We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth of money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Paris Est - Porte De Bagnolet
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bagnolet
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel was near good public transportation. Hotel and room was very clean and felt like safe. Room was small. Bed was very comfortable, better than I have at home. Breakfast was simple but delicious. I could stay again at this hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Traveller81K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

no air condition and no option to open the window.
the room is like SAUNA. no air inside.
when I complained at the reception they told me that the air system works only from 10:00 AM until 18:00 PM. and what about the rest of the time ?
the service was also bad , on Sunday the technician isn't working , so he cant check the air system...

Terrible !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avni_reuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our metro ride to this Campanile seemed to take forever as it is at the very end of the green (3?) line. But we were pleasantly surprised to see the hotel RIGHT outside the metro steps. A new record for us for hotel proximity to metro station.
Rooms were nice and very roomy. Shower was interesting as it was basically right next to the toilet (no curtain), but no big deal. Hotel buffet was surprisingly tasty AND affordable.
Location is sketchy, but we had no issues Be VERY sure to check out the mall/grocery mart the hotel is attached to. Very affordable and tasty pastries and the grocery store is a wonderful experience. Clean, huge, and appears to be focused to locals so prices for snacks were very cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

First off let me say that this place is very clean, has a lovely modern look and feel, good shower, comfortable bed, brilliant transport link and staff that are friendly. There is also free WiFi.

However their "air policy" (something I've never heard of before) is shockingly bad. First off, the air vent is turned off. As such you get a room far too hot to sleep in and very stuff with all the stale air. This wouldn't be too much of an issue if you could simply open a window, but due to "security reasons" the window is permanently locked.

Both my girlfriend and I could not sleep as a result of this terrible air issues. (sweating in bed is no fun) that we finally went to ask reception at 05:30am to sort something out as this was getting ridiculous. He told us to wait until 07:00 for the manager to arrive. However when I spoke then I was told that "nothing can be done about that".

Seeing as you have to at least have a good night sleep for a hotel to be worth it I can only say this hotel did not live up to this expectation... Which is a real pity as EVERY else is really lovely with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Let's start from saying that in Paris, you will never be unconnected. Its transport system is one of the most efficient in Europe I guess.

Choosing Campanile Porte Est was a matter of affordability, getting in one of the hotels near the center would cost us more than the double of what we've paid. I'm an avid trip advisor reader myself so I know well (most of the time) where i'm going to. This revealed pleasantly above what I expected though.

The location. It is jut outside Paris in the west side and the link to the center could never be so efficient. you're literally on the metro stop, you go out of the hotel make ten steps and you're in the metro Gallieni which is the terminus of line 3. The hotel like described by others is a part of a huge mall where you have Auchan and other food stalls like Mcdonalds and Subway (but you wouldn't want to go eat there while in Paris, i hope so) which is really convenient. Different from what i read though, the place has been always so safe, even at night. Of course like in all periphery sides of Paris you will find immigrants hanging around the area, others selling stuffs like fruits and gadgets but they were never a problem. I haven't seen any single drunk person hanging around there, or probably it's because the hotel entrance is so close you wouldn't even notice it because as soon as you go out of the metro, you're already inside the hotel. In any case i've seen policemen staying there till late.

Transportation Links. Going around Paris using the metro is just as easy as playing snakes and ladders, though line 3 has only direct access to Montmarte area through Pigalle station, it has links to other lines like Opera and Republique which will then link you to other lines to Louvre and Eiffel Tower. You will have to make at least 2 changes (a matter of 5/10mins.) to get to anywhere you want. And believe me, if you're not from London (which has a pretty superb metro system like Paris) you would also enjoy going around the labyrinth down there, changing lines all the time. If you travel through Paris Beauvais (which is our case) you can reach the hotel though RER C, which you will get you from Neully Porte-Malliot (terminus of Beauvais shuttle bus) in one stop to Pereire which is also a stop of Line 3, from there, you will only have to follow signs to the metro 3 and get on the platform to Gallieni (hotel location). Maps of Paris metro system is available on metro info points on almost every station. An alternative which is pretty long and confusing (or what i said, could be fun as well) is using the metro all the way from Porte Malliot (terminus of BV shuttle bus) to Gallieni (hotel locations) which mean you will have to change a few times and walk along the galleries. While if you're coming from either CDG or Orly, it will be easier since both of them have direct links to the metro in the city center. ***note that Porte Malliot and Gallieni are exactly on the two opposite sides of Paris that is why i made a more detailed explanation on how to get from one point to the other.

The Hotel. I've read that French people could be so cold (without any intention of offending any French out there) but i guess its very logical that if you're in hospitality business, it's something that you should avoid. Zero costumer service, we're the ones greeting good morning and good evening all the time, no one smiles and it's like they're being forced to stay there and work. No passion at all. And nobody i think speaks good english. So stay on the reception the least possible. Breakfast is just awful, i never had a buffet so lame like that. I know it's a three star hotel, but they advertise their property as HOTEL and RESTAURANT.. so food is something where in they should excel. For instance, we were planning to have a dinner and lunch to try the restaurant but after paying 9.90 for a buffet breakfast like that, we changed our mind and chose to have some hot crepes in the center. What you get for breakfast are some cereals, the worst ham and CHEESE!! commercially packed (for God's sake, France is competing with Italy for cheeses, they could have served it better), yogurts and not even fresh juices. I only had the Pain au chocolat (bread with chocolate) freshly baked (or heated) which is the only thing i would save in their breakfast offer which is way too expensive for 9.90 btw.

Rooms. Though upon entering the hallway, there's this fusty smell that welcomes you, they surprised me a bit with the rooms, i knew that it will not be big, and the windows couldn't be opened, but the ventilation worked perfectly it was never a problem. My friend even smoked in the bathroom (all rooms are no-smoking rooms) which never caused us a problem. The heating system was nearly inexistent being centralized which in my case is just right but could be a problem for others. The BED!!!! I wanted to bring the mattress and pillows with me, they're even more comfortable than what i have at home!! I had a very sounding sleep in 4 days. Sound isolation is perfect from the outside, its beside a highway but not a single sound from the outside could be heard, sound-isolation from room to room though could be a little problem for light sleepers, we were the problem i guess on our case to our neighbor rooms since we always woke up very early in the morning. and yeah, the boiler, coffees and tea is an add-on which a few 3 star hotels make, so it's a plus to consider. The towels smells fresh as well, I've been to Mariott as well before and never smelled the towels this fresh and clean. Cleaning in general is okay nothing to ask more considering the hotel category. Internet connection is slow and on and off but was never a problem to me. If you're there for a business trip or if you're being connected to the world is that precious then you should consider other hotels. :)

Overall. I'd definitely make use of this hotel again considering the quality of sleep, connection and price. Downsides are customer service and the food.

Room Tip: Do not have breakfast, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BorderlessVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Definitely not a place, if you want to experience romantic Paris and is more of an economical business hotel. The location not being in the center is offset by the proximity to the Metro (M3) which makes it an accessible hotel from the train station as well as airport. Not happy with the information provided at the front desk when we checked-in and definitely not happy with the breakfast time ending at 9:30 am! The room size was small and was overall cramped but the interiors were modern and neatly done. Not providing hand towels, shutting off the heating system during the day in peak winter time and an unstable Wi-Fi connectivity gave us an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarang9982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very conveniently located vis a viz transport links as it is about a hundred metres from the underground (metro) as well as the coach station. Most ot the staff are friendly and courteous - a couple were functional without any personal warmth. For a three star hotel the rooms were spacious enough. The main drawback is that all 25 TV channels are in French!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Campanile.com - Louvre Hotels Group
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagnolet
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reseda
Hotel Reseda
#1 of 6 in Bagnolet
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Paris Porte de Bagnolet
0.7 mi away
HotelF1 Paris Porte de Montreuil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Paris Porte de Bagnolet
0.2 mi away
Novotel Paris Est
Novotel Paris Est
#3 of 6 in Bagnolet
1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrand Hotel
Belgrand Hotel
#1,455 of 1,802 in Paris
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Est - Porte De Bagnolet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Est - Porte De Bagnolet

Address: 28 avenue du General de Gaulle, 93170 Bagnolet, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Bagnolet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bagnolet
Price Range: £43 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Est - Porte De Bagnolet 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Paris Est - Porte De Bagnolet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing