We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE”
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
Meopham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were recommended to go here for a meal as we were staying nearby in Sheringham. We were bitterly disapointed. No atmosphere whatso ever. The lighting in the dining room was far too bright. The easy listening music on tape was far too loud - more suited to a bar. There were plastic flower arrangements in the centre aisle. I wouldn't call it a restaurant more a 3 star tourist hotel dining room. The food was very good although overpriced. The venue would suit a wedding or large christening party. The hotel as well looked like it was trying to be show house hotel - no atmosphere.We were so relieved to leave and make our way back to our lovely country house hotel in Sheringham. Thank goodness we hadn't booked to stay at The Pheasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMeopham_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    140
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
119
338
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We did not stay, just came for dinner. Though food was excellent, service felt rushed. Asked three times if we ready to order desert. So much so that we finished dinner, we felt the need to have coffee in the lounge bar. Once we did so we noticed dead roses in the main area of bar & no lit candle on table yet many empty table were. When we pointed this out we experienced faulty towers moment " well were they were alive two days ago"! We noticed that though there was a special Italian evening, only less than 20% of spaces were taken, which lead to to a lack of warm atmosphere. With this experience we wonder if this venue will be hear in a years time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked the Pheasant hotel for an overnight dinner bed and breakfast stay for our Anniversary . The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, our room was clean and contemporary and we had a walk-in large shower as requested. There were 2 armchairs , bottled water and fresh milk for tea and coffee which was a nice touch.The gardens are well kept and very pleasant to enjoy a relaxing glass of wine. We had good weather and had travelled from another hotel. We booked the evening meal for 8pm. Our food and wine order was taken. We ordered chicken and hand cut chips and asked if anything came with it - Manuel said it comes with salad, mushroom and tomato. Wine was brought to the table and we waited for the starter. The table next to us had their starter and main before we ate anything even though they sat down after us. The waiter Manuel then came and apologised and said there had been a problem with the printer ? We accepted this and it was eventually served on a cold plate which we mentioned. We ate this but wondered how long it may have been sitting there in the kitchen. We then waited what seemed to be forever for our main to arrive. It eventually was served and the waiter said 'enjoy your meal' - we asked where the rest of it was. He said sorry and went away and asked - plate was taken away - it came back at 9.20 with the vegetables added very dried up as it must have been put back in the oven. We we were so disappointed and didn't even order a dessert or cheese and biscuits. We did complain and Simon the new Head Chef came and apologised - he has recently taken over. We didn't pay for our wine and also had complimentary coffee in the bar area. I think that one of the main problems was that there was a large party on a long table and these seemed to take priority with all staff buzzing around them. The next morning Simon kindly came and personally took our breakfast order and apologised once again and asked if we had any special requests. We ordered the cooked English breakfast . I started with the cereal and fruit juice and all was going well until my cooked breakfast arrived while I was still eating the cereal. The waitress said 'shall I take it away' but I declined after the previous evening as didn't want another dried up meal (lack of experience , should be looking at table and not bring cooked food until guests are ready to eat) so I left the cereal .To sum up I would like to come again and visit only feel a little apprehensive. Our Anniversary meal was spoiled and considering the restaurant was only half full as it was a Tuesday there really was no excuse.

Room Tip: We had room 15 which had a large walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cswright54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been disappointed by our recent trip to The Pheasant Hotel. The warning signs should have started ringing when we booked our 2 night stay. I had been in contact with the hotel about their family room and clearly stated I had a 2 and 4 year old. I was advised that a family room was available and that the children would sleep free of charge. However on then phoning to book a couple of days later, I was told that this is not the case the children should be charged at £15 each. However, they did agree to waive the fee. I received my booking confirmation and all seemed fine until we turned up at the hotel. We had been given a standard room which would be a very tight squeeze with 2 z-beds as apparently the hotel was not aware we had children. I showed the receptionist my email and my room booking confirming that I had booked "the family room". However, we left it with them and went on our travels. Coming back to the hotel the receptionist confirmed there had been a mix up and for some reason they had changed our booking from a family room to a standard room and the family room was now booked by someone else! We were giving a connecting room for our two children so all ok. The receptionist then asked if we wanted to book a table for dinner we said yes booked for 6pm and when we arrive in the restaurant guess what no booking! Not a problem as we were the first ones there! I also didn't like the fact that the restaurant group all the tables together. It is a lovely big restaurant and everyone is all together in one little corner of it! The other problem was in the hotel book it says milk is replenished daily, our wasn't we had to ask. The staff don't seem to be communicating with each other and considering the hotel is featured in the "Best Hotels in Norfolk magazine" I expected so much more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Last week a group of friends from all over the country, who have met once a year for the last 35 years, visited this recently refurbished Norfolk hotel. We were immediately welcomed with a magnificent afternoon tea, served on colourful china, and where necessary, with specially prepared sandwiches and pastries for individual dietary requirements.
We stayed at the hotel for two nights, with dinner, bed and breakfast, and throughout our stay the management and staff went out of their way to be helpful and responsive to any requests (including coping with those with significant disabilities.)
Everyone enjoyed the updated facilities, the beautiful setting and the variety of attractions to be visited in the vicinity.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 761KSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here on a trip to North Norfolk coast with friends, and found hotel to be very good. Rooms were very good (recently refurbished), great service, good food and very peaceful. Would ceratinly recommend as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at the Pheasant in November 2013 ,there were a few niggly problems nothing major. Thought we would try the upgrade rooms upstairs with loverly views over the garden, with fruit and cookies in the room,dressing gowns and slippers. Well sadly from room 1 (the cley) all I could see was 1/2 an acre of flat roof,no dressing gowns,no fruit & cookies. We did get a small rebate from having no fruit or cookies from the loverly jenny who apologised profusley.Breakfast first morning was along afare we ordered and waited, one of the watresses came and said haven't you been served yet I said no. Stewart the bar man was a very friendly and helpful person.we had a bar snack on the second night that was very enjoyable. We stayed at Easter which can be busy,don't get me wrong it's a loverly place would I go back definetly,I just wish the management would listen to some of the small criticsim people are making and put them right once and for all, or don't promise what you can' t deliver.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view of the garden from room 1 cley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeshireSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
855 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,307 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Pheasant Hotel
Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt
The Pheasant Hotel Kelling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing