We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Right in a central square with public parking the hotel is in a great position for exploring this open and interesting town including its old quarter and not-to-be missed modernised marketplace.
The room was in the modern French boutique mould with nice design, though the quality of the materials might not last the test of time. It overlooked the Place de la Republique which had several restaurants including a good reasonably-priced one across the way, right next to a very nice little bar.
We paid 7E extra for private parking round the back but there are only a few spaces and would have been fine in front of the hotel in the public spaces.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    74
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
58
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel has very recently been renovated and, for me, is the best hotel of it's category that I've stayed in whilst in France.
The rooms are well-equiped with a minimalist style and the location is excellent, at the centre of Chalons.
On the down side, the food is no more than average. This hurts when in the land that invented gastronomy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippocampe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights post Eurodisney for some Champagne tasting in the region.
We were allocated a top floor (3rd) "family" room costing 120 Euros per night. When we got to the room it was clean and smartly presented and was in fact a small suite with two rooms holding double beds and our baby cot in addition, it was very modern in it's decor and look.

Biggest issue - the lift only goes to the first floor so the luggage then had to be hauled (by me) up the remaining flights of stairs; and my pregnant wife had to walk up and down as needed...

The staff however were friendly and we had a great meal in the restaurant on our first night there.

Pros: Clean, well presented, spacious, value for money, friendly staff, great restaurant, great location, very responsive via e-mail, easy paid for parking, inclusive wifi
Cons: Aircon didn't work so was hot, a little noisy, no lift

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

Set in the main town square, the position of the hotel is ideal. The rooms are very different, but OK, although some aircon or even a fan, would have helped on a hot sweaty August night. The evening meal was vey average, although the setting in the street on the square was delightful. Breakfast, though, was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed for a weekend trip with Alfa Romeo UK, which was an excelent event. The hotel was cheap & cheerful. My visit was spoiled by the horrifis damage done to my alloy wheels by an unnamed individual who moved my car from the rear yard car park into the street behind the hotel, drastically scraping the nearside front wheel. They the replaced the car in an enclosed corner of the car park in order to hide the damage! It wasn't until we parked up at our next venu (2hrs drive away) did I see the damage. Suffice to say that any liability on their part was denied! The repalcement will caost over £400. If you must stay hear fro cheap & cheerful it will probably cost an awful lot more than you think! NOT SO MUCH AS AN APOLOGY WAS GIVEN! (as I'd only had the car 3 weeks you can imagine my anger, Alfa UK are helping me sort it.) Deviously cunning foxes indeed at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Spent two nights at Le Renard having decided Chalons would make a good place to stop en route to Calais. The hotel was perfectly acceptable, if a little quirky with its attempt at boutique stying. We had not pre-booked and were given a family room instead of a double (still for €74). Our bed was large, extremely comfortable, and we quite liked it being in the centre of the room with a table behind the headboard. Breakfast was good and cost the €10 common in most 3-star french hotels these days. The service we received was also good. Had it not been for the fact that we were (unexpectedly) charged €7 for parking behind the hotel on our first night, in what can only be described as a cramped back yard, and found the restaurant disappointing (incredibly tasteless entrecote and floppy frites), the hotel would have merited an above average rating. The hotel will give you a good night's sleep and, like Chalons, is fine for a day or two. But visit Epernay and eat in another restaurant.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked this hotel 30 minutes before checking in following a change of plans at another location in town. The rate for a double room was 74 Euros with breakfast costing another 10 euro each if we took it. The premises face on to one of the main squares in town and had good kerb appeal. From outside it appeared clean and modern and this was reflected inside as well. The very helpful english speaking receptionist gave us directions to the car park at the rear and later on where best to eat. He carried our luggage to the room and explained its facilities.

The room itself as others have mentioned is a strange layout. It is a large room with the bed at an angle it the centre. Behind the bed is a post or pillar housing electrical sockets and the light switches. The room had a seperate WC to the bathroom all of which were spottlessly clean. The bedding was cotton sheets and a Duvet.
There was a wide screen TV mounted on the wall and a safe in one of the cupboards. There was even coffee and tea making facilities.
We did not eat in house as the restaurant was closed on a Sunday night. Directly opposite across the square was a restaurant than provided some hearty wholesome food for a great price. We had breakfast at another pace on the square for 6 euro a head. The hotel reception was not manned after 10pm and we were informed that we had to enter a code provided in the front door key pad if we were out after 10. On the whole an adequate hotel for the price in the centre of town. I would use this again when we are next in France.

  • Liked — Centre of town location and friendy staff
  • Disliked — Strange layout of the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank catman_willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chalons-en-Champagne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#7 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne

Property: Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne
Address: 24 Place de la Republique, 51000, Chalons-en-Champagne, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chalons-en-Champagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing