We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Pay Paris Prices?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why Pay Paris Prices?”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

If you are looking for a good value hotel and don't mind being outside the centre of Paris, then you should definitely consider staying at the Mercure Paris La Defense 5.

OK, technically speaking it is not even in Paris, as the La Defense area falls outside the Paris boundary. However, it is only 3 miles from the Arc De Triomphe/Champs Elysees and there are excellent transportation links to the city centre. Also, if you are feeling energetic you could always walk into Paris, as my wife and I did on more than one occasion during our stay over the Easter weekend.

The hotel itself is a circular building and located not too far from the Grande Arche and Les Quatre Temps shopping centre (about a 10 minute walk). Inside the hotel, there is a modern reception area, which is large and spacious and on the 12th floor there is a fitness room.

Our bedroom was on the 11th floor and it was a reasonable size and compared well with others we have stayed in. In the room was a flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, a safe and if you required it there was free wired internet. The bathroom, like the bedroom, was a good size and very clean.

Breakfast was included in our rate and this is served in the restaurant on the ground floor. There was a good choice of food, which included fresh fruit, cereals, bread/rolls, pastries, cold meats and cheese. There was also a selection of cooked food (bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs) and an egg boiler, which allowed you to boil your own eggs.

All the staff (reception, house keeping, restaurant etc.) we encountered during our stay were polite and very friendly.

OK, if you want to be in the heart of the action, then this is probably not the place for you. However, if you want to save a few euros on the cost of accommodation then this is definitely a winner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    539
    350
    108
    36
See reviews for
206
279
88
489
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This hotel was good and you got a descent free breakfast...

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We booked this hotel on line and got a bargain. We booked it for two nights over the weekend whilst travelling back to the UK, and stopped over to explore a little of Paris.
It was a great hotel. Very comfortable, staff were very friendly and gave us a room overlooking the Eiffel Tower and the city of Paris. We had a room on the eight floor, it was good everything you needed. The only downfall, was there was not enough hot water for two short showers and the water went cold very quickly. There is shuttle bus service ran by the hotel, which runs every 30 mins each way. This is great after you have been walking around Paris. You can walk to Le Defence train station which takes 10 mins or less depending on how fast you walk. We did receive a city pack which was good with a map of Paris, and all the metro lines that ran to all the sights near by. Two bottles of much needed water and breakfast bars to keep you going. Breakfast was brilliant, the best since we had been in France. You a large selection and could fill your boots up, that would last you all day, as we did not eat again until 8:30 pm that night. The restaurant is not open a the weekends for evening meals, but there are plenty of restaurants near by. AVOID the Chinese next to the Pizzeria on the corner, service quick, food terrible but cheap and nasty if you have a set menu.
GOOD- The Pizzeria very nice food, the man who served us comical in a Basil Faulty way, but he is lovely, very laid back atmosphere with lovely homemade food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnySuffolkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Michielsgestel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Large one-in-a-dozen hotel with mixed business and pleasure (schools) guests. No-nonsense relaxed atmosphere, good value for money, free internet.
Located on the edge of office and living district near mall.
Nice brasserie a little further across the street.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Our stay in Mercure was marked with utmost disappointment for the service handling and attitude by the floor manager in attendance. As tourists in a foreign land, we can only count on a few people to make our stay in Paris bearable. One of them would be the hotel staff. Our room which has a "Pls Do not Disturb" sign placed outside was practically ransacked with four expensive merchandises missing from the room. To this, the floor manager explained that a sub-contracted chambermaid has entered our room to do routine checks. When questioned why routine checks can lead to four bags missing from the room, the floor manager challenge our claims instead. He said that there can be no proof that our items went missing in the hotel despite the fact that we have actually produced receipts of the purchases. This was the most horrible remark that one can make to someone whose items were stolen and was then in a panic to find out what went wrong. There could be more empathy and help rendered here but we were given none. In fact, the floor manager did not even pass us his name card when asked. The shoffy treatment caused us further distress as we were not even allow to ensure that the hotel has began investigation to the theft.

This encounter could have been made more bearable if we were given more assistance from the hotel. We are very disappointed =((

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank pixiegixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courbevoie hotels

Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Very efficient Front of House staff, good breakfast offering. try and get a room on a high floor if you want a quiet room. There is a mini gym with good equipment and a turkish sauna/steam room. No swim wear is the order of the day, just towels. There is no changing areas so just undress in the rest area and enter the sauna. Not really good for shy types!!
Room was not big but had all the necessary things including FREE WiFi access.
Provide a FREE shuttle every 30 minutes to the Rail Station in the morning
Hotel is built over a shopping centre and across the road is a 'High Street' with a range of restuarants and shops (from McDonalds to Japanese) Beware as most of the restuarants do not open until 7PM for food
Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,757 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
884 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fraser Suites Harmonie Paris La Defense
0.5 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
1,486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense
Address: 18 rue Baudin | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense 4*
Number of rooms: 507
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 se situe dans le quartier des affaires de La Defense, a seulement 10 minutes en metro du centre de Paris. Les chambres disposent de la climatisation, d'une television par satellite a ecran plat et d'un plateau de bienvenue. Certaines sont dotees d'une machine a expresso et d'un minibar avec des boissons gratuites. L'etablissement propose une connexion Wi-Fi illimitee gratuite ainsi qu'un service de navette entre l'hotel et la station de metro Grande Arche de la Defense. Vous pourrez profiter du centre de remise en forme ou du hammam puis vous detendre dans le bar de l'hotel. Le restaurant Le Bistrot de L'Echanson sert une cuisine francaise traditionnelle. Le Mercure Paris La Defense 5 possede des salles de reunions et un centre d'affaires. Il se trouve a seulement 10 minutes du Centre des nouvelles industries et technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense 5 Hotel Courbevoie
Mercure Hotel Courbevoie
Paris La Defense 5 Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing