We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never come here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Bourges, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will never come here again”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I had come to this hotel about a year ago and it was a very good experience. This is why I came back. As I had to stay for a 4 day training course, I booked one of their apartments with a bedroom, a living room and 'a fully kitted out kitchen'. At least that is what I thought I had booked.
The appartment was fairly spacious yet a bit old and tired and it certainly looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for a while. The toilet smelled like the public toilet at the local train station which is not exactly what you would expect. It never occured to me that there may be a problem with the kitchen so I arrived with my food supplies. However, I realised pretty much straight away that there were no plates, no pots and pans, no cutlery. In fact there was nothing at all apart from three completely encrusted glasses that you wouldn't even leave an animal drink out of and a microwave that hadn't been cleaned in decades. Reception told me I didn't have access to the kitchen, then that they really don't know what I wanted and then that they can't do anything because it is Sunday. Two hours later a guy with a plate and a knife and fork turned up. Needless to say I was not able to have dinner or breakfast the next morning. They promised me to fix everything straight away on Monday morning. When I got back to the hotel in the evening, nothing was done. After another complaint and two hours later, still nothing. After another trip to reception where nobody found my problem particularly important and another hour and a half some dishes arrived.
I have always been a loyal Accor customer but I will certainly never ever stay here again. I thought I might save some time and be more comfortable in an apartment. Instead I spent my life complaining to incompetent and rude staff and eating cold food directly out of the wrapping.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlumpfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    201
    157
    82
    46
See reviews for
92
80
62
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This is a good quality Mercure hotel, offering free high speed wireless internet. Spaceous rooms with modern design furniture and decoration.
The hotel has two parts (there is a somewhat 'older' part at the other side of the square). The main part has one slight negative aspect: it is built on top of the Nanterre Prefecture RER station and sometimes one can feel (and hear) the vibrations of the passing trains.
Being good for business travellers, the hotel is a bit out of the Paris area; so eating outside the hotel limits the choice, unless taking the RER into Paris.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Early_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We were in the residence wing of the hotel. The family room - more of a flatlet really - was gorgeous and extremely comfortable. Quite spacious and stylish, it was more of a four star than a three star room and it looked like it had been recently refurbished. The bathroom was OK - functional would probably be the best ajective to describe it.

Our room was on the sixth floor and it was extremely silent. There is a pedestrian area between the two wings of the hotel and basically no traffic flows in the road opposite in the evening or at night.

The hotel buffet-style breakfast which is served in the main wing was very good. The only problem was that some items were unavailable during early or late breakfasts (hot items in particular were not replenished after 10 am).

The area is clearly a business one - there's no denying it. It's extremely busy at 7am on a weekday but virtually deserted on Saturday mornings. The only attraction within walking distance is the Grande Arche at La Defense. As a leisure traveller I have to admit that I would have rather been staying in the heart of Paris.

On a more positive note the RER station entrance is between the hotel wings and in a few minutes you can get to the Chatelet Les Halles stop and stroll to The Centre Georges Pompidou or the Notre Dame Cathedral.

Dining was no problem particularly since there is a shopping mall beyond the Grande Arche with a great food court although there are also a few restaurants around the hotel. There is also a good mini market outside the hotel which was a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Pros: My room was always clean and smelled fresh. Housekeeping on top of their jobs, excepting replenishing coffee service. Nice safe in room (not intuitive, had to ask for help to use it). Nothing was stolen. Bed comfortable and linens clean and comfy. Room decor looked like it had been designed by Ikea! Restaurant connected to hotel had nice breakfast and beautifully presented dinner selections (although limited menu). Only a few steps away from RER station, linking you easily to Metro. Julian at front desk has a great "can do" attitude and is extremely pleasant.

Cons: Dine in Paris when you can because with the exception of the hotel restaurant, the places around the hotel to eat are marginal at best. If you are a light sleeper, the rumble of the RER trains might be an inconvenience (they didn't bother me, however I did feel the rumble every so often). With the exception of Julian, the folks at the front desk could be described as surly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

- No room service after 10.30PM, for night arriving it's quite annoying...
No mini-fridge as well.
- No iron in rooms, you have to go to lobby to take one. From what I can see, there are 2 irons for the whole hotel and one seems broken. 100 EUR deposit are needed to use
it, and were wrongly charged to my bill (then removed during check-out).
- No manual to use the in-room safe. Staff was not knowing how to use it
neither (and not available to come checking in the room).
- Check-out during a quiet business day at 11AM (not peak hour) took approx. 20 min to be completed.
- No free WiFi
- There's basically nothing in the area, it's a dead-zone after business
hours.
- For people who are not heavy sleeper, you can hear the rumble of trains
going in and out of RER station (which is just below the hotel).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarvinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanterre hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Being a kind who wants to stay in a cheap but easy to transport place, live in the streets but use the hotel rooms occasionally (at most 5 hours a day for sleeping, for the breakfast, for the bathroom) it was not a completely horrible choice.
Being located in La Defense, hotel is better for business travelers. For a leisure traveler, it is pretty strange to meet people with suits in the morning, seeing an office room as a scenery and finding no place to eat or to buy anything at night. Especially when you are escaping from your office environment and going for a holiday.
Besides those, breakfast was really good, beds were not really comfy but managed to sleep, bathrooms and towels were clean. In the morning, you can shop from the store located just next to the hotel and as the hotel is located just above the subway station transportation is easy but that is all.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horizontal_Sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

This hotel was a welcome sight after a long journey. The staff were great and spoke perfect English. The premier room was very well appointed with unusual and pleasant decor and great lighting. The hotel is adjacent to a park that has a trim trail, fishing lake and merry-go round. Locals advised the park can be unsafe but it seemed fine with kids and lone runners enjoying the warm sunshine - I felt completely safe. There are many shops, bars and restaurants within easy reach and La-Defense is a short walk away. The area is an unusual mix (to a foreigner) of academic, commercial, business and social housing which give the place an intriguing feel. The bar closed at 11:15 which seemed very early compared to the UK :-)
A great hotel in a more unusual district of Paris and well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank madmountaingoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanterre
1.3 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense
Mercure Paris La Defense
#6 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Paris La Defense
Pullman Paris La Defense
#2 of 41 in La Defense
1,486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
citizenM Paris La Defense
citizenM Paris La Defense
#668 of 1,800 in Paris
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Paris La Defense Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Paris La Defense
Hilton Paris La Defense
#5 of 41 in La Defense
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel

Property: Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
Address: 17/20 Esplanade Ch. de Gaulle | Rue des Trois Fontanot, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel is located in the heart of the La Defense business district (3min by RER A). We are at 50m from Nanterre Prefecture RER A. We are at 10min from Champs Elysees and 15min from Opera and city center. Our hotel complex is perfect for every stay with standard and privilege rooms, studio and appartement for short or long stay. The Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche hotel has a bar, a restaurant with terrace and a fitness center. Our 11 modular meeting rooms are the perfect working environment for your meeting in La Defense. Free WIFI. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris La Defense Parc Hotel Nanterre
Mercure Hotel Nanterre
Accor Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing