We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for families but on-site shop and restaurant poor quality and expensive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families but on-site shop and restaurant poor quality and expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in an elegance home from 10-17 Aug. 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 & 4.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable. Good shower and comfy beds. Outside covered terrace was great for eating and taking cover from the sun.

The pool area is really good for whole family. Fairly busy but not overly so. Different pools cater well for different age groups.

The on-site restaurant, bar and shop are very poor. Service is difficult to muster, food quality in restaurant is poor and range in shop is very limited. Furthermore the prices are shockingly high. After the first night we shopped at the 'Casino' supermarket in Onzain and ate/drank in every night after that. We would have happily ate in the restaurant every night and got drinks from the bar if quality and service were better and prices were more reasonable. This really needs sorting out.

Aside from bar, shop and restaurant however we all had a great time. Staff very friendly and helpful. We would go back but only if we read better reviews beforehand regarding restaurant and bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayneeaslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your holiday
experience here at Domaine de Dugny.
Terraces on our mobile homes do indeed help to give
you a fantastic opportunity to enjoy outside living , taking maximum advantage of the
good weather and longer evenings here in France.
Your comments regarding the restuarant and convenience store have been passed on to
the company working alongside the park and will be looked into closely for next year. In the meantime please accept my apologies, hopefully it will not deter you from visiting us again at some point in the future
Kind regards
Jenny Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    157
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
343
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We checked in on the 27th of August 2013 for one week. Check in was swift and extremely easy as there were plenty of English speaking staff. We were given plenty of useful information regarding our stay and made to feel very welcome. We stayed in a 2 bedroom Excellance mobile home which had everything you needed from plenty of storage space in the bedrooms, huge veranda, plenty of pots, pans and cooking utensils and a powerful shower. There was a space and shelf for a TV and an aerial unwired outside but we didn't mention anything as we were hoping for there to be plenty of things to do without needing a TV!! Thank goodness there was plus the weather was scorching!! The Pool was very well catered for and as my children are 6 and 3 we based ourselves by the Mushroom paddling pool so we could sit and watch the children splashing safely. The kids entertainment staff pop down most days and get everyone in the pool involved in activities such as dancing or slide racing etc. The kids loved this. My only concern was one day my son had been jumping into the pool near the water rapid, he had been doing this every day without a problem and we were always watching him. However on this occasion he came into some difficulty reaching the side as it's too high for little ones to reach and he couldn't swim against the current. I managed to get to him in time but the lifeguard on duty was at the shop!!! If he had been on his station he would have been able to get to my son much quicker and caused less panic. I did notice most of the lifeguards apart from the manager and the British guy with blonde hair were more interested in topping up their tan - One Lifeguard perched herself up on her post spraying oil every 5 minutes whilst another was more concerned in pulling out her split ends. It really is a worry!! Apart from this the entertainment team of an evening were great, the kids loved it and the adults entertainment was also enjoyable. We took a bottle of wine up with us on a couple of evenings as the wine from the bar was not to our liking and expensive. The restaurant is also expensive but so is most of France so I suppose it runs alongside the national average. We brought most of our groceries from Aldi which is a five minute car ride into Onzain. We also checked out the local markets and brought fresh veg, fruit, meat, cheese and bread at much better prices - plus you know it's local and where it's come from. I'd highly recommend the Patisserie/Boulangerie in Onzain - the cakes and bread are to die for!! I'd recommend Domaine Du Dugny it's a nice countryside location, close to attractions and amenities and the welcome and entertainment staff are great!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend and Excellence Van - we had number 4 which wasn't overlooked by another van and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire19852013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello

Thank you for your great comments regarding check -in, accommodation and the entertainments team. The majority of our teams are bi-lingual so helpful for families who may be visiting for the first time.

With regards to the lifeguards, please accept my apologies, the points you raised have already been passed onto the manager and will be discussed during their next pool training session.

It's great to hear you enjoyed the local produce and attractions in one of the many beautiful regions we have here in France

Best regards

Jenny
AGM Domaine de Dugny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed as a family of 5 in an Elegance 2 bedroom 3-10 August. 2 adults, kids 4,7,11.

We have used Siblu before and thought we would book for a week as a second break this year as works out better value than loads of day trips.

Check in was easy 2 mins and keys handed over exactly what you want after a long drive.

The caravan was spotless and was very new, very well equipped and well laid out, we were impressed. We had a large deck with 2 sunloungers and a covered area where the table and chairs were. The plot size was not huge but ok for us and it was private which was a bonus.

The pool was a good size and never too crowded, our kids loved the slides and 'lazy river' and regularly popped inside to the heated pool. Husband used the toilet facilities by the pool with the kids and he commented they were clean. The lifeguards were on the whistle but only when people were not observing the signs ie climbing over where it clearly says don't. If you don't want to be whistled read the signs! Our kids were jumping in, playing with the ball, had some small inflatables - no problems with the lifeguards. I'm glad they are there to be honest as an extra set of eyes on my kids when using the slides.

My only criticism of them would be inside the covered pool area there seemed to be a lot of unsupervised children in the small pool pushing and shoving and they seemed to turn a blind eye to this. My 4 yr old non-swimmer was getting shoved around by a couple of French kids who were clearly 7/8 and really should not have been in there.

The park areas are good these also look new and were enjoyed by my 2 youngest.

Entertainment...well what can I say, this was a disappointment. Not enough for the younger members of the group and it's on too late. The kids club info did nothing to entice them to attend so we didn't use this facility which was a shame because they have been on our last 2 holidays and have loved them.

THE BAR!! What a rip off!! 2 bottles of Heineken and 3 cans of pop 15 euro!! SIBLU come on sort this out! Sting us once and we will not return, surely this is a false economy, you would do much better to price the bar reasonably and people will return night after night so in the end you will get more business a better atmosphere and a more enjoyable holiday. We spent a lot more in the local supermarket on wine & beer which could have gone into your till. Doesn't make sense to me.

We also got told off for sitting on the 'terrace' not at the 'bar' the following night and drinking our own beer which we had bought in your shop, so that put an end to that. Cards and our own beer back at the mobile. It seems to be ok to sit at a table and watch the entertainment all night without a trip to the bar but if you bring your own drink that's not ok?

The shop on site is the smallest I have ever known. It hasn't got a good selection and again is vastly overpriced. Box of beer off the shelf one price, same box of beer from the fridge another 2 euro, is that a joke? The beer is already more expensive but to charge extra on top for it chilling, back to the van and in the freezer for 10 mins.

The site is quiet we didn't have a problem with any noise, (only when we were told to be quiet one night playing cards at 2am, good to know security are walking around though)!

On walking around it seemed the mobiles near to the lake had a lot bigger plot size not sure if most of these are privately owned.

The surrounding area is lovely Blois is a lovely town and the horse & cart ride around the town was enjoyed by all. There is an abundance of cafes, bars and restaurants and plenty of shops. The old part is beautiful.

All in all a lovely holiday, kids said they preferred this to Lanzarote which we had visited 4 weeks prior! We will be back, possibly next year.

We wont be using the bar or the shop though unless you get these issues sorted SIBLU!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylittlechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback .It is great to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities we have on offer here at Domaine de Dugny.
Entertainment is personal choice, we do try to provide variety to suit all ages and tastes , but we will relook at some of our times for the future, to suit younger groups after your comments.

It is a shame your that you felt the bar, restuarant and shop let you down. They are run by an outside concern, but we do pass your comments on to them on a weekly basis for discussion.

Look forward to welcoming you back on the park next year , thank you once again

Regards

Jenny Thompson
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the Domaine de Dugny for 3 nights in early August 2013. Our two family party was made up of 3 adults and 6 children (15, 15, 15, 13, 13 and 12). The caravans were good quality, the site was clean and well equipped.

The pool area always plays a large part in the fun of our family holiday but this year it was not the case at Domaine de Dugny. The pool supervisors are obviously given instructions to whistle as soon as they see anyone having any sort of fun. The constant whistling made it sound as if you were at a 90s rave. I have no idea what the camp owners expected children to do in the pool, perhaps stand in the water to cool down occasionally. They obviously don't have any children of their own.

The camp shop was small and the most expensive I have even seen. They sold own brand crisps available in the local supermarket for double the price. Restaurant was average and expensive.

Tennis, football and basket ball facilities were brilliant. Free Wifi didn't work for me or for anyone else that I spoke to and it was exactly free (premium rate text message required)

Entertainment was good in parts but the entertainers seemed to like the sound of their own voice a bit too much.

The place is suitable for families with smaller children but teenagers will hate it.

Room Tip: The standard of caravans varies a lot so I am uncertain how you manage this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hello Anthony,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review regarding your recent stay here at Domaine de Dugny.

It's great to see that you were very happy with the accommodation and the park in general.

I am sorry to read that you found the rules regarding the pool rather strict but with a constantly busy area like this we have to be sure of the safety of all guests at all times and as a parent myself would certainly want this for my family .

The small shop on site is a convenience store and as such some of the prices are higher compared to shopping in the nearest supermarket 5 kms away.

Football, basketball , boules and pig-pong are available to all age groups with archery, cycling , fishing, mini-golf, target golf and go- karts all available to teenagers for a modest extra charge. Free organised club facilities are available geared especially to teenagers as commented on the previous review, perhaps with a short stay you did not get time to benefit from these.

Hopefully after this taster visit we will get the chance to welcome you back for a longer stay next time

Thank you again

Best regards
Jenny Thompson
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is our third visit to this site and it improves year on year. The accommodation we stayed in was spotlessly clean, as usual, and of a very high standard. The campsite has lots of facilities:pool, sports and organised clubs for all ages. The staff are enthusiastic and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Off camp we avoided the large chateaux this time (Chaumont down the road is the best anyway imo and has the most beautiful gardens) and spent a lovely afternoon at the smaller Beauregard, which was away from the crowds and had shady areas to get away from the afternoon heat. The campsite is situated near to the River Loire and it is a picturesque drive by the river to Amboise, Blois or Tours. Lots of cycling or canoeing which the Siblu reception will ring and book in advance for you. The nearby Casino supermarket or Lidl mean you don't have far to go for provisions. A brilliant holiday destination. Thanks Siblu.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello

Thank you for your 5* review here at Domaine de Dugny.

We always value feedback especially from our valued returning guests!

Great to read that you appreciate the continuing improvements we make year on year .

Your comments will be passed onto all our teams, hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back soon

Regards

Jenny Thompson
AGM
Domaine de Dugny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The site is first class, it is our 3rd visit and would come again next yest but for the sake of our older kids we have booked another Siblu site to give them a change, we will come again though. The area is lovely countryside with nice chateaus, an excellent zoo and must see Trogolite caves. I would like to thank
Jenny for the pitch it was lovely and to Rachel from reception who helped us out on the last night in the restaurant as our French is not that good and were unable to comunicate with the restaurant staff after a diabolicle meal. I would give the site 5 stars, but as we are back at the van feeling flat after a horrible night trying have meal together 5 is impossible. The kids were looking forward to doing the Chocolatee for the last time but everyone was disappointed so we went back to the van.. We only ever eat out on our last night as we like doing the barbies.
Apparently the restaurant is privately owned but it does have the Siblu sign up. Firstly we ordered 4 drinks 3 came, a long pause then after reminding the waiter who forgot we received the 4th. Secondly, the childrens meals came, then after a very long pause the 3rd came. The fourth meal a Pizza turned up disguised as a salad which we rejected. Eventually after reminding the staff a very burnt Pizza Royal arrived, which we rejected. By this time all the other meals had been finished so a family meal together was out of the question. The second pizza arrived hardy cooked, we complained and an agressive rude chef came out and told us it was hot. The cheese hadn't even melted. He took it away in a strop. It eventually came back a bit warmer, it was not eanten wholly because it was disgusting. The only English speaking waiter came to us after we refusef to pay all the bill saying basically it is hard luck because the regular chef was ill, and you did get 2 pizza so tough.We are not ones to complain and generally put up and shut up, but the staff were rude and unsympathetic and just did not get the point. Theyseemed to be round the French customers like a rat up a drain pipe but English are second class. After much haggling we did get the pizza price kmocked off hut it wasn't easy.
If coming to the site use the barb b ques and eat in.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rookie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hello Emma

Great to see you back again this year! Thank you for your comments, which have already been passed to the onside restaurant manangement.

Please accept my apologies for this problem on your last evening, thank you for booking with Siblu for 2014, look forward to seeing you again at Domaine de Dugny sometime in the future

Best regards

Jenny and the teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberporth, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned home from a fantastic holiday in Dugny. The staff couldn't do to help. The caravan we stayed in was beautiful, the pool and slides fantastic and the entertainment team did an excellent job. We have booked to return again next year the only one criticism if pushed was the 'sex on beach' cocktail was overpriced and to me and another customer, tasted as though it had no vodka in it!!! There are plenty of nearby sightseeing treats for all the family to enjoy. So keep up good work siblu!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichMorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyct, Manager at Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your comments , look forward to meeting you all again next year
Best regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onzain
2.4 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
4.5 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
14.5 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
12.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny

Property: Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny
Address: Route de Chambon, 41150 Onzain, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Onzain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Onzain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Dugny is very spacious, with lots to discover. There's a small boating lake, great pool complex,bar & restaurant all in the heart of the Loire Valley, one of France's finest regions for visiting Chateaux ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Siblu Villages - Domaine de Dugny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine De Dugny Hotel Onzain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing