We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damaged car by valet parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre
uk
2 reviews
“Damaged car by valet parking!”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed for a weekend trip with Alfa Romeo UK, which was an excelent event. The hotel was cheap & cheerful. My visit was spoiled by the horrifis damage done to my alloy wheels by an unnamed individual who moved my car from the rear yard car park into the street behind the hotel, drastically scraping the nearside front wheel. They the replaced the car in an enclosed corner of the car park in order to hide the damage! It wasn't until we parked up at our next venu (2hrs drive away) did I see the damage. Suffice to say that any liability on their part was denied! The repalcement will caost over £400. If you must stay hear fro cheap & cheerful it will probably cost an awful lot more than you think! NOT SO MUCH AS AN APOLOGY WAS GIVEN! (as I'd only had the car 3 weeks you can imagine my anger, Alfa UK are helping me sort it.) Deviously cunning foxes indeed at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    78
    34
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
62
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Spent two nights at Le Renard having decided Chalons would make a good place to stop en route to Calais. The hotel was perfectly acceptable, if a little quirky with its attempt at boutique stying. We had not pre-booked and were given a family room instead of a double (still for €74). Our bed was large, extremely comfortable, and we quite liked it being in the centre of the room with a table behind the headboard. Breakfast was good and cost the €10 common in most 3-star french hotels these days. The service we received was also good. Had it not been for the fact that we were (unexpectedly) charged €7 for parking behind the hotel on our first night, in what can only be described as a cramped back yard, and found the restaurant disappointing (incredibly tasteless entrecote and floppy frites), the hotel would have merited an above average rating. The hotel will give you a good night's sleep and, like Chalons, is fine for a day or two. But visit Epernay and eat in another restaurant.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked this hotel 30 minutes before checking in following a change of plans at another location in town. The rate for a double room was 74 Euros with breakfast costing another 10 euro each if we took it. The premises face on to one of the main squares in town and had good kerb appeal. From outside it appeared clean and modern and this was reflected inside as well. The very helpful english speaking receptionist gave us directions to the car park at the rear and later on where best to eat. He carried our luggage to the room and explained its facilities.

The room itself as others have mentioned is a strange layout. It is a large room with the bed at an angle it the centre. Behind the bed is a post or pillar housing electrical sockets and the light switches. The room had a seperate WC to the bathroom all of which were spottlessly clean. The bedding was cotton sheets and a Duvet.
There was a wide screen TV mounted on the wall and a safe in one of the cupboards. There was even coffee and tea making facilities.
We did not eat in house as the restaurant was closed on a Sunday night. Directly opposite across the square was a restaurant than provided some hearty wholesome food for a great price. We had breakfast at another pace on the square for 6 euro a head. The hotel reception was not manned after 10pm and we were informed that we had to enter a code provided in the front door key pad if we were out after 10. On the whole an adequate hotel for the price in the centre of town. I would use this again when we are next in France.

  • Liked — Centre of town location and friendy staff
  • Disliked — Strange layout of the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank catman_willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The friendly staff were most helpful in directing us to the car park and helping with luggage.Good food in restaurant.Hotel based in centre of town in pleasant square.Rooms a little strange with bed in middle of room however the room had everything needed for an overnight stop.

  • Liked — Convenient as an overnight stop from euro tunnel
  • Disliked — bed in middle of room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripplannerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed in January 2008, but the rooms were very odd, bare walls with bed in the centre, at an angle to the wall, and very stark. even the dog was restless and couldn't sleep.
We didn't eat in the restaurant on that occasion, but did so on the 19th July 2008 while staying in another hotel. We chose the Formule which ahd a choice of courses, hubby had asparagus and a steak, whilst I had a seafood dish to start and braised pig's cheek . Hubbys rare steak arrived lukewarm/cold with congealed shallot sauce. The chips were also cold. The answer was, or so it seemed, to warm it up in the microwave. Most of his meal was left on the plate. Although 2 courses was an option on the menu, they then tried to charge us for a dessert we did not order. The staff's attitude was not acceptable, and we won't be eating or staying there again.
Try the hotel pot d'etain next door instead, they are very friendly, and their breakfast of home baked pastries and bread is gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We arrived to find a building site - no mention of this when we booked - when we tried to enter (no signs to direct us) we were stopped and sent to the back door - the off hand reception worsened when we were greeted by the stangest decor ever seen - a red corridor with room doors in red led to the yellow doors of our room complemented by yellow and purple carpets and the stangest room layout we have ever experienced.
Chalons is a dreary town ok for a overnight stop but don't be tempted to stay longer.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

This hotel is currently going through a refurbishment - initial impressions from both rooms and the corridors is more budget express (ie like Holiday Inn Express) than ultra-modern hotel, and arguably some of the materials used in the rooms reinforce this image - they appear cheap and will probably wear badly in a few year's time.

However, saying this, the good more than outweighed the bad: the staff were friendly and helpful, the beds, some of the most comfortable we had slept on and the restaurant offered outstanding value - it being our last night, prior to Eurotunnelling back to blighty, we didn't stint ourselves, in food, drink/wine and stickies. The meal was very appetising, service brilliant and the bill at the end reflected very well against some other meals eaten in the South, whose highlight was more their awefulness than their value.

Overall, if I wanted a place to stopover or for a short stay, off the tourist route, I'd return to Renard ... unless it was for a special occasion, then it would be Aux Armes de Champagne in nearby l'Epine.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chalons-en-Champagne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
224 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
Ibis Chalons en Champagne
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champagne
Premiere Classe Chalons-En-Champ...
#1 of 4 in Saint-Martin-sur-le-Pre
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Pot d'Etain
Hotel du Pot d'Etain
#10 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre

Property: Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre
Address: 24 Place de la Republique, 51000, Chalons-en-Champagne, France (Formerly Hotel Le Renard Chalons En Champagne)
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Chalons-en-Champagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Chalons-en-Champagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Chalons-en-Champagne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing