We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Reviewed 2 June 2012

After reading reviews i was not expecting much, but had a nice surprise as this hotel is very good. We were warned by review and our Tour director of problems with theft, but no one on our tour had problems. The room was clean, comfortable, with a safe, jug and fridge. The breakfast was OK BUT dont try the scrambled eggs!! There is a shopping complex just beside the hotel and other shops across the road. The location was a 10-15 min walk to La Defense Station (we did not look for the shuttle bus) which is at the end of metro on that line. La Defense is a modern part of Paris and not seedy as I had expected from one of the reviews. The Metro is very quick and cheap- especially if you buy in groups of 10, giving good access to Paris. La Defense has pedestrian access above the street level and the station complex can be confusing, but easy to remember as it has a large steel arch at the end where the metro access is. There is a lovely carousel with a Jules Verne theme.This large modern arch is in line with the Arc d' Triumph and the Arch at the end of the Louvre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed last week in this hotel for a business trip at la Defense. Comfortable room, smiling and helpful staff (not in every french hotel :-) !!!), good wifi access and quality breakfast.
Access from cdg airport is almost direct and easy with Cielos airport shuttle (premium service for 23€, try it !) which dropped me at 50m from the underground station where I took the hotel free shuttle. Get to the hotel a couple of minutes later. Combination of those two shuttle services (airport and local) is very convenient and smooth.
I clearly recommend this hotel at the edge of la Defense business district.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feed-back with us.
We are glad to read that you have tried the shuttle service and it was useful.
Looking forward to welcmoing you again soon,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Very much a business hotel in the La Defense lacking pretty much any character. For a "holiday stay" in Paris i would recommend being in down town. That said the room rate here is reasonable and the room / bathroom has space to swing a cat which cannot be taken for granted in Central Paris. The hotel runs a shuttle to the nearby la Defense metro / RER station, to walk it is around 15 minutes. There are a couple of half decent local restaurants if you cannot face the trek into central Paris. For that journey by the way the RER train is by far the quickest. Cabs back in the evening will be around €15. La Defense station is an unattractive concrete maze and extremely busy during rush hour. Note that regular metro tickets do not work on the RER service to la Defense (they are accepted on the slower Metro line1), You need to buy a "carnet" of tickets at la Defense to be sure you have the correct ticket type,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
We also have a restaurant "Le Bistrot de l'Echanson" at your disposal on the ground floor and may be next time, you will try it ?
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Sincerey yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is one of those hotels, where there's nothing wrong but just don't expect anything special. Staff is Ok, breakfast Ok (17EUR), internet bit slow and the location is Ok, be prepared to walk 15mins to the La Defense Grand Arche metro station.

Some rooms have a view of Eiffel Tower, others don't.

The rooms are of good size and not that expensive by Parisian standards (I was told).

It's good place to stay if you have work near La Defense, but takes only 15mins to get to Champs-Élysées.

I wouldn't mind staying there again, if I have any work near La Defense. It had lots of package tourists coming in from what I could see.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyNotCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you are on business in La Defense then this Mercure is a safe choice. Clean but smallish rooms. Good breakfast, OK restaurant (I would suggest La Brantome across the street and towards La Defense as a better place to eat), walking distance to La Defense (10 mins).
If on the other hand you are visiting Paris as a tourist then I would not take this one. Too far from the metro and any kind of night life. You would be better off taking one of the hotels closer to the action, especially at the prices they ask. Staff is very friendly and helpful, so a star for them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with us,
Looking forxard to welcomniog you again,

Sincerely yours,

the hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is a bit far from city center. The shuttle is quite convenient although could not see direction on arrival. The gate was closed. Room is small but clean. Bathroom design not efficient.
Water spilled onto floor each time when showering. Hope managment will fix the problem
e.g adding shower curtain. I paid a reasonable price for my stay. very good value. May prefer to stay a little closer to city ( but depending on price as well). Supermarket is almost next door, very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeopenerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is best described as functional, resembling all the comforts of a youth hostel. The staff vary from mildly pleasant to indifferent. The rooms are small, bathrooms cramped and decor is basic.

The bed I had in both rooms was too soft. There was a TV with satellite channels - a few English ones included. A desk was available along with a chair and a separate table. The hotel has free internet that can be used but it's quite slow.

I have stayed in a regular room and a prestige room - the only differences were that the Prestige room is higher up in the building (not a big deal in a 9 storey building) and you get a bath robe - all for a very small Euro 50 extra!

The rooms are B&B, with breakfast being self service in the dining room on the ground floor. There's a tiny bar manned until about 1am. I don't believe the restaurant serves dinner but there are options outside the hotel. There are Chinese, Turkish, French, Italian and take away options for eating out, a supermarket in the scruffy shopping centre next door and a few other odds and ends nearby. The local McDonalds has security guards outside!

We ate at a French restaurant one of the nights and it was the worst meal we had. The dishes were poor quality, everything came with chips and the service was terrible.

This is most definitely not a tourist area, the La Defense 5 business complex is about 10 mins walk away - where the area is a lot nicer, the shops better and a few more things to do. Also at La Defense 5 is the Metro station which will take you into Paris. The journey takes about 20-30 minutes depending on where you're going.

Room Tip: none of the rooms are great, the hotel is circular so there's no sides to be located on possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sav_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Assistante de Direction at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
We are sorry that you did not like your stay in this area of Paris La Défense;

The price for a Privilege room is 30€ and you have much more than described, a refrigirator full of soft drinks at your free disposal, a coffee machine for "expresso", and several amenities, etc.

We also have a restaurant which is opened from Sunday, at dinner time until Friday after lunch time. We have a large choice of dishes and we change the choice every 5 weeks.

We will do our best to make your next stay enjoyable with us and to show you that we can do much better,

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range: £68 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing