We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

What a change since last year. We have been using this hotel for a number of years and it was getting tired but what a revelation . Everything sparkles including the rooms and fixtures,the staff,infact everywhere you go.
It has always been an ideal spot for exploring North Norfolk, even more so now.

Room Tip: All rooms great,just the ones in the house have better views but you do pay a supplement for these
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a difference new ownership can make. My review last year emphasised the basic, but honest, surroundings of this place but this year the transformation is mind-blowing. It was closed for around 6 weeks for total refurbishment and the results are fabulous. The bedrooms have huge beds, the central heating and hot water are state of the art and they have mini fridge and flat TV as standard. The en-suite has a walk-in shower to die for. Put all this together with new carpets, new public toilets and total redecoration it would be understandable if you did not recognise the place from your last visit. One slight problem is that the front door is drafty and on a winter's day makes the front lounge area a bit chilly. The cost of this must have been horrendous but the prices are still very reasonable. The food is still the same, the staff and the location still worth mentioning. I loved it and will be looking out for their special deals in the future so that my wife and I can explore the North Norfolk coast from such a great base. Well done you, whoever the owners are.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Five of us had dinner in the bar on Saturday night and all chose something different. Everyone was delighted with their food.Tempura prawns were especially delicious. The teenager in our group thought the chips were the best!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caroline432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Pheasant Hotel at Kelling has undergone a major re-furb and is an excellent country hotel- wonderful beds, comfortbale rooms, and the food is of the highest standard- if you are exploring the Norfolk coast can highly recommend it

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank staploe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

I was kindly invited to Mother's Day lunch by friends. One close friend had visited before and I have to say I looked at the old website and thought it looked dated. Went today and the smell of the refurb was amazing. Ordered a glass of wine in the bar whilst we looked at menus. Taken into a well laid restaurant only problem was my chair was broken but the girls replaced it with no problems. It was day three of trading and it showed in parts. The food was amazing. I had goats cheese tart which I could of eaten again. Then salmon. With cheese to follow.

The whole meal was an experience that I can not wait to have again. If they improve in the service, which was not bad - but not the greatest, they really will be onto something so so good.

Above all, pricing so reasonable it was so enjoyable knowing that you get some lovely food with good surrounding and a ambiance that you have to enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This was the first time at this hotel and we hadn't seen it before the referb, but I would say it looked as wonderful outside as it did inside, it was clean and welcoming, the fires were going which made it very cozy. The food was wonderful, would definitely go back. The staff were very nice but they needed to be more attentive once we had finished our meal, we didn't get offered coffee and if we hadn't ask we wouldn't have known where to pay. It would be a lovely place for families to go but at the moment there main clientele is the older generation. All in all a great place to go for a meal and opulent surroundings. Good luck in the future we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bedlover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. The attention to detail in the rooms was of the highest standard, with many thoughful extras. The hotel is just completing a refurbishment and this together with the very helpful staff made the whole experience a delight. The food was excellent and I am already looking forward to a return visit. If you are considering visiting north Norfolk then I urge you to try The Pheasant Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a shower only if you find difficulty getting in and out of a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jacqueline628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
911 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
862 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,352 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range: £129 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt
The Pheasant Hotel Kelling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing