We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of April whilst my husband was working in La Defense. As we could not get a room in his hotel, after reading reviews, this seems like a nice option. The staff were pleasant, there was a lovely American girl on the front desk who was very sweet and helpful. The room itself however did not live up to a 4 star hotel's reputation. The beds were rock hard and the pillows just terrible, which made for 2 very uncomfortable nights sleep. The lock on our door also did not appear to be working. After informing reception about this they promptly sent a technician to check the lock out, but didn't seem to know what was going on and just nodded that everything was fine. It wasn't, the lock didn't click shut, just spun loosely around. We didn't feel safe at all being two females on our own. The free shuttle service to the metro was useful and well appreciated as it is over a 10 minute walk into the centre of La Defense. Other than for a business trip, we would not recommend staying in this area for sight seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36Georgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your comments with us,
As you wrote, the technician came immediately in your room to fix the lock, which he did. But if you did not feel safe, you could ask the Duty manager to change room. There is always someone at your disposal at any time to answer your questions or to find solutions to your problems.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel while visiting our niece in La défense. Reception staff very helpful, they gave us a choice of rooms ie high up or lower, they also secured us a room with a view of Paris and the Eiffel tower. Room very clean.. comfortable and exceptional quiet, no noise whatsoever from other rooms. Corridors on occasions smelt a bit stale, but suspect because there are no windows in them. Actual room smelt very fresh and clean. We requested an extra pillow each, which were promptly delivered to our rooms while we were out for dinner. Wifi worked really well on 11th floor. Breakfast good. We didn't know the bowls on table for drinks and asked for cup, which was promptly given to us. Maybe the management need to make this clearer for future guests.
Brilliant stay for one night costing 80 pounds for both of us through accor hotels website, with breakfast and boat trip each. Will recommend and will be back.
Merci beaucoup

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank niblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us,
and we are glad that you appreciate having wifi connection even on the top floors ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely yours,

The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nothing special but good location, had a nice view on the Eiffel Tower. Regarding Breakfast, not a huge choice but really good quality, fresh orange juice, extremely good fruit salad. 2 min walk from a nice swimming pool. Quite happy about our stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank CatPat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here with a coach trip Edwards coaches , very impressed spotlessly clean and comfortable. Even had a fridge which ive not come across before in some more expensive hotels. Breakfast was good but found it unusual that there were no cups available for tea and coffee , when we asked we were told that the bowls on the table , which were cereal bowls were for the tea and coffee?? strange. Would stay here again though as it was very comfortable .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 916June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you tried the french way of having breakfast in bowls, french souvenir !
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Usualy French hotel gruff welcome on reception and not in a very inspiring area, but its better than many in Paris (which has some truly awful high priced hotels).
5 mins walk to the Grande Arche de la Défense, around 40 to the arc de triomphe and some reasonable local restaurants on the doorstep.

Terrible off-hand waiters in the hotel restaurant, but that just Paris hotels. Room are decent size, my double room actually has king bed.. !!!.. Not too bad really, I was pleasantly surprised as Ive stayed in a lot of 200 euro a night paris hotels and this is actually in the top 20%

One point to note is that its TWO building next to each other and only 1 building has the restaurants in it, so make sure you get in the main building..

Well done Mercure....

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, sooooo much quieter.. and make sure your on the main hotel and NOT the apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazyoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Convenient for business travel to La Defense area but surrounding vicinity has limited attractions. Typical European hotel. Rooms are smaller, especially if situated on the inside of the curved building. Bathrooms very compact. Beds were ok, but not on par with "heavenly beds" found in American hotel properties.

Breakfast was highlight with ample selections and attentive service. Dinner was at best average.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank mharad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed as part of a tour group with Edwards Coaches, South Wales. Having read some of the reviews before the trip I wasn't sure what to expect but it was ok. Certainly not a luxury hotel but acceptable. Pehaps because it's early in the year it wasn't busy, no queues for breakfast or the lifts and breakfast was fine as long as you're not expecting a huge choice. The room wasn't big but it was clean as was the bathroom. Enough wardrobe space for two of us and suitcases. The inroom safe was free and we were strongly advised to use it. We had a view of the Eiffel Tower from our room which was on the fourth floor but some rooms have views over blocks of flats. We were lucky but then we didn't go to Paris for the view out of the hotel room window. I would say it's a good choice if you travel on business or like us are part of a tour group but seemed a little far out from central Paris if you were getting around on your own.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Paris La Défense 5,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#8 of 41 in La Defense
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Paris Defense Courbevoie
0.6 mi away
Ibis Paris La Defense Centre
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range: £67 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing