We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment, Big rip-off”
Review of Hotel Les Pleiades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Pleiades
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barbizon
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment, Big rip-off”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel looks great on the outside, but lacks everything on the inside.
As we entered the room, our initial impression was good. But then, when we looked closer:
The furniture is very cheap and flimsy (Ikea makes better quality furniture!)
The bathroom door is made of plywood or press wood and is hollow
There is 1-2 mm crack between the front door and the frame, and you can see the light from the outside hallway
The toilet paper holder is lopsided
All the bathroom fixtures are cheap and low quality
The painting and caulking details are very sloppy (either done in a rush or by an incompetent person)
The magnifying mirror had been moved to another place on the wall. But the holes in the wall from where it was before was not refinished well and clearly visible
The cabinet door covering the minibar was falling off its hinges
There were barely enough bathroom amenities for one person (we had a double room)
The wifi worked only intermittently
Because of all these reasons, we decided not to eat in the hotel restaurant (which may or may not be good, we didn't want to take the risk). Instead, we dined down the street in a restaurant that we knew was great.
For a 5 star hotel, these points are unacceptable and are an unpleasant surprise. In reality, this hotel is about a 3 star standard.
It is better to stay at the other 5 star hotel in town which at least meets the high standard.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninodebalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    84
    67
    44
    12
See reviews for
19
222
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freistadt / Österreich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

stayed here for 1 night business trip. Nice ambiente and cozy and well sized room. I didn't had time to check out the SPA, so no rating on this.

Nevertheless I was missing essential things for 5* level, eg. free water to drink and fruit basket in the room. No water boiler & tea. Breakfast rather limited for European relations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at the Pleiades on the way to Provence and ate in the Brasserie. Everything was perfect and the food was the best I have had in years. The hotel room was wonderful and we had a lovely view overlooking the street. Barbizon is beautiful. I would recommend to anyone and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redhouse504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We loved Barbizon - a wonderful small walking town filled with charm and excellent food and history. Les Pleiades was a great location, charming, modern room, very sweet and helpful staff - above and beyond what I would have expected. Quiet and just perfect. We ate at the restaurant and had one of the best meals of a two week trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPinkHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This minimalist hotel was very well appointed. Our bedroom and bathroom were both spacious, and we had a small balcony. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was original art work on the walls in the public areas. There were two pools and a spa, with towels and bathrobes provided. There was free parking at the rear of the hotel, and if you want to visit histotrical chateaux, both Fontainbleau and Vaux le Vicomte are within easy reach. It is a great place for a relaxing break.

The only downside was that the breakfast was rather poor for a hotel of that standard, and not good value. We went in to the village most days instead. There were several resturants offering really good food at reasonable prices. we can particularly recommend La Boheme and L'Angelus, both in the Grande Rue just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I spent one night in this hotel back in 2011 for a business trip. Apparently, I was very lucky beacuse I was given a suite, not just a normal room... I can say that room was bigger than the flat where I live! Every part of the hotel - rooms, even the regular ones, the exterior, the reception, the restaurants and the common areas - is very nicely furnished and decorated. Not cold luxury, but warm design.
I also remember my bed was extremely comfortable. Room was quiet, so I had a perfect sleep and, overall, a perfect stay. Thumbs up for the courtesy kit in the bathroom, the powerful hairdrier and the modern powershower (my room had both shower and bathtub).

Me and my colleagues also enjoyed one of the two restaurants of the hotel and the food was superb (being Italian, I take food quite seriously but I can tell you !quality" can define both food and accomodation at Les Pleiades).

In case you don't speak French, the owner of the hotel also speaks a very good English.

PS:
Location is very close to one edge of the forest of Fontainebleau (few minutes walking). If you have a chance to do it, I suggest you visit the forset by night with some guided tour. They provide you with a pocket torch and a guide takes you inside the wood. If you are lucky enought (as we were) you can spot some deers or foxes hiding in the dark :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin_in_desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After having been recommended Hotel Les Pleiades by friends from London, my wife and I decided to go and try it ourselves - and we are so happy we did. We had a fantastic few days and very much enjoyed the stay. Many factors contributed added to the good experience from a very attentive and outgoing staff, phenomenal food in the Michelin star restaurant, spacious rooms, plus the many experiences we had in the area including visiting Napoleon's castle in Fontainebleau, window shopping at the many art galleries, playing 18 holes at the nearby golf course while a day of shopping in Paris, I believe only 50km away from the Hotel. We had a fabulous time and the fact that it took us a mere 40 minutes to get there from Orly Airport makes it a place we will visit again next time we need a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites - they are quite cool and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barbizon
0.1 mi away
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
#1 of 3 in Barbizon
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
LAU'BERGE de la Cle d'Or
#3 of 3 in Barbizon
23 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Demeure du Parc
La Demeure du Parc
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
114 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
256 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Pleiades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Pleiades

Property: Hotel Les Pleiades
Address: 21 Grande rue, 77630 Barbizon, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Barbizon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barbizon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Pleiades 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Pleiades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing