We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really old room but some are renovated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Cloche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Cloche
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really old room but some are renovated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I was allocated an old room and it was dirty, old, smelly and depressing. The bathroom was decorated in the 1970s and didn't have a shower curtain. The subsequent flooding was substantial.

The other band members managed to get better renovated rooms and were very happy with them. They had new bathrooms and said it was a very agreeable place spend time. Lucky for them!

The staff were generally very pleasant and check in and check out was efficient. Breakfast was basic but good enough for a small hotel in France.

Please insist on a newly renovated room or find another hotel.

James Rainbow

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JamesRainbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    36
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
35
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK countryside
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our second visit here and the hotel had had a partial renovation in that time. Location is excellent - within walking distance of all the restaurants (ours was a stopover en route to the alps). Very friendly reception and the stylish room was lovely. Huge bathroom/wetroom. Would definitely go for the renovated rooms at the slightly higher cost as our daughter was given an older (single) room, which was ok (her words). This is one of the hotels we stay in dependant upon how late we have left the UK or alps and we chose it as it means we don't have to eat in the hotel. Will return.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

First you don't expect much, if you enter by the bar, but after finding the reception, everything is fine. The staff is very friendly, room is large with two windows to the square. Bathroom is great with an Italian shower. Everything is very clean. Free wifi works. There is a private garage for yout car. The lady came with us to show it. You feel welcome. Breakfast buffet is quite ok, so there is nothing to complain.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

You walk through a bar with billiard tables to reach reception. Then you're given a choice: Rehab room or the Original. We opted for the renovated version at an extra ten or fifteen Euros, I forget which.The new digs are small, but well-designed and comfy.

The property sits on a big square, and you can walk to the center of town in just a few minutes. The town's kind of gritty and blue-collar, but somehow refreshing after a string of cute tourist ghettos.There's a cafe right across the street with lots of outdoor tables, many of which were occupied on the chilly, drizzly October morning we visited by Hard Core coffee-and-cigarettes devotees, male and female. Gives the place atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Small Friendly Hotel. We had a room looking out over the square. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the town. It is not next to the lake and so the earlier reviewer must have ben stopping somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My Husband an I stayed at this hotel 4 nights in August.The room was very clean. You must ask for a renovated room which is a bit more expansive but very modern and nice. The bathroom has a nice Italian shower, There is air con in the room too.
There is a nice fitness room with steam bath and a massage machine (not tried). We did not buy the breakfast there as there are many patisserie within 5 minutes walk. The Hotel is centrally located. The staff are very friendly. This only thing missing was a bolltle of water in the room but after the first night you remember to buy one from the shops. I would recommand this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephwright231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel does not look great from the outside, but don't let first appearances deceive you!

Our family room was recently renovated, with plenty of space for our double bed and two singles for the children. The bathroom was fitted with high quality (Porcelanosa) fittings. The room felt like it was in a really expensive hotel, but it was reasonably priced.

The hotel is located opposite a nice park, with a children's play area and an area which is formally planted, with a waterfall and paths down to the river. It is a two minute walk into the centre of Dole, with many nice restaurants and fabulous patissieries.

Room Tip: Room 115 is large, and faces out over the roundabout - it is very well sound proofed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessJelly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dole
2.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Chaumiere
1.0 mi away
Eric Hotel
Eric Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Campanile Dole
Campanile Dole
#6 of 8 in Dole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Chateau De Germigney
Chateau De Germigney
#1 of 1 in Port-Lesney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Dole Sud Choisey
Ibis Dole Sud Choisey
#1 of 2 in Choisey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pourcheresse Hotel Restaurant Dole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cloche

Property: Hotel de la Cloche
Address: 1 Place Jules Grevy, 39100 Dole, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Jura > Dole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Cloche 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing