We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“location, nothing more”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel when I had a meeting in Nanterre. The hotel is easily accessible by public transport (on top of the RER station Nanterre-Préfecture).
Check-in was OK. The interior of the hotel is a somewhat old fashion but all services are available. Compared with the other Mercure hotels where I've staid, this one is below average, while it's price is certainly above average.
Had diner at the hotel restaurant. The service was flawless. The menu was very promising but the food quality was basic and not very creative. It should be easy to find a better restaurant in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacrobaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Parc .

I shared your comments with our team.
Be assured that corrective measures are already implemented to ensure a level of quality that meets your expectations, and regain your confidence in a future stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Waiting to welcome you again at Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Parc .

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    198
    155
    77
    42
See reviews for
90
79
61
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok for the price you pay, but if you want to visit Paris you should look for a hotel closer to the metro.
This one is located just next to a RER station, but to use the RER for a trip to the city costs about 1 euro more each way per person. It's really not much, but it's something especially if you are travelling in a bigger group.
Right next to the hotel there is a Franprix supermarket where you can buy groceries and drinks.
The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and all speak good english.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariusV81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel Paris La Défense Parc . It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Important: The hotel's Internet [via Orange France] blocks VoiceIP and VPNS.
This is a split hotel, with two units separated by about 150m walk across a market square. Nanterre, La Defense, is a bit like how Canary Wharf would have looked with Peckham relocated to its center. As far as the facilities go, the two bedroom 'apartment style' rooms in the 'annex' are barely 2 star. I don't know who rates this as a 4 star hotel, but they have clearly never visited. They don't have steam irons in the room and on asking for one I was invited to go to reception (150 meters) and pick one up; it was a little strange carrying it across the market square. Room ventilation was ok because the windows open and it was cold outside - not sure how it would be in August. Cupboard space is inadequate and mine was filled with a duvet that looked like it had been slept in and left a few months. Food is at best average and breakfast a little tricky with a very tight dining area. There are no multi-international plugs, so remember to bring your adaptors if you aren't French. International TV choice is poor. Rooms are ageing and looked tired. Security in the 'annex' was non-existent other than an easily defeated key-card entry system. As for the internet - it BLOCKS VPNs and Voip software like Skype, which is useless for business travelers. There are great hotels in Paris but this isn't one of them.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveler book somewhere else. Otherwise insist on a room in the main hotel blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanterre hotels

Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

For those of you that think staying out here is keeping you away from the action; don't be fooled! The hotel was hard to find as I was driving for the first time in Paris; but once I parked the car, I figured out that it is literally right on top of the local Metro station. The RER "A" line runs directly to the Nanterre Prefecture station. This is the same line that runs into downtown Paris in 15 minutes and also runs directly to Disneyland Paris. On Priceline.com, I lucked out and picked up a 1 night stay for $95 USD. Pretty darn good price to stay close to Paris. And, being a new hotel, the decor was fresh, the room comfortable, and there was even a free complimentary continental buffet breakfast! A good find!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkwok68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First the good - this place is cheap. Sadly that's pretty much where it ends. Our room was cramped, reeked of cigarettes and some of the bed linen actually holes burned in it. The 'clean' towels we were given on our second day had black marks streaked across them, there was dirt and dried leaves on the shelves where our crockery was kept and the outside of the bath had distinctly questionable red splatters on it.

When we asked to change rooms we were told it wouldn't be possible.

Some friends staying across the hall asked to borrow our kitchen bin because the lid on theirs was jammed shut, at which point we realized that we hadn't been given a bin. Also the TV in their room only had audio but no picture.

Ultimately the question should be, given the low price and proximity to Nanterre station (NOT Defense) would we go back? To which our unequivocal answer would have to be 'No'.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 298JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is called La Defense Parc, but it is not in La Defense (or in a park). It is Nantere.

We had an apartment room, which was not in the hotel, but a couple of buildings away. The décor was basic, more like a travel lodge than a 4* Hotel. The restaurant was closed for the 4 days we were there. This was not mentioned when we checked in. On the Monday evening we went to the restaurant to discover it was closed and told that there was a note on the door. Most of the small number of restaurants nearby were also closed. The place feels very remote. It is busy during the day, but it is a commercial district and dead in the evenings.

The cleaning staff had to be asked to provide additional toilet rolls, took two dirty glasses and replaced it with one. We had to call twice to ask to replace a bulb in a place which is already very dimly lit.

On the plus side it was clean and the daytime reception staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

First of all, this hotel is NOT at the Defense. It's in Nanterre. Now, if you have a meeting at the Defense, then look for the "Esplanade Charles de Gaulle", you will find a Sofitel there.

To get to this hotel, you pass the grande arche, you get the bridge towards the infinity, and you admire the graveyard on your right. Or, the one on your left.

Then the bridge finishes, without warning. And it's you, your suitcase, and a graveyard on either side of the bridge. You should get the hint.

So you go back, go through a construction site, back to civilization again, and keep walking. Hotel is "just" 1.6 Km from the Defense (according to my TomTom).

The Hotel is located on top of the RER station following the Defense. Which means, each and every train that passes bay, you hear and feel; of course, more annoying when it's night and you try to sleep. Walls are also rather thin, I could distinctly hear people passing by the corridor or the neighbours.

Rooms have nothing exciting. Furniture is old-ish, cheap. Breakfast is not good either, very cramped and rather low quality.

Very expensive for what it is. It does not make sense if you need to be at the Defense, as it's not close enough. To get to central Paris, you can use the RER, but in the evening, not the nicest thing to do.

It would rather strongly recommend to get a hotel in central Paris and then get the RER or Metro 1 to Defense.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,692 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 41 in La Defense
1,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing