We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Certificate of Excellence
kings lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Last year my wife and I took both our sons to The Pheasant Hotel for afternoon tea,as a summer treat, and what a treat it was. This year as my wife had her cousin and her husband staying locally we surprised them with the same experience. I can only say that it is still a dream afternoon that everybody should try. The staff and service were excellent , they produced at very short notice a fantastic salmon salad and fruit salad for my wife as she has a low fat and dairy free diet. The food was excellent and the crockery it was arranged on was out of this world . The weather was great and a fantastic day was had by all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePheasantNR257EG, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased your return visit was an enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    127
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
111
304
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute as wanted to get away for a couple of days and explore Norfolk, the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, location was perfect, not too far from anywhere and the food was delicious! Breakfast was included which included a range of continental breakfasts as well as a menu of several cooked breakfasts! We were not disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C_C1989xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePheasantNR257EG, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for this review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Pheasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at this gorgeous hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome, along with our 2 dogs. The hotel itself is tastefully decorated to a very high standard and has a really relaxed vibe to it. Our room was superb and located very practically for our dogs, close to an easy access point to the grounds. We especially enjoyed the luxurious shower!

We ate breakfast and dinner on both days and the food was exceptional, beautifully presented by friendly and attentive staff. The staff are one of the hotel’s greatest assets, where everyone from the room maids to the executive chef were friendly, interested and approachable. We were sad to leave on our last day and would certainly love to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePheasantNR257EG, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post this review. Your comments are most welcome and have been shared with our staff who are delighted that you had a great time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The first sight of this hotel looks good, great country side , beautiful garden and so well maintained. The room was good and we were allowed to have our dog with us! The dining was very poor ! Picture a Saturday night when a restaurant has taken on more than it can handle! 35 minutes late to table .... Starters arrived within 2 minutes of sitting down followed by the bread rolls which no one could track down! The main course arrived some 50 minutes later! By then there were a lot of grumbles from the guest! The menu sounds far more interesting than it taste! If this hotel could keep the chef in the kitchen and stop him wandering in and out to the garden to chat to the guest..... Save it till after you have served every one! And if just once some one had taken charge of the dining room and just said sorry and not relied on the young waiters who were also embarrassed about the service things could have been put right! Once again I would say to people stay here but do not do the evening meal package !

Room Tip: We had a dog friendly room near the back car park and there was no noise and a very comfortable roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dora4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePheasantNR257EG, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The service on this Saturday night was not as I would have expected at The Pheasant. Discussions on this have taken place with changes already implemented to prevent a recurrence. I apologise for the dining experience you received on that evening which has tainted what appears to have been a good impression of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

my wife and stayed here for three nights having chosen it as a base to explore North Norfolk. As you turn into the grounds of the hotel from the main road it looks very impressive, a large two storey country manor. It bodes well, but looks can be deceiving. At reception we were met with a friendly smile by Corrine and she registered us with efficiency. We had booked a deluxe double bedroom at £136 per night B&B having opted for a quiet room. At that price there were only ground floor rooms at the rear of the hotel. There was the option to book one of the first floor rooms at an extra £30 per night but quite frankly they are not worth the extra. The surprise came. at least for me, is that a ground floor room is not in the two storey building itself but what looks like a single floor annex to the side, with a long corridor down the middle.
One of the things that is immediately apparent, especially on a warm day is that the hotel is very warm.
The room itself, despite its deluxe tag is standard. We found it adequate rather than spacious, but the bed is a good size - looked like two single beds joined together to make massive double. The bed linen was spotless, high quality fabrics being used, and the pillows were excellent, amongst the best I have ever had being neither too soft nor too hard. The mattress was also in excellent condition, and I was looking forward to a good night's sleep. So why did I not manage one decent night's sleep there. Simple, no ventilation! The room blurb would have you believe it is designed for air flow taking in the warm air from the bathroom to refresh the bedroom with fresh air. This is utter rubbish and in the hotel really lets itself down by having no air conditioning in the rooms, nor indeed anywhere. Being on the ground floor leaving the windows open at night poses a security risk so we were left having to swelter through the night. You would think that if they were not going to include air conditioning then at least the windows would have had a little window in the middle so you could at least have it open through the night. We spoke to the manager at checkout and I know he is considering what to do about ventilation. Otherwise the rooms were quiet and comfortable, except in the morning. We city working folk who get up at the crack of dawn like a little lie in when on our vacs, you know, nothing too indulgent, but say until 9.00am. And we would have had it a this hotel were it not for the clientele. No, its not what you think, no yobs or young louts here, it is more the mature clients, those who may be described as senior citizens who think it is ok to shout greetings to each other very early in the morning:)
The room furnishings were on the ok side rather than deluxe, consisting of two wing-back cloth chairs a small wobbly circular table and the usual built in table and chair. There was a modern LCD TV showing Freeview channels and it is fine. There was also a small fridge and we found a bottle of fresh milk in it for tea and coffee making. This was a nice touch.
The bathroom was small, not really enough room for two people, but good fittings, especially the shower in the bath which had digital temperature controls and powerful. The towels were of excellent quality, and looked new. The toiletries were ok, the shower gels were not replaced after the first day and we asked for replacements - shouldn't really need to but no big deal.
The wifi was easy to connect to and recpetion was good, except from the gardens where it degraded. The speed was acceptable, not slow at all.
The hotel has a restaurant and I have to say the food was of very good quality, especially the pork belly in mustard sauce and the sirloin steaks. The cutlery and crockery were of excellent quality and linen tableware was also excellent. We ate in the restaurant on two consecutive nights as the quality was very good. What let the restaurant down were two things. Firstly, ventilation, or lack of. Again no air conditioning and with the restaurant full and all the windows closed, it was very warm and sticky, We asked our waiter if we could have one of the doors open and he was prepared to do it but was overruled by the head waiter citing as his reason that he was worried that flies would come into the restaurant. There might have been one or two flies but nothing to worry about and certainly a minor concern compared to feeling uncomfortable with the warmth in the hotel Eventually a sensible manager came along and acquiesced to our request to open the door. The second mildly annoying thing was the service, which varied between excellent and adequate. At times it was spot on, but often the timing would be off, such as when the bread rolls came to the table, or when water came to the table. In a very good restaurant this happens automatically and water gets topped up so it was irritating to have to catch the waiter's eye. That said they were always quick to respond to any request we had so they redeemed themselves in that way.
The hotel price included breakfast, and the cooked breakfast selection is excellent. My wife especially liked the smoked kippers, But it does let itself down, as if you dont have a fry up then the choice is just cereals, or toast and jams. There are no croissants, hams, cheeses as alternates. There was a massive help yourself fruit salad, but I prefer fresh fruit. To be fare they provided it on request, and this is where the hotel and restaurant score highly for me, very keen to serve you, We got a fresh bowl of fruit consisting of strawberries, blueberries and grapes, much to the envy of other guests I suspect. By the way they now know how to make a mochito, as when we had ordered them they did not know how, They mixed a really good one so would recommend it. Those of you who have read my other reviews I would normally say something about the diet coke, but cannot do it here as they do not stock diet drinks in the bar at this hotel. Hmm!
North Norfolk is supposed to have wonderful tea rooms in the coastal towns but we did not find any , instead we chose afternoon tea in the gardens of the hotel and it was excellent. The finger sandwiches were tasty, the cakes delicious, and the warm scones with jam and clotted cream a little decadent but great tasting. All served with a smile and on fine bone china by Letitia.
Overall the experience was very positive and it really could get 4.5 marks from me, with a few improvements. Would I go back there again, well not now, but if the manager tells me in a few years time he has addressed the ventilation issue then maybe.

Room Tip: there is no ventilation so if you like an airy room dont sleep on the ground floor unless you are ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phitos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePheasantNR257EG, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the review of your visit to the Hotel. A very comprehensive and balanced piece. It is appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you both, prior to departure, to discuss some of the points you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London , UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed just one night on a bbd basis in mid June of this year.The hotel is in an excellent location for touring north Norfolk and is set in quiet grounds with plenty of parking spaces. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped.
The dining experience was interesting, the bar was quite full for pre dinner drinks and it was clear thet a number of diners had been waiting for some time, The menu was very nicely balanced and used local produce, the dining room nice and airy with well spaced out tables., it transpired that one of the chefs had gone missing and that had caused the delays in service. We did seem only marginally affected and great credit to the chef who clearly was sending out well cooked food in trying circumstances. The dining room service was somewhat chaotic no doubt caused by the difficulties in the kitchen, however the dining room staff with some help from reception all tried very hard to please. We enjoyed the food served and the wine was reasonably priced for the quality offered .
Breakfast the following day was very good and timely. Overall we enjoyed our one night stay and feel that under normal circumstances the restaurant would provide a very enjoyable dining experience. We swould stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moandtdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to present this detailed balanced review. I was aware that that our service was not at our best on the evening you dined and for that I apologise. It has been discussed among our staff as to how best we overcome any issue we may have so that you as the guest are unaffected. In this case we did not succeed. However I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and I note that you would stay again. I hope this be for more than one night and in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've just got back from a weekend at The Pheasant which has to be the most amazing Hotel in North Norfolk. The recent refurbishment, the fantastic staff, excellent food and the most comfortable night's sleep in ages makes this a 'must go back again' hotel. Of course, going with a group of greatv friends also helped.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbryant82, Owner at The Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I like the phrase “must go back again” hotel as it captures our underlying aim to delight our guests, for them to have an enjoyable stay and to leave wanting to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelling
13.6 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
782 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
839 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
681 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,246 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Pheasant Hotel
Address: Weybourne Road, Kelling, Holt NR25 7EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Kelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel. Located in Kelling, 5 minutes' drive from the Georgian town of Holt. 10 minutes' walk from the Hotel to the sea shore. Dog Friendly. Free Wifi through-out the Hotel. Seating in the garden and ample parking. Ideal location for golfers, bird watchers, walkers, cyclists, visitors to the many Stately Homes and the Thursford Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Holt
The Pheasant Hotel Kelling, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing