We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopelessly ugly hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Mercure Paris La Defense Parc is outside Paris (you pay extra fair), far away even from La Defense and is located in a pretty unsafe area!!! Hotel itself is worn out and tastelessly decorated. It feels more like office than hotel. On top of all this trains are running beneath the hotel every 15 min at least till midnight!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emaxphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Good, Comfortable, modern hotel....located on the outskirts of Paris..
Bonus points - Rooms are clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was brilliant, catered for everyone’s needs, an assortment of meats and cheeses, fruits, yoghurts, bacon, sausage, eggs, pastries, as well as pancakes and waffles and fruit juices etc

As you walk out of the hotel and the underground is literally on the doorstep, enabling you to get into and around Paris really easily! You can buy one and two day passes for the underground that include the different regions of you can travel too. I would suggest that you try and familiarise yourself with the different lines and areas of Paris as this will help you immensely with getting around.

Downside...because the hotel is located in the Business Quarter and we arrived on Friday and left on Monday a lot of restaurants were closed! There are a couple of little Cafe Bars open - but be warned, there is a pizza place located just around the corner from the hotel - that is a little on the Fawlty Towers side to say the least.

All in all though, a brilliant base!

Room Tip: The Hotel does have some mini suites that has 2 bedrooms and kitchenette facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I have been to Paris 14 times and I would say this is my favorite budget-friendly place to stay. Just a few steps outside of the hotel you will find an ATM, a bakery, a pharmacy, a small restaurant, a grocery store and most importantly, the metro! It is an easy trip on the metro to anywhere within the 16 neighborhoods of Paris. The rooms are modern and comfortable and I found the reception to be very helpful in every regard. The breakfast was great with an assortment of meats and cheeses as well as pancakes and waffles. We used one of the conference rooms on the second level and it was a nice size for our group of 50. The only downside was that the bar was very small but since there are various cafes in the area it wasn't a big deal. The next time I go back to Paris I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutemomoftwocutekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights last November and 3 more nights just now. The rooms are slightly below average, but luxury compared to the service; it is so appaling I don't even know where to start.

Expect looong waits for check-in and check-out, even with no people in the line; the staff is totally clueless. Forget the restaurant for dinner, nobody's interested in your visit. In fact, don't even think about staying here unless you have to because of the location.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

very comfortable appartments modern decoration very clean.
location is in the center of the buessiness center.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamedghanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed in the "annex" building (i.e the one without Reception) and my room was small, with no desk (good job I wasn't planning to do much work because using my laptop on the bed wasn't easy or comfortable). There was a fridge just parked on the carpet - nothing in it but it was still plugged in and making a loud noise when the compressor switched on. Just after I arrived, I was disturbed by "housekeeping" bringing me a free bottle of mineral water - a nice gesture but why not just leave it ready in the room and avoid disturbing me?

The bathroom was the real unpleasant part of the room - tiles were missing on the floor by the sink pedestal and it was clear that no-one had bothered to clean underneath the sink for a very long time - there was a (used) tissue on the floor which was there when I got there and remained there for my stay. There were also various other stains and marks which could have been cleaned up but obviously hadn't been.

The restaurant was nice, but again I suffered from poor service. I waited 20 minutes to order and the wine I'd requested still hadn't arrived by the time I'd finished my starter.

Overall, I would be happy to take a 20 - 30 minute RER ride to avoid having to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to remain in the main building of the hotel and unless you can sleep through vibration from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,968 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,259 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Paris La Defense Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arena Hotel la Defense
Arena Hotel la Defense
#8 of 9 in Nanterre
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
citizenM Paris La Defense
citizenM Paris La Defense
#199 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range: £70 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing