle tours starting our hotel. Our classic mid 19th-century nobleman's house surrounded by a wooded park welcomes you in a peaceful and quiet environment. We propose 14 beautifully appointed rooms in the chateau plus 4 extra confortable family rooms in a pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chateau des Tertres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Tertres Onzain
Chateau Des Tertres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing