We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Since my last visit when I was bowled over by the refurbishment of the hotel I was equally impressed with its high comfort level. Soooooo comfortable, You would think, having spent such vast sums on the hotel fabric and furnishings, you would expect the food to be pretty good.
That's the bad bit. The food is generally poor, meat either uncooked or tough as old boots, the kitchen service is poor although the front of house team are extremely helpful and willing. I had melon which was as hard as nails, inedible. The meringue described as pavlova was just awful and could be teeth breaking. The breakfast is very good, very very good. My advice is to stay here on a B & B basis and, until they get their chef sorted out, eat out. Notwithstanding, the area is quite delightful and a mecca for walkers, birdwatchers and those seeking peace and tranquillity. A must for any visitor who wants to buy a newspaper is 'The Village Shop' in the next village (turn right as you leave the hotel about a mile up the hill) which is an example of the kind of thing that most villages and small towns should aim for. The other shop (turn left this time, at the bottom of the hill) is just about as quirky as you can get and is all the more enjoyable for it, they serve food too, in huge portions.

Room Tip: All rooms are outstanding in comfort levels but the honeymoon suite and other rooms on the first flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you were satisfied with your stay but disappointed you found our food offerings to be below our usual high standard. You will see from other reviews that we usually receive extremely good comments about our food and we would like to think it is a main factor to why so many guest's return to the Pheasant.

I do recall you spoke with the Duty Manager on the night and the offer to replace the meal was declined. We also spoke with the group organiser who confirmed she very much enjoyed her meal as did the remaining 30 guests in the group, apologies you were an exception to this.

I will ensure this constructive feedback is passed on to the rest of the team.

We do hope you are able to join the group for next year which has already provisionally booked.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

I was looking forward to a return visit, after a year, as my first experience was so positive. However, I was hugely disappointed with the restaurant. The food was bland, poorly presented and the dinner menu did not offer much choice. The meringues, for example were so tough we could barely cut into them. The breakfast was also a let down. The fruit selection was limited and did not offer nuts or seeds to add as a healthy option, and by Sunday they had run out of yoghurt/crème dressings, and did not offer an alternative.

The newly decorated restaurant lacked life and colour and quite frankly matched the food!!

The bedrooms, reception team and chamber maids however, were excellent., and were of the same high standard as the previous year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry to hear your latest visit did not meet the expectations of your last. We generally get very good feedback regarding our food offerings and therefore I am extremely disappointing on this occasion you felt the food was not up to it's usual high standard.
After speaking with the group organiser on departure the feedback from herself was very positive, so much so a very kind £500 gratuity was left for the team and a further booking made for next year.
We have a very attentive and experienced team and had you mentioned your concerns at the time I am certain we could of rectified these issues straight away.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just spent this weekend at The Pheasant. Two nights B and B, dinner one night and afternoon tea. We were in a feature room.

We go away a lot and like certain things. This hotel had everything - fluffy towels, dressing gowns, plenty of room in the bathroom to put your toiletries, a fridge with fresh milk, comfy beds and fantastic shower. Everywhere was spotless. I could go on and on....... The food was excellent and the staff exceptional. When we arrived the guy on reception offered to help with our bags. We later found out he was the General Manager. What a nice guy.

The location/setting was stunning. We couldn't have asked for anything more and we shall definitely be in for a return visit. Perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Susanv82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your review. It is delightful to read your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay and I will be sure to pass this onto the rest of the team. We strive to ensure we give every one of our guests a memorable experience and I am pleased this was no exception.

Thank you personally for your comment about me being a nice guy, helping with bags, changing light bulbs and serving food really are the signs of a modern day General Manager and it allows me to stay close with the staff and customers.

Once again thank you and I very much look forward to seeing you on your next visit

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We picked this hotel for its location - near the steam engine line at Holt - but what a lucky choice. We viewed it on the internet initially and were completely charmed by the ambiance there and the refurbished decorations in keeping with the age and style of the building. The staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were so obviously proud with their hotel which was so good to experience. So comfortable - lovely and warm -which in mid-winter is a real bonus. We already have a Spring Break booked there - and have recommended it to friends who have booked for an April visit there! Loved the little touches - a fridge in the room (with a pint of milk in it which would be replaced each day). Two chairs in the bedroom whilst most hotels nowadays only have one in a double room. Instant press button for the shower - telling the heat and easily altered. Run a hand under the mirror and the lights come on! Little but special details - that made us feel special too!

Room Tip: Only been in one room which was lovely - I gather we shall have a different room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is so nice to hear comments like this especially about the team being proud of the job they do. They are extremely hardworking and will be delighted to read you comments.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to seeing you in the Spring.

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just spent a very pleasant weekend at the recently refurbished Pheasant Hotel. Stayed in standard room. Every thing of a good standard and the fridge with fresh milk was a nice touch. Lots of storage and excellent shower. The food in the restaurant was very tasty though the Rump steak I had was very gristly and I left most of it. The new decor is very attractive and it was a pleasure to relax in the bar area with a newspaper. Wi-fi is available everywhere in the hotel and works most of the time. One negative was the reception staff who weren't very friendly or helpful but overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenquy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your excellent review and I am delighted to read we exceeded your expectations in every way.

I will be sure to pass this feedback onto the rest of the team who will be delighted as I am.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at The Pheasant for 4 nights over Christmas 2013 with the in-laws and 2 dogs.
The Hotel - Beautifully refurbished in 2013 in a bright clean style, modern as opposed to wood panels. Free Wi-Fi to furthest rooms. Well stocked and reasonably priced bar included 3 Adnams Real Ales and cocktails. Two log fires. Honest web site pictures.
Our Room - well appointed with Tea/Coffee making facilities and fresh milk each day. Fridge, not mini-bar, was useful for chilling our Champagne as well as the milk! Hairdryer. Desk. Decent range of FreeView TV channels. Ironing board and iron in the room plus 2 chairs and a table with enough room left to spread the dogs beds out. Radiator central heating but with a silent air flow through the rooms to keep them fresh and recover heat. Designated "dog rooms" have a massive walk in shower rather than a bath and they are located next to an exit into the car park - very convenient
Staff - All very pleasant and helpful, attentive but not intrusive. The staff were a real team who all seemed to pull together to make it a success and more than anything made our stay so enjoyable.
Food - Good variety, mainly local and plentiful. Substantial cooked breakfast / kippers / buffet. I am still working off the Christmas lunch in January.
Location - on North Norfolk coast. Sufficiently long driveway directly off the coast road to be quiet but easily accessible. Plenty of walking areas accessible from the hotel which is set in 2 acres of ground.
Disabled Access - good gentle slopes but the deep pile carpet and gravel driveway may present a challenge to a wheelchair user without the aid of a "pusher".

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are all convenient - ask about the "feature rooms" on the upper floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Signum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read you enjoyed the Festive period with us. We have been inundated with compliments regarding our Festive package and look forward to offering the same excellent service and value for money this year.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A lovely comfortable hotel. Excellent in everyway from caring staff to wonderful food. Log fires to lovely surroundings. Decor is modern but right - just love it. Secluded and child friendly. Will return again soon

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, General Manager at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted to read your comments and you found the food and service to be of a high standard. I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mark Bryant
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
942 reviews
18 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
233 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Kelling Norfolk Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range: £99 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4*country house hotel located in Kelling on the North Norfolk coast. Five minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt and a 15 minute walk to Kelling beach. The Pheasant is family and dog friendly with free wifi throughout. Whether it be a ground or first floor room, superking or twin beds, interconnecting or an accessible room, please ask and we will try our best to deliver. Our classic, seasonal menu is designed using locally sourced produce. From family gatherings, private dining & christenings to exclusive use of the hotel we can accommodate all events. We are the ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, star gazers, cyclists and for visitors to the many Stately Homes and gardens or for those wishing to see the seals at Blakeney point. We are also perfectly located for those visiting the popular Thursford Spectacular, as it is only a 20 minute drive from The Pheasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt
The Pheasant Hotel Kelling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing