We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No fun if your kids are over 10 years old” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No fun if your kids are over 10 years old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the Domaine de Dugny for 3 nights in early August 2013. Our two family party was made up of 3 adults and 6 children (15, 15, 15, 13, 13 and 12). The caravans were good quality, the site was clean and well equipped.

The pool area always plays a large part in the fun of our family holiday but this year it was not the case at Domaine de Dugny. The pool supervisors are obviously given instructions to whistle as soon as they see anyone having any sort of fun. The constant whistling made it sound as if you were at a 90s rave. I have no idea what the camp owners expected children to do in the pool, perhaps stand in the water to cool down occasionally. They obviously don't have any children of their own.

The camp shop was small and the most expensive I have even seen. They sold own brand crisps available in the local supermarket for double the price. Restaurant was average and expensive.

Tennis, football and basket ball facilities were brilliant. Free Wifi didn't work for me or for anyone else that I spoke to and it was exactly free (premium rate text message required)

Entertainment was good in parts but the entertainers seemed to like the sound of their own voice a bit too much.

The place is suitable for families with smaller children but teenagers will hate it.

Room Tip: The standard of caravans varies a lot so I am uncertain how you manage this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hello Anthony,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review regarding your recent stay here at Domaine de Dugny.

It's great to see that you were very happy with the accommodation and the park in general.

I am sorry to read that you found the rules regarding the pool rather strict but with a constantly busy area like this we have to be sure of the safety of all guests at all times and as a parent myself would certainly want this for my family .

The small shop on site is a convenience store and as such some of the prices are higher compared to shopping in the nearest supermarket 5 kms away.

Football, basketball , boules and pig-pong are available to all age groups with archery, cycling , fishing, mini-golf, target golf and go- karts all available to teenagers for a modest extra charge. Free organised club facilities are available geared especially to teenagers as commented on the previous review, perhaps with a short stay you did not get time to benefit from these.

Hopefully after this taster visit we will get the chance to welcome you back for a longer stay next time

Thank you again

Best regards
Jenny Thompson
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    157
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
343
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is our third visit to this site and it improves year on year. The accommodation we stayed in was spotlessly clean, as usual, and of a very high standard. The campsite has lots of facilities:pool, sports and organised clubs for all ages. The staff are enthusiastic and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Off camp we avoided the large chateaux this time (Chaumont down the road is the best anyway imo and has the most beautiful gardens) and spent a lovely afternoon at the smaller Beauregard, which was away from the crowds and had shady areas to get away from the afternoon heat. The campsite is situated near to the River Loire and it is a picturesque drive by the river to Amboise, Blois or Tours. Lots of cycling or canoeing which the Siblu reception will ring and book in advance for you. The nearby Casino supermarket or Lidl mean you don't have far to go for provisions. A brilliant holiday destination. Thanks Siblu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello

Thank you for your 5* review here at Domaine de Dugny.

We always value feedback especially from our valued returning guests!

Great to read that you appreciate the continuing improvements we make year on year .

Your comments will be passed onto all our teams, hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back soon

Regards

Jenny Thompson
AGM
Domaine de Dugny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The site is first class, it is our 3rd visit and would come again next yest but for the sake of our older kids we have booked another Siblu site to give them a change, we will come again though. The area is lovely countryside with nice chateaus, an excellent zoo and must see Trogolite caves. I would like to thank
Jenny for the pitch it was lovely and to Rachel from reception who helped us out on the last night in the restaurant as our French is not that good and were unable to comunicate with the restaurant staff after a diabolicle meal. I would give the site 5 stars, but as we are back at the van feeling flat after a horrible night trying have meal together 5 is impossible. The kids were looking forward to doing the Chocolatee for the last time but everyone was disappointed so we went back to the van.. We only ever eat out on our last night as we like doing the barbies.
Apparently the restaurant is privately owned but it does have the Siblu sign up. Firstly we ordered 4 drinks 3 came, a long pause then after reminding the waiter who forgot we received the 4th. Secondly, the childrens meals came, then after a very long pause the 3rd came. The fourth meal a Pizza turned up disguised as a salad which we rejected. Eventually after reminding the staff a very burnt Pizza Royal arrived, which we rejected. By this time all the other meals had been finished so a family meal together was out of the question. The second pizza arrived hardy cooked, we complained and an agressive rude chef came out and told us it was hot. The cheese hadn't even melted. He took it away in a strop. It eventually came back a bit warmer, it was not eanten wholly because it was disgusting. The only English speaking waiter came to us after we refusef to pay all the bill saying basically it is hard luck because the regular chef was ill, and you did get 2 pizza so tough.We are not ones to complain and generally put up and shut up, but the staff were rude and unsympathetic and just did not get the point. Theyseemed to be round the French customers like a rat up a drain pipe but English are second class. After much haggling we did get the pizza price kmocked off hut it wasn't easy.
If coming to the site use the barb b ques and eat in.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rookie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Emma

Great to see you back again this year! Thank you for your comments, which have already been passed to the onside restaurant manangement.

Please accept my apologies for this problem on your last evening, thank you for booking with Siblu for 2014, look forward to seeing you again at Domaine de Dugny sometime in the future

Best regards

Jenny and the teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberporth, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned home from a fantastic holiday in Dugny. The staff couldn't do to help. The caravan we stayed in was beautiful, the pool and slides fantastic and the entertainment team did an excellent job. We have booked to return again next year the only one criticism if pushed was the 'sex on beach' cocktail was overpriced and to me and another customer, tasted as though it had no vodka in it!!! There are plenty of nearby sightseeing treats for all the family to enjoy. So keep up good work siblu!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichMorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your comments , look forward to meeting you all again next year
Best regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our Elegance caravan was brand new and provided great accommodation. Our daughter enjoyed the Kids Club (thanks, Charlotte) and we all enjoyed the heated indoor pools. All in all a great holiday and handy for the chateaux and historic towns of the area. (Shopping in the nearby Lidl was also about half the price of the UK.)

Room Tip: Mid range Elegance caravans were very good. Locations near the lake are very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a 2 week holiday in France with 2 young kids.

We arrived late one evening after a long drive up from the Dordogne and there was a problem with our booking, completely my fault as I'd got the dates wrong. Despite the reception being closed, we were allocated accommodation very quickly and the staff reacted in an extremely helpful manner.

The site is a nice size, the accommodation is just right for a holiday home on a site like this and the facilities/activities perfect if your kids need plenty to keep them occupied. The kids disco was great, and even though the site was relatively quiet due to the time of year, the kids loved it because the staff really made an effort.

Like most businesses, the staff's approach to service really makes or breaks your experience and I have to say Jenny and the reception staff were fantastic. They were warm, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The nearby towns of Blois and Amboise (which had a great craft market on and is very pretty) are well worth a visit.

I'd have no hesitation in returning as it's a safe place to have a really enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevlar072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have recently returned from a great family holiday in the Loire. My 2 children aged 11 & 9 loved the site & it had such a nice family friendly quiet atmosphere that they could roam free & we felt safe to let them. The overall site is very clean & the pool area was great & the life guards very attentive. We used both the indoor & outdoor pools but alas only one of the outdoor slides was working. The only main niggle was that true to French life the pool was closed every day between 12-2pm which was annoying but I have to say a huge thanks to the pool staff because on our last day they decided to stay open as it was so hot & the kids were having such a great time! The site is excellently located to visit many of the fabulous Chateau's in the area & it's only a 2 hour drive to Disney which we also incorporated into our stay.
We didn't eat at the restaurant & only took advantage of the take away once as found it quite expensive-so much cheaper to get some pizza's at the local supermarket which was only a 10 min drive away & the local wine CAVE was a real find! The bar had a good atmosphere but at £5 a pint we stayed more round the caravan as had gone with another family anyway. We will definitely be returning to the Loire again & would visit this site again as felt it was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbados14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
2.4 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
4.5 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
12.5 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny

Property: Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny
Address: Route de Chambon, 41150 Onzain, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Dugny is very spacious, with lots to discover. There's a small boating lake, great pool complex,bar & restaurant all in the heart of the Loire Valley, one of France's finest regions for visiting Chateaux ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Dugny Hotel Onzain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing