We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good price, shame no non smoking area outside”

The Dudsbury Country Club
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Good quality british pub food in a relaxed and informal atmosphere.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good price, shame no non smoking area outside”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Went as a family on a sunny eve for the first time in many years. Pub nicely fitted out, good menu and surprisingly not that busy. We chose to sit outside. Unfortunatly there was not a non smoking area outside so we were surrounded by smokers. Not that pleasant. This would have been a full marks review had this not been the case. I appreciate smokers should have an area to smoke but I also think non smokers should also be able to enjoy eating outside on a sunny eve. Staff very friendly and service good. We had curry, chilli, pasta and fishcakes and all of the food was nice, freshly cooked and tasty. Will definatly go back again, although will probably sit inside so a place to go on a rainy day for us.

Helpful?
Thank andyg444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    37
    42
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience every time!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I will have my birthday meal here in June with my friends. I and Simon go often and always enjoy hot properly cooked home prepared food (no microwave stuff here), 100% cleanliness and friendly staff. We've even been on Christmas Day. The outlook is lovely too. Like a restaurant in the country. And going down the drive between paddocks is lovely. My favourite dishes here are often the soup or spring rolls, chicken curry or fishcakes, and - their flagship Toblerone Cheesecake! This place is EXCELLENT and if it isn't busy it's because not enough people have discovered it yet! A jewel in the crown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TortieHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M, Owner at The Dudsbury Country Club, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent for families”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We tried the Dudsbury for lunch on Good Friday as a family of 8 and had a thoroughly good experience. We arrived at peak time but luckily managed to find one of the last tables outside which was perfect as the weather was good and it gave the opportunity to soak up the sun on the large decked area whilst watching the kids enjoy the play area and gardens. We were told it was a 30 minute wait for food which wasn't a problem especially when it turned up after 15 minutes! The menu was varied enough to cause indecision amongst us but we all liked our choices. The puddings that followed were also of a very good standard particularly the chocolate brownie which met with my wife's approval. Overall it was very good experience for food and atmosphere and will definitely go there again the next time I venture home to Dorset.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just needs more customers”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As a mixed party of 10 ranging from 6 months to fifty something, the meal was a great success. Our food ranged from the kiddies menu to swordfish, roasts, burger and pasta. The staff were pleasant, attentive and professional. The quality of the wide variety of freshly cooked food was good. We ate late for lunch (3:30pm) and the weather was horrible which prevented the use of the large outside areas and may account for the lack of diners and atmosphere. All in all a good dining experience and we will be dining here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ytee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Why did I bother.....”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I booked a table at the Dudsbury for 6.30pm on Tuesday 4 Feb 2014. On arrival a nice young lady showed us to a table in a rather empty looking restaurant. Starting to get a bit worried as the sign outside the pub said 2 main meals for £12.00. Why was only one table other than us occupied. The restaurant was cold , so much so that the waiter gave us a fan heater to keep us warm. When the food arrived the pasta was cold , over cooked and a sauce very bland.

The fish cakes, we asked to have the white wine sauce in a jug to one side. It arrived with cold sauce all over it. The waiter did offer to replace it but, this would mean that we would not all be eating as a family. Over the time we were at the Dudsbury only one other table for two was taken. Just shows you no matter the price people will stay away if the food is not good. Much better pubs near by. Try the Angel or Fox & Hounds. Don't even bother going to the Dudsbury.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobbytedda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dudsbury Country Club also viewed

 

Been to The Dudsbury Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing