We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Lacked Warmth and Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Lacked Warmth and Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The front desk personnel lacked the warmth expected upon check-in, check-out and throughout the ENTIRE stay. I couldn't figure out whether it was because we were from Hawaii and they felt a cultural barrier exsisted, but it seemed they were uncomfortable with our groups' presence.
Our meals were simple and good. Again, lacking good service. Our room was small but beds were comfortable. We were advised that it was equipped with a kitchen but the "kitchen" was a small utility sink, no microwave, no single burner....cabinets were completely empty, no utensils, dishes,drink glasses... completely non-functional. Wifi was only retrievable in the tiny lobby. The "upside" was our reasonable room rates, but I guess you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tu2L808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Sir,

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    514
    334
    101
    33
See reviews for
200
263
85
459
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Firenze, Italia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

La Defense is a very modern, lively and business centric location in Paris and Mercure is a well known hotels chain but I don't think that the 2 things together necessarily imply a good hotel.
The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the metro.
From the outside the hotel is what you expect it t be, and also the reception area is well organized and welcoming, but I was a bit disappointed for the room and the other facilities, with the exception of the view from the roof.
The room was a bit small and very basic, the bathroom I wouldn't give 3 stars (tiny, with the toilet in a corner behind the door I couldn't lift my elbows without touching the wall both sides).
A small room with just 1 treadmill, 1 cyclette and 1 rowing machine can't be called gym.
The bar is ok, I haven't tried breakfast or other meals because too expensive and nearby there are plenty of shops and cafes.
The wifi was not too stable.
The hotel lacks of a definite style or personality: seems modern from the outside, the corridors are maybe vintage and the rooms with no characteristic trait.
Just because it's Paris it's fearfully expensive but anywhere else people wouldn't accept to pay half those rates for those rooms.
I didn't have any particular need and was out all day so dealt with the staff only at check-in and checkout.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uira_IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
You mention the 10 minutes walk to the metro, and for your information, we propose you a free shuttle service from the hotel to the metro and backwards, every day, 7 days a week, from 6:30 am until midnight ... You may reach the shuttle exit G from the Metro, to the Terminal Jules Verne, Pier 2 (from 6:30 until 9 pm) or Pier 14 (from 9 pm until midnight). You just need to order it by calling the reception.

We are sorry that you did not plenty enjoy the room, and the facilities, the coffee machine in your room, the kettle and plateau coutoisy (with tea and coffe facilities), the minibar, the individual safety deposit box, the TV with mor than 60 channels and radios, free Wifi, etc.

You can also have a free access to the fitness with 5 differents machines (superficy of 80 squere metters), this fitness room with opening windows have also a hammam (steam room) and outside you have a lovely terrace of 127 squerre metters, with solarium and sofas... viewing over la Defense and Paris, the Eiffel Tower, the Sacré Coeur of Montmartre, the Arc de Triomphe, etc. It is a dream when the sun shines.

We would be very pleased to make you discover our "plus" next time. Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend,Mid Glam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights as overnight stays on tour. Very average hotel. Our 'fixed price' menu on both evenings was very similar with no choice. 2nd night 1st course fish and main course fish - no good if your a non fish eater like my husband who was given a bowl of salad leaves as an alternative. They were not happy to do this. Breakfast 2nd morning was 100% better than 1st morning. Beds were comfortable and plenty of hot water for shower. Some staff friendly but unfortunately most were not.

Room Tip: Outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mascarasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel the past week for 2 nights as part of a tour group.

The rooms were clean and tidy, unfortunately that is where the good part ended.
The staff is unfriendly and not helpful at all, almost none of then can speak English. I found this unacceptable that hotel reception personnel can only speak French and then refuse to help.
The breakfast was very basis, but both mornings the cutlery and mug I took were dirty.

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with high hygienic standards and who cannot speak French.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zannenel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Unfortunately it seems that you did not find the right persons... Almost everybody speaks english, it is one of our criteria to hire somebody and also spanish, italian, german, portuguese, etc.
We would like to share lots of nice things with you about Paris,
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courbevoie hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stay at this hotel often due to it being the assigned hotel ( once a month 1 or 2 nights) there are people entering rooms disguised as staff but have room cards that open all rooms probably housekeeping entry cards.. They enter despite having DND signs on the door and valuables have gone missing... And when questioned why they entered quickly vanish stating they are housekeeping...Hotel management is not interested in complaints and dismiss any made..

Numerous collegues rooms have been entered and belongings lost ..which in one case the hotel refunded the value of the item so they know they have a problem

Location is very convenient rooms small but clean and sufficient but the security issue is a major problem

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
As you know, when you stay in a hotel for several nights, the housekeeping has to get into your room to clean the room and also the person in charge of the minibar, etc. Therefore you have met several people from the staff, but not the same person, and you have thought they did not work in the hotel, but they did. The sign Do Not Disturb is very clear, if you put it on the door, nobody enters in yours room, as defined.
We will meet you with pleasure next time during your stay, if you please ask the Manager.
Looking forward to meeting you,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent 3 nights here because the Hilton was fully booked. Upgraded room because I was a Gold memeber but the room was still small and just OK. Rate didnt include breakfast and Gold doesnt help so cant comment. Hotel is 15-20 mins walk from the Business, area but the good thing is they operate a shuttle bus which worked well...i took it in the morning and walked back in the evening. The Hotel bar is dull dont bother..the resteraunt is not particularly good, food OKish but staff seem very stressed, despite there being quite a lot of them compared to diners - there are better places to eat just outside the door. All in all its OK but having now stayed at the Hilton - it seems fairly poor..for a similr price if you book far enough in advance.

Room Tip: Take a short walk out to the local resteraunts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us
Did you have a look from the terrasse on the top floor ? did you go to the fitness ?
There is a wonderful view over Paris, and it is a dream when it is sunny ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again
Sincerely yours
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was recently on a bus tour to Paris with family members. We stayed at this hotel for three nights. It had an inviting lobby and a welcoming helpful staff. The room was bright and clean albeit small. The rooftop provided an excellent view of the city. Breakfast was outstanding with champagne, freshly baked goods, and many hot and cold choices. I found it a bit odd that we were expected to drink our coffee and tea out of large cereal bowls, but, "when in Rome", or in this case France, do as they do n'est-ce pas? The hotel had air conditioning and fast elevators. We had daily wake-up service, free wifi, in room coffee and tea, a safe, and a nice selection of toiletries.

My issues were as follows. We were in a room on the third floor with a broken door lock bar. I'm not certain whether the security lock worked at all. Some of the lower floors appeared to be under renovation, or so a sign said. The brochure stated that ice was available on the 2nd floor. It wasn't. After circling the hotel (it's round) several times, I went to the bar to ask. I was then directed to the 5th floor where the ice was in a hallway for employees. Odd I thought. The worst part of the stay was on Saturday, my third night. There was sawing and metallic clunking well into the post midnight hours. I'm not clear on what it was because I didn't think there could be construction happening that late. This prevented me from having a good sleep.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel. It is close to the city and walking distance to a lovely large shopping centre. Behind the hotel, there is also a small indoor shopping area, good for essentials.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the Eiffel tower. Also, higher rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildetoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure92400, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Paris La Defense, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us,
We are pleased to read that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us, except that noise one night. If this happens again, you can call the Duty manager who stays at your disposal at any time to ensure that you have a good sleep at the hotel; he would have helped you to find a solution : wether tell your neighbor to keep quiet or he could have changed your room ...
Looking forward to welcoming you again, We will do our best to make your stay a pleasure with us,

Sincerely yours,
The hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#6 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#4 of 41 in La Defense
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense
Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing