We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop over to visit the Palace of Versailles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Le Chesnay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night stop over to visit the Palace of Versailles”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is a little dated but well maintained and comfortable. We stayed one night with a toddler and the spacious room was equipped with cot (as requested). The staff were lovely and spoke perfect English. They gave our little boy a small toy to play with on arrival, which was a nice touch.

WIFI was free in rooms. Although they gave you a kettle to use, they could have provided more than two servings of coffee in paper cups. We parked overnight for a fee of €12, which is fine, but note that there is no lift from the underground carpark so if you do have heavy luggage then drop off bags before you park the car.

The Palace of Versailles is a 15-20minute walk away and we found location very handy. Overall the hotel satisfied our needs for a one-night stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek_Power1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you met your expectations during your stay at Novotel Château de Versailles. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit in Paris or Versailles. Novotel Château de Versailles’s team wishes you great summer holidays.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    408
    140
    65
    13
See reviews for
418
199
25
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting friends in Versailles. The service is good, staff attentive and friendly. Restaurant for dinner and breakfast adequate choice and good quality.
Hotel is quite old and facilities are dated and could be better.
The hotel is lcated on a busy/noisy road,and parking/stopping close to it is difficult; the garage is expensive and has no lift so you have to carry your luggage up a steep flight of narrow stairs.
Climate control in the rooms is poor...little ventilation and with the windows open noise makes sound sleep impossible...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and consideration in posting a comment about our hotel. I thank you for sharing your good opinion on staff and on Breakfast & Dinner. However I am deeply sorry that you did not like the facilities. The well-being of our guests is very important to us, and we are sorry when we don’t succeed in giving you satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards.

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We’ve stayed in several Novotel properties, our experience with this one was the worst of the lot. Upon arrival we were hungry and asked the young man at the front desk where we could grab a casual lunch, he suggested several fast food restaurants located just a 5 to 10 minute walk away, and gave us a map. It turned out it was more like a brisk 45-minute hike, which left us exhausted by the time we got back to the hotel. Lesson 1: Versailles is HUGE what might look like a short distance on the map, can be quite a hike.

When we got back to the hotel, I collapsed into the coach, which looked the same as the other Novotel coaches we had seen on our trip. My elbow dropped on to the armrest only to discover that they had nothing more than a bit of cloth covering the hide-a-bed mechanism. The impact injured my elbow, necessitating a trip to the clinic, a splint, meds, and generally reducing enjoyment of the rest of the trim (recovery time 3 weeks). After looking into this, I determined that other Novotel hotels had added a layer of padding onto their coachs, no doubt to prevent such accidents. Lesson 2: Don’t assume all things Novotel are as safe as others.

The hotel has parking just a quick left turn from the lobby, unfortunately, it’s on a one way street making left turns illegal. Getting to the parking requires driving around an enormous block, though it is right turns all the way. Getting into the parking lot requires pressing an intercom and asking for the gate to be opened and then quikly driving in. Unfortunately, the intercom is located far from the gate down a steep winding driveway. I had to try three times before I could get my car through the gate before it closed again. Lesson 3: Be prepared to race in/out through the gate after asking for it to open.

The hotel helpfully has a loading/unloading zone right in front of the lobby where cars can stop. Unfortunately, they allow people to long term park in the space, so their was no where to legally stop to unload for check in. We had to double park. Lesson 4: Illegal parking is a way of life at this place.

If I were to return to Versailles I would choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Beware the unpadded arms of couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you got lost in Versailles. Versailles is quite big; this is why we give maps to guests. You got injured by collapsing on the sofa. I will see what we can do to make it softer. To secure the parking, getting into the parking lot requires pressing an intercom and asking for the gate to be opened and then driving in. The intercom is located at the top of the ramp, so that cars can cross easily. The door remain open 20 seconds, it is usually enough to pass.
I am sorry that you meet all this problems during your stay, and I do hope that in spite of these issues you will still be a Novotel client.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Family stay last August (3 adults) in 2 double rooms. We wanted to see the Palace so we stayed at the hotel for just 2 nights.

It is a bit old and tired and the one particular thing I hated was the smelly cushions on the bed, not nice and no excuse.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. We had 2 superior double rooms which included tea/coffee maker plus mini-bar and a double bed and sofa bed plus the usual satellite tv and free wifi. The rooms were of good size and additional pillows were available. Windows of old style so you could open them right out. We faced over the back of the hotel towards a private road with flats (nice quality).

Lovely walk to the palace and there is a shop near the hotel (across the road from the main entrance) and it is open until late as is a small bistro. Buses also from this location to the palace etc.

The Palace is vast but lots of queing and so on but very impressive.

I didn't like the food at dinner at the hotel at all I'm afraid. The steaks were not of good quality or cooked to my standards. Prices too high for what is available. Breakfast is fine though nip down early to avoid the rush.

In spite of the downs I generally liked the hotel, the parking on site is good although there is no lift to take your bags up!

You pays your money......

Room Tip: They do have some smoking rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveBeenAndSeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles last year. I am disappointed that you did not totally enjoy your stay with us and I shared all your comments with our teams. I read your comments carefully and took good notice of them, it is always constructive for us to have the feedback of our guests and we appreciate you took the time to give it.
Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beziers, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Staff friendly and helpful, car park reasonably priced, good choice of hot and cold food for breakfast. Rooms average standard, hotel located a good 20 minute walk from palace of Versailles but fine if like us you don't mind a walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 923Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Chateau de Versailles and thank you for your nice comment. The castle is 1.5 km (1 mile) away from the hotel and the way, surrounded by trees, that leads to the castle is usually appreciated by our clients.

We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Versailles or Paris.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz In Rome
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the hotel for a night, visiting Versailles palace. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minutes walk to the palace. The room was quiet and clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank J_in_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your family trip at Novotel Chateau de Versailles. The cleanliness, the proximity of the Palace of Versailles, and our friendly staff are indeed our strengths. We are happy for having coming up to your expectations. We would be glad to welcome you again for your next stay.

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I have been in a lot of novotels in my time and this was one of the nicest. The reception and dining area looked as if they were from a far more expensive hotel and the exterior architecture fitted in harmoniously with the Versailles buildings. Although the address is Le Chesnay it is actually quite central and a 15 minute walk down a beautiful boulevard takes you to the gates of the chateau. I noticed another english speaking customer had a problem with the "2 single beds" advertized. I know that novotel family rooms usually have a double and a sofa bed and was looking forward to a different type of room with 2 single beds in it. However it was the usual double and a sofa bed, a single one in our case as we were only 3. It wasn't really a problem as the room was very comfortable but it was just the usual novotel room and would have been squashed for 4. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent, really fresh. As we travelled on the weekend we could park free in the road but there is no free carpark at the novotel, only a paid underground one. The main reason why I have given 4 rather than 5 stars is that the lift was really noisy and woke us up in the morning. Looking through other reviews I think this was probably just our room, so I would recommend future guests to ask for a room as far from the lift as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for one far from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollypolooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BONOMOJ, General Manager at Novotel Chateau de Versailles, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Novotel Chateau de Versailles and for your nice comments. We are very proud that Novotel Chateau de Versailles is your favorite Novotel! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the quality of the services provided by our hotel. I forwarded your remark about the lift to our technical department.

Waiting for the pleasure of your next visit,

Sincerely,

J.BONOMO
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Chesnay
0.5 mi away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
483 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#11 of 26 in Versailles
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
1.0 mi away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Chateau de Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Chateau de Versailles

Property: Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Address: 4 boulevard Saint Antoine | BP 88 Cedex, 78150 Le Chesnay, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles > Le Chesnay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Le Chesnay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Chateau de Versailles 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Château de Versailles is a 3-star hotel located 10 minutes from the city center and the Palace of Versailles and 9.3 miles (15 km) from Paris. It has air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant, bar and 5 conference rooms for meetings and seminars (maximum capacity of 150 people). A private, paying car park is also available. This hotel is ideal for both business trips and visits to Versailles or Paris with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Chateau de Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Chateau De Versailles Hotel Le Chesnay
Novotel Le Chesnay
Novotel Hotel Le Chesnay
Le Chesnay Novotel
Novotel Chateau De Versailles Le Chesnay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing