We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in better hotels.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Campanile Argenteuil
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Argenteuil
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We were on a coach tour with 47 other travellers. Rooms are small, hardly enough room to squeeze by each other. Ours was clean apart from mildew on the tile grouting around the bath. No fridge or safe in the room...these are now common in many budget hotels. The courtesy tray only gives you two small milk cartons, so if the two of you want a drink in the evening and in the morning, no chance. We asked at the desk for more milk, but they said they couldn't get any as it was all locked away. The hotel is a long way from the centre...a bus and metro ride away. At the rear of the hotel is a sort of community centre. On the Saturday night, our second night, there was an all-night party...literally all-night...with very loud, thumping music 'til 5 in the morning. Kept the whole hotel awake. OK, not the hotel's fault, but it did spoil the weekend for everybody. The weather was very warm and muggy the whole weekend. Great, except the air conditioning had packd up throughout the hotel, which made sleeping uncomfortable unless you had the window open....impossible on Saturday with the party going on. The TV had 40+ channels but the only English one was the CNN news channel. No English or other nationality papers available. The food in the restaurant was acceptable apart from the fish stew.....a dish of thin stew with a few bits of fish and potato floating around in it. No side salad or veg. At 17 euros....a rip-off. The staff had a couldn't-care-less attitude and seem very disinterested in everything and everybody

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flatcat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

Hotelrooms are clean. We had a room with bath and shower. Soaps, douchegel and fohn are available. TV in the room. Breakfast is buffetstyle, only cold stuff, If you want a fried egg you have to pay separately. Hotel is reachable by bus 161 from metro La Defense (to place du 11 novembre). Good and frequent drivingschedule. We did not use the restaurant for dinner, so I cannot rate that.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fietspomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed here from Tuesday 13th July through to Friday 23 July only because it was the closest to the hospital where I was visiting the sick father of a friend.

My complaints are as follows:

Cleaning Staff would often walk into the room without knocking ( I sleep naked).
Cleaning staff would knock the door in early even though DO NOT DISTURB sign was displayed.
I was regularly left without cups (they use paper ones) , tea, coffee or spoons to make myself something to drink.

On my return to the hotel on the first day hundreds of flies were in the room.
I visited reception and told them. No one came to clean it. I saw the housekeeper and brought her to the room to show her. She and I cleaned it and she apologised. I asked for some fly killer so I could kill the remaining ones in the room. She said reception would bring it - they did not. I had to purchase the fly killer myself for the numerous living flies which were left.

One night I went to the restaurant to have dinner, ordered salmon and pasta and a glass of wine. I ordered a second glass of wine.
Because I ordered a second glass of wine the waiter became quite rude. It is NOT up to staff to tell customers who are merely sitting having dinner whether or not they can have a drink. His churlish and offensive behaviour continued during my stay.
I ate as seldom as possible in the restaurant because the waiter made me feel very uncomfortable.
During the following week I ate at the restaurant again. This time I ordered 1 x Coca Zero, 1 glass of wine, cheese omelette with frites. A very long wait indeed. It transpired the waiter forgot my drinks and didn't place my food order. Eventually he brought food a ham and cheese omelette and salad (I'm vegetarian). I told him that was not what I ordered. A while later he returned with a cheese omelette, but no frites (he had forgotten again). For a simple order of a cheese omelette and frites it took ONE HOUR.
I spent a vast amount of money in this hotel for a very poor experience - if another hotel had been available then I would have moved, but given its location to the hospital and the fact I was visiting every day I stayed, purchasing my own tea, coffee, milk and avoiding staff.
Would I recommend this hotel? NEVER.
I emailed my complaint to Louvre hotels who owns the hotel. Advising them of my complaints.
Thankfully I will never have to return to this 'two star' hotel, nor will I ever stay in another Louvre owned hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amime01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Dear Madam / Sir,
My name is Michelle Suradkar, and I was a guest at your hotel from October 16 to 18, 2009. The room was booked in the name of Arouze, we were a group from Effeweg, Holland.


While I was staying here an incident occurred, which though small in itself, left me hurt and humiliated.


On Oct 17th morning, after breakfast in the restaurant, my sister opened her handbag at the table to take out her tablets. A waiter (Mr Agor) passing by, said, loudly and rudely, that we were not permitted to carry food out of the restaurant.
I appreciate that a hotel has the right to prevent patrons from taking food out, but I do think that he could have stopped by the table to address us, and could have spoken civilly.


We explained that she was not carrying food out, but merely taking her medicine. He did not bother to stop at the table when we replied nor did he apologize when he heard our explanation. Our tour guide, at the next table was a witness to this incident.


The next day we observed two separate instances where 2 ladies carried fruit and bread rolls out of the restaurant after they finished breakfast. Mr.Agor observed this but said nothing on both occasions. Both ladies were from our tour group and white - I hesitate to imply a racial prejudice, but the thought does cross my mind.


This is a small incident, but given that the lady at the front desk and the manager (Mr Jolly) were both very warm and courteous, in all interactions, I would like to believe that such poor attitude as displayed by Mr Agor is not representative of your hotel's service standards.
May I suggest that suitable training be recommended for the gentleman in question, to ensure that no one else is subjected to such treatment in the future.


Best regards,
Michelle Suradkar

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarloPonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2005

The hotel is located in a town that seems to have been swallowed by the Paris suburbs. We didn't see much of the locality as were were on a coach tour but it wasn't anything special. It is probably a bit far out of the centre to travel in and out every day to see the sights unless the transport is laid on.

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nghts on a city break from the UK in September 2005. The staff were friendly (some spoke English) and the hotel was clean and tidy, if a little dated. Our room was a smallish twin (I've been in much smaller) and had Sky News in English on the TV. Good facilities such as toiletries and hairdryer were not expected in a hotel of this grade but very welcome. The breakfast was the usual european affair with meats, cheeses, pasteries etc and very filling.

On the whole a good hotel for the price but the experience was spoilt by the price of the beer on tap - 6.40euros (exchange 1.41 to sterling) which made a pint of beer £4.50!!! The other drinks were relatively cheap (I say relatively because Paris is expensive).

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s_granton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank TaiebQASIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique J, Directeur général at Campanile Argenteuil, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique J, Directeur général at Campanile Argenteuil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenteuil
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Argenteuil Bords de Seine
0.7 mi away
Kyriad Argenteuil
Kyriad Argenteuil
#2 of 3 in Argenteuil
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Paris Ouest - Bezons La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis budget Saint Gratien Enghien les Bains
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Bezons
Ibis Budget Bezons
#3 of 3 in Bezons
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Terminus Paris La Defense
Hotel Terminus Paris La Defense
#2 of 4 in Asnieres-sur-Seine
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Argenteuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Argenteuil

Address: 1 rue Ary Scheffer, 95100 Argenteuil, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Argenteuil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Argenteuil
Price Range: £41 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Argenteuil 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Argenteuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Argenteuil Hotel Argenteuil
Campanile Hotel Argenteuil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing