We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel with quick access to central Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable hotel with quick access to central Paris”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We planned a trip into Paris on our way back from the Alps. Because we had the car we wanted a reasonably priced hotel with secure car parking and quick access into central Paris. This hotel met the brief bang on. Nothing flashy but reliable nonetheless. Nanterre is a mile from La Defense heading west. The area is slightly grubby but it does have a RER station and this is right by the hotel across a small square. There are a few simple restaurants nearby and a small supermarket too. The hotel rooms were perfect for our 3 night stay. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and free breakfasts for the kids. The reception service was fine, and all staff we met were friendly. Booking via Quidco got the price down, and the secure parking was free. The journey into central Paris took no more than 5 mins on the RER. So, in summary while the immediate area around the hotel is a little tired the hotel is good value and gives you very quick access to the Paris sights.

Room Tip: In general it always seems sensible to get an end of corridor room to minimise passing traffic, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation, we are glad that you had a nice stay at the Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Grande Arche. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    202
    156
    80
    46
See reviews for
92
80
62
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April over the weekend of the Paris Marathon (which some of our party was running). We were 2 families with young children. The hotel appealed for a number of reasons but mainly the separate bedroom/sleeping area for the children and the use of a kitchenette. It was also close to the RER which suited us for transport into the city.

We visit Paris many times a year and are familiar with the generally lower standard of accommodation compared to other parts of France.

I do not want to be entirely negative so I will say that you could not be any close to the RER stop - that was perfect. Also the esplanade is walking distance which offers a wide variety of shops and eateries.

We arrived late on Friday night having caught a flight after work. The taxi driver was at a loss as to where to drop us off as the address is number 17/20 - one would presume that the hotel spans from 17 to 20 but in fact it occupies two separate locations both number 17 and number 20 which are roughly 100 meters apart.

We were dropped at 17 but upon realising that we could not enter the building walked over to 20 where the reception desk was. At midnight, being 6 months pregnant and with 3 grumpy toddlers and baggage this was a real treat. I don't see why this could not have been clearly indicated on the hotel website to avoid confusion.

Given the late hour we were keen to get to bed but the man on the desk was very slow and argumentative. He would not accept that our city tax was included in what we had paid and honestly I did not have the energy at that time to argue.

We then, kids, bags and all, had to walk back over to location 17 where our room was actually located. No hint of any help for the hotel staff to help perhaps with baggage.

The room was shocking.

I have attached photos to illustrate but my main points of concern were;

It was not clean - and was generally decor wise very untidy - my son accidentally rolled a toy can under our bed and when I went to get it there was an assortment of rotting food underneath.

The room was not safe - bare wires were exposed in two places (illustrated in the photos) which was reported but nothing done.

The kitchen had no utensils - so was useless. We asked for a kettle on the first morning and then again in the afternoon and gave up by day two!

The bed - including the master was just a rollaway.

The room service didn't operate on a Saturday night!!

Given the cost of this room I felt consistently let down by the staff and the room itself. We arranged late checkout for after the marathon and were still locked out and had to walk to the other part of the hotel to get let in again!!

Avoid this hotel - there are *many* cleaner, safer and nicer ones in Paris. This was the pits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harper_uk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I just read your comment regarding your stay in Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche.
I am going to contact you directly, in order to discuss about your isue.

Best regards

C de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanterre hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good location. The lobby is fair in size but the elevator is small. Few selection of food for breakfast but I guess European hotels are all like that. ( breads, jams and butter, cereals and little cold cuts- ham,salami and sausages) not like Asians hotels were you are pampered with varieties of selections from continental,oriental,etc. Room is a little bit small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydee1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hôtel Paris La Défense Grande Arche. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my husband for 3 nights at the end of March.Nice comfy bed. Very nice and helpful staff. Bathroom tiles need a bit of a scrubbing in the shower. Had breakfast in the hotel on the last day. Not worth the money. Better to go to the cafe on the corner. RED train takes you right into the city in 10 mins. Nice restaurants to the back of the hotel. All in all good value for money as we only paid 170 Euros for the 3 nights accommodation. Would recommend if you get a good deal with the price.

Room Tip: Loads go on about the noise of the trains in the hotel. Never heard a sound. We were on the 5th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henriettaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear customers
Teams and I sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to write your comment and recommendation.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay and I hope to continue having you as guests of the Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche
Regards

C de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As soon as we got there, the staff was incredibly rude and unorganized. We were with a decent sized tour group, and it took them about an hour to get us settled into our rooms, they had no place for us to sit with our group and didnt allow us into any of the empty breakfast areas or anything to figure our situation out, so we were forced to stand in a crammed lobby. The rooms were small and decent, but fairly loud outside with a market right outside. And the hotel was divided into different buildings so some of us had to walk outside with our luggage across a street to get to our room, and back again in the mornings for breakfast. In the mornings there was two large rooms for breakfast, and without telling us we were suppose to all apparently stay in the lower quality room, with way less food, all of it mostly cereal while the other room had sausage, pancakes etc, and when we accidentally went to the wrong breakfast room, we all got yelled at by hotel staff. It was an awful experience and I wouldn't waste my money there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianKenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for taking the time to leave a few comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche.
If you need information about the service you had, please contact the agency which was in charge of the organisation.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche.

Regards
Christelle de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed in one of the appartments. For a familiy of 4, this would be a good place to stay. What I did not like though, was the fact that despite on my own, the sofabed in the living room was not transferred back to a sofa, but stayed a double bed. The tv in my bedroom only had 4 channels that were not french. In the "livingroom" there were also German channels. The room was clean, but did have mold on the bathroom ceiling, covered with paint. The little kitchen is ideal if staying for a longer time, however cutlery would have been nice, so you can actually eat what you have prepared. don't go looking in the stairways if you are on the second floor or above. What you will find in the corners is not so nice. It seems that this is a bin for the housekeeping staff. The public transportation from the hotel to the city is great. The RER brings you in 20 Minutes right to the Arc de Triophe. All in all, the hotel was ok and reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chis1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de laisser quelques commentaires suite à votre séjour à l'Hôtel Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche.
Nous constatons que ce dernier ne vous a pas entièrement donné satisfaction, veuillez nous en excuser.
Nous avons bien pris note de vos remarques et nous sommes en train de travailler pour améliorer la réception des chaines télévision.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau à l’Hôtel Résidence Mercure Défense Parc.

Cordialement
C de Giafferi
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was in Paris approximately 2 weeks ago. Originally, I made a reservation in the Mercure La Défense Arche through their web site, gave my credit card.
Next step is I cancelled and system gave me a cancellation code. Then,my project manager had made a reservation through AMEX for me.
I stayed in the Mercure within those days and paid my room charge and return to Turkey. Then I realized, when I paid my stay hotel charge the previous reservation amount to my credit card. I sent a email and the hotel does not want to refund her for the cancellation, which is ridiculous. They are having my pay twice. I did stay there the same nights and I paid for it. I sent a second mail and they even relied which is not a polite way.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cburcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure t, Directeur général at Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I just read your comment regarding your stay in Mercure Paris la Défense Grande Arche.
I am going to contact you directly, in order to discuss about your isue.

Best regards

C de Giafferi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#3 of 41 in La Defense
1,455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing