We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for budget travelers, not recommened otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for budget travelers, not recommened otherwise”
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Stayed here for 2 weeks last summer, mainly b/c of its price and proximity to La Defense (work engagement). The rooms are SMALL and not necessarily clean. The bed cover smelled like BO and the shower stall smelled like urine, even w/ the cleaning pple coming thru daily. The "free" internet hardly worked, if ever.
Breakfast is continental (croissant, rolls, some yogurt, cereal, drinks), which was decent.

If you're looking for cheap, this is the place, but you pay for it. It's ideal if you want to venture into Paris all day and just need a bed to crash on. Otherwise, I'd think twice about it. Getting to the metro can be a hassle--a short bus trip into the cavernous La Defense station (a blessing and a curse).

On the upside, there's a supermarket across the street and it's relatively quiet.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank musketeer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    72
    82
    65
    49
See reviews for
49
75
34
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We booked this hotel because it was near our other hotel we were staying at in the area, as well as for the price (70 euros).

Upon arrival we found that the cleaning agent or something else made the entire hallway smell like pickles. The smell seemed worse while the cleaning staff were in the hall, and was very apparent after walking in from outside - you get used to the small while in the room.

The room was a good size, and included a stove, plates, fridge etc. No ac, so may not be as comfortable depending on when you stay, it was only 19 degrees while we were in Paris.

There was a pool, which was not being used so we swam for a bit alone.

Aside from the bad odor I would recommend the hotel, but that is enough to keep me away from this hotel the next time.

The other citea's would be your best bet in this price range.

  • Liked — The kitchen was great for cooking hot meals
  • Disliked — The smell was horrible, and my pillow was very uncomfortable.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Courbevoie hotels

Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2007

You get what you pay for
April 2007
Family of 2 adults and 2 children

My family stayed there over the easter holidays and the rooms are very small, however that is fairly typical of european city hotels. The room had a kitchinette (small), but since we booked a "suite" it had 2 levels which made it much more bearable with 2 children. The hotel and the room was clean, with plenty of hot water. One comment about the water was that it was very very hot and merly touching the tap could lead to a burn!

The hotel is officially 2 stars and that is what we expected and got. The area around La Defence is very nice and there is a supermarket just over the road from the hotel plus a number of other shops.

La Defence metro is about 10 mins walk and it will cost you 1.40 euros for a single metro ticket, a book of ten is better value or a day pass. The Paris visite ticket is expensive compared to the others. One tip is there is only ever one person selling tickets in the kiosk at any metro station (no matter how busy it is !!) so try and use the ticket machines (remember to scroll down to get all the screen info!!) or you will wait in queues.

A tip for the louve - if it is very busy at the ticket offices look at the sides of them as there are credit card ticket machines - no one uses them and it can save a lot of time just using these.

From CDG we got the RER B line to Chalet (Les Hales) - it took around 25 minutes, then transferred to the M1 (yellow) line to La Defence. It cost 8.5 euros each compared to the various bus serivices (18.5 euros each) and much faster access into paris centre.

One word of warning I had my mobile phone stolen from my room. No sign of a break in and the receptionist confirmed that it has happened before. DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING OF VALUE IN YOUR ROOM. Spent 2 hours in the local police station filing a report.

Overall Paris is a fantastic city with so much to see. This is a good base to stay to get out of the "intensity" of central paris. It is a good budget hotel and you get what you pay for - but look after your valuables.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Fordy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2007

I don't know about you but I normally have to pay substantial extra charges in hotels for internet access and meals. But the fact that this hotel has completely free wifi AND a kitchenette (small electric hob, microwave and fridge) makes this a great place for me to stay! The room is below average, but it is clean.
A few hints;
1/ If you need to rent a wireless modem for your laptop you need to leave a 200 euro deposit.
2/ The best local supermarket is Auchan. It's huge and much cheaper than the local convenience stores (called alimentation generale in France). This is in Les Quatre Temps shopping mall located next to the metro station 'la defense'. Just next to the big arch.
3/ The hotel is easy to find, look for 'avenue gambetta' on the various maps at la defense and go to the end of that. It's on the left at 'place charras'.
4/ You'll need a few supples such as washing up liquid and a cloth. a cleaning kit is available fot 4 euros at reception. Oh, and probably most importantly is that they had a sort of, manual coffee filter machine but make sure you pick up some filters and ground coffee for it!
5/ They do clean your room every morning. That's cool but I like a lie in so expect them to ring at about half nine ten and then just tell them to go away!

The only thing that prevents me from giving five stars is the location (ten minutes away from metro and in the business district) and the smaller than average double bed. Oh, and the lack of air conditioning will be an issue but I was there in February so no problem!

  • Liked — Kitchenette, wifi AND pool
  • Disliked — Location, smallish bed
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank capitalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

Just come back from a trip to Paris, and a 6 day stay at Citea La Defense/Charras with our just toddling baby.
Yes, La Defense is a different side to Paris, and if it was my first visit I'd have been disappointed, but it has a lot to offer-a spacious feel, a fantastic night skyline, a big shopping mall with all the chains- great kids clothes- and a Auchan hypermarket, cinemas, and always loads of people around on weekdays. The area felt safe at all times.
Using the Metro- a quick and direct trip back into central tourist areas- remember that your single ticket is valid to La Defense (Zone 3), but not on the RER. In the ticket hall concourse there is one entrance area into the Metro, the rest are for the RER etc, which is why you may find your ticket doesn't work, so look for the sign above when entering!! There is a lift that you can take from Metro platform to ticket hall- it is near the departure platform, or you can open a gate using your ticket on one side of the Metro entrance to enter and go down the escalator, but NOT to exit ,unless a passing passenger takes pity on you on the outside and swipes their travelcard, so use the lift if you have large luggage or a pushchair and are exiting.
Walk towards exit F or G (in the direction of the bus station), and when you get upstairs, walk under the red arch, down the ramp and the road below is rue Gambetta. You will need to cross into the middle walkway for the first part of the street, and then rue Bitche is on the left, at place Charras, where there is a children's playground. There is another aparthotel on the same side just before you get to Citea. It was tricky to find our way out of La Defense the first time, so its worth noting there are area maps on boards on the main esplanade.
We found reception pleasant, with good English and efficient service (lights which didn't work were replaced the next morning and they brought us a new looking cot for the baby unasked and straight away, refusing a tip). Our room had a fantastic view back to the Grand Arch, and we couldn't hear any of our neighbours. In late September the lack of aircon was not a problem- however the windows opened directly above the bed in our room and the risk of falling out to a small active child was high, so we had to keep them closed. The room wasn't spotlessly clean, but it was acceptable- the main issue was the carpet could have done with a clean, and the peeling ceiling in the bathroom which had no venting. The bathroom was otherwise clean, and so was the kitchen area- a big plus-fridge, microwave, utensils and bed linen. We had our rooms cleaned daily, if you are there for more than a week you can choose to save money and skip the cleaning. The only English TV channel was Sky News.
The main shopping street for the Courbevoie area is just around the corner, with lots of specialist food shops, looking in the other direction you'll be reminded you are in Paris with a view across to the Eiffel Tower.
The shopping centre across the road has a Champion supermarket and a Paul bakery, as well as a variety of small shops. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, even McDonalds.
If you have visited Paris before, and are looking for a cheap holiday where you feel less like a tourist, and especially if you have kids, I would definitely recommend this aparthotel.

  • Liked — The kitchenette, the area
  • Disliked — finding it the first time
  • Tips/Secrets — study all the directions given on Trip Advisor for the 1st time, after that it is easy!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JemimaPDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2006

We booked this hotel with 3 other couples for a nice bank holiday weekend break! What a mistake! The rooms are like prison cells!
The bathrooms were filthy and the breakfast room is so tiny and well.....terrible! We arrived at 11pm at night and couldn't even bear to stay there 1 night let alone 4!
I have visited Paris 3 times and never stayed in La Defense and I never will! It doesn't even feel like Paris! It is an array of high rise modern buildings so if you want to explore Paris and get a feel for it DO NOT STAY HERE! It may be a cheap hotel but it is definitely not cheerful!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — DO NOT STAY HERE!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank as_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

I had previously stayed in a Citea residence in Nice and loved it. This one however did not live up to my expectations. It was quite difficult to find on foot. Once we got there we were very let down to discover that the pool was shut down. The only explanation was that it wasnt working (in 95 degree weather!)
However, the hotel is in a nice area. We felt safe to walk at night and it is a short walk to the metro. There are plenty of grocery stores and restaurants around. The internet is very close too.

  • Liked — kitchenette
  • Disliked — pool not working / no AC
  • Tips/Secrets — Get directions ahead of time
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank paris_luver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courbevoie
0.7 mi away
Adagio Access La Defense Leonard de Vinci
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio La Defense Kleber
0.7 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio La Defense Courbevoie
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Courbevoie Paris la Defense 1
0.5 mi away
Adagio La Defense Esplanade
Adagio La Defense Esplanade
#22 of 41 in La Defense
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras

Property: Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras
Address: 1 rue de Bitche | Place Charras, 92400 Courbevoie, La Defense, France (Formerly Citea La Defense - Charras)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Courbevoie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Courbevoie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras 2*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Access La Defense Place Charras Hotel Courbevoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing