We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Value for Money”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rooms are very small, bathroom you can hardly fit inside & an Internet that keeps cutting & asking for information & password every 2-3 minutes. Very frustrating indeed.
Paid € 205 per night for something worth less than € 60-80 at most.
Staff uncooperative & inattentive to concerns & requests.
After paying € 205 & get nervous breakdown from disconnecting Internet, next morning no breakfast as part of room fare. For a very simple breakfast that wouldn't quench any hunger you have to pay € 8!!!!!!!
The beauty of Paris simply spoiled by this stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are sorry that you did not get what you have expected in the price, it seems that we need to better inform our guests about services provided in the prices.
Looking forward to welcome you again, we will do our best to make your stay a success,
Sincerely yours

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    514
    334
    100
    33
See reviews for
200
263
85
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Now don't get me wrong - this is a perfectly serviceable hotel - and conveniently located for La Defense business locations. But it could be so much more!

Let's deal with the good things:
Room, whilst compact, was comfortable - the new bedding, especially the pillows - excellent. I had a privilege room - which really only means a few free soft drinks in the in-room fridge - a big deal is made of providing dressing gown, iPod base station, etc. - the sort of thing you'd expect anyway. But perfectly serviceable - and a big plus - in room safe - good piece of mind.

What detracts from this may seem fussy but when travelling for business (as I do a lot) I need somewhere to sit and work - the desk space was non-existent, with the desk area full of TV, iPod base and coffee facilities. The chair and table in the room too low and too 'uncomfortable' to use for long periods. No in room ironing equipment - had to go 7 floors down and use a communal room - no impossible, but not expected.

Restaurant provided a nice but limited menu - but didn't compel me to eat there again after the first night (I ate out second night).

And apart from 2 very helpful individuals, not much in the way of helping the non-French speaker - so struggled with certain services and requirements.

Like I said, this may sound picky - but for 2 nights it was "OK". Will stay here again soon and see if things change. We'll see.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We will do our best to give you better satisfaction next time,
We will reopen the restaurant soon with full dishes ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoeselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I needed a room one day before departure, and although my first preference Pullmann was already fully booked, the Pullmann staff, being part of the Accor group, got me a room at the nearby Mercure hotel at a reasonable rate for such a short notice.

Upon arrival, the parking was not obviously located, and although fully secured the access to the hotel did feel uncomfortable and not well signed. Once in the hotel, it's interior felt a bit outdated or at least not Pullmann-class, but then again I was not paying Pullmann-prices. Check-in went quick and I was assigned a room on the top floor.

The room did not feel outdated and was very comfortable. The air conditioning allowed extreme temperatures, so my room was comfortably cooler than the hot outdoor city heat. There were enough power outlets, but I wish I had brought a small ethernet cable because the free internet had a bad reception in my room. Once aligned, speeds were acceptable though and I managed to get the last versions of my presentations set up.

In the room there was a free bottle of water. There was no minibar, but next to the check-in desk there was a 24h little shop set up with cooled drinks and snacks. I bought a can of pop and cooled it together in the little fridge in the room.

The bathroom with bathtub was clean and water pressure was good and warm. Soap and conditioner was available, although the twist-caps were a bit hard to open with wet hands.

Check-out was quick during morning traffic. I mentioned the parking was full secured, but noticed that I could open the main gate easily with pushing a button, and access to the parking lot by foot was not secured, so in essence anyone with enough time and curiosity could gain access to the parking and leave with any vehicle. He/she would need to pay to leave the parking, but both paying gates were open and therefore parking was free.

Room Tip: The fitness is on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as they are very useful.
We are lokking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

First impression is always the most important. So when a terribly rude lady attended to us at check-in, I am sure that the stay would be our very first and probably the last as well. We reserved a suite for our family of four, with a double bed and a sofa bed. Objectively, the room is alright, except for the shower area. There is no curtain or screen at the bath and the toilet gets really wet and sticky after a shower. Breakfast at the restaurant was nice though. But the hotel is not at the most convenient location and we had to rely on the shuttle service to get to the nearest train station. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheroiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us
Be sure that we will do our best to make your next stay enjoyable,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courbevoie hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is quite good nice rooms which were clean. The rooms are not huge but ok for your needs. No fridge in the room but coffee making facilities. The hotel is next to a shopping centre which has a super market and various other shops. It is about a 10-15 min walk to the metro or the hotel has a shuttle to the metro. La Defense is on line 1 which is the same line as Arc de Triumph. The hotel is on the out skirt of the centre of Paris. It cost 12-50 euro in a taxi from arc de Triumph.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLC146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Paris la Défense 5,

Lokking forward to welcoming your shortly,

Sincerely yours

The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I regularly stay at the Mercure - 18 nights so far this year. I was there for 4 nights this week so thought I would provide an updated review. The hotel is somewhat dated, but the rooms are clean, generally quiet although small. The windows can be a bit drafty sometimes, but depends on the room. The hotel seems to have a huge number of tourists with several coaches parked outside each night. Due to this the elevators can be very busy in the mornings and evenings, especially as they are refurbishing them right now; this seems like a job that should have been done in the winter months.

On this stay I was given a 'privilege' room; added extras being iPod dock, espresso maker, free soft drinks in the minibar, and bath robe. There are plenty of restaurants nearby ranging from McD and Chicken Best (KFC without the brand!) through bistros, to top quality dining. This is good as the restaurant in the hotel is best avoided - food OK, service poor. There is a large shopping mall next to the hotel with a number of places you can take breakfast if you want to avoid the normal high hotel costs. There is also an ATM right outside the hotel.

One of the great things about this hotel is free WiFi, it's a bit variable and constantly disconnects, but for email and browsing it's fine. The staff are generally pleasant and check in/out usually efficient; just avoid peak times. All things considered, this is a great hotel for business travellers. It even has a shuttle bus (during peak times) to and from the La Defense RER/Metro station which saves the 15 min walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Havant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as you are a regular guest, and we thank you for your fidelity.
it is important for us to have your feedback as it will help us to provide you a better service and quality; Thanks for your appreciation.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense
Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing