We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Luffenham”
Review of The Fox

The Fox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 July 2018

How lucky is this village to have such a lovely pub! First visit for us and we were very impressed. We sat outside on a lovely evening for dinner. Ordered at the bar and the two waitresses were so helpful and professional it was a joy. I wanted a slightly amended order.......no problem at all. Drinks brought out to us and then our food which was delicious. Well presented and tasty. The pub was busy, lots of local people, I am not surprised , such a joy to have a place like this. Will definitely be back. And full marks to the waiting staff who have been so well trained in customer service, Thank you

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank jenny_rogers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Delicious food and friendly helpful staff. Not to be missed. We so enjoyed..we returned the following evening. Highly recommended. Enjoyed drinks in the sun before going into the informal restaurant to eat. Blade of beef was scrummy!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 182elerij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We booked a table here last minute and they were very accommodating. They had a great vegan selection, which seems to be rare in smaller towns and villages, so I was very impressed.

Everything was beautifully presented and the chocolate dessert was lush!

I would have taken pictures but I couldn't wait to dig in. I'd recommend this place for anyone who likes a quaint setting and great food!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank annamo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Called here last Saturday after reading a trip advisor review
We were not disappointed good was very yummy with lots of choice. Certainly worth a visit if you are in the area of Rutland Water.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

After an energy-sapping cycle trip round Rutland Water, Tripadvisor was checked for a local good pub recommendation - spot on! A very welcoming, recently-renovated village pub which boasted several real ales from an Oakham brewery and a comprehensive gastropub menu. Service was very welcoming and the 'Cunning Fox' ale simply superb. The menu choice- the house beefburger with chips and sauces - was well-presented, well cooked, and a very tasty treat. The ambience was warm but also pleasantly calming. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable post-exercise repast that left a very pleasant memory - time to schedule another visit!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank SolarPanelPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox also viewed

Braunston-in-Rutland, Oakham
 

Been to The Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing