We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Start to our Vacation”
Review of L'Amandier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Amandier
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Good Start to our Vacation”
Reviewed 4 December 2010

L'Amandier is a fine, typical, Parisian hotel. The rooms are small, but clean. The staff was excellent and helpful. The staff was very accomodating. I hate to spend a lot on a hotel room, but I was more than satisfied with L'Amandier. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMoparIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    36
    13
    3
See reviews for
19
25
8
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CANTONE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed at the l'Amandier for 4 nights.

The location
Outside Paris,zone 3 in Nanterre, a business area. In front of the hotel are bus stops to the métro/RER stations Nanterre-Prefecture or la Défense. A public bath is one bus stop away. The next shopping centre/convenience store is 2 bus stops away.
After 8 p.m. and on weekends is this area deserted and all shops and amenities are closed. On Wednesday and on Friday until 2 p.m. is market.

The room
Very small, but clean room. Polite and quiet room maid. TV-flat screen with ENGLISH, FRENCH, ITALIAN AND GERMAN channel.
Neither minibar, fridge nor air-con. A fan is available in the wardrobe.
- The wireless lan - IS NO GOOD! Never got a connetion to the internet. - Complained and the simple anwser was: "it is free, so what do you expect...."
- The rooms are NOT QUIET. One hears conversations from the corridor.

Service / hospitality
All in all gentle staff and service.
No room service. After 10 p.m. is the bar closed.

We did not try the food. The breakfast is pricey 9 EURs. On the other hand for lunch or dinner there are dishes for av. 15 EUR.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

As with the previous reviewer we chose this hotel because we were driving through Paris and wanted somewhere not too central, where we could park, and from where we could easily access the center of town. In that respect this hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

Reaching the hotel is quite easy. Get to the big roundabout at the center of Nanterre then follow the signs to 'Prefecture' or 'Theatre D'Almandier'. The parking is free. It is at the side of the hotel. There was ample when we stayed. We had no problems but I'm not sure about the security. Best make sure that you leave nothing of value in the car.

Perhaps the best way to describe the hotel is to say it is similar to an Ibis. It is a modern(ish) characterless box with rooms to match. The shower, set in a small bath, was quite good and there was a reasonable choice of channels, including CNN, on the flat screen TV.

The walk to the RER station is 10 minutes through the park or 15 mins round it. (Comming back at midnight we didn't feel the park would be safe, the walk around it was well lit with plenty of people around). From the RER station it takes about 15 mins into Chatalet and costs €2.10 single. A taxi from the center of town cost us €16.

All in all, given our requirements, we could have done a lot worse.

  • Liked — Free parking, easy access, good value
  • Disliked — No character, noisy one night
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianc_li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2004

We picked this hotel as we were passing through Paris by car, so wanted a hotel with a car park for 3 nights.

The rooms were small and so were the breakfasts.

There was a party somewhere out the back so music kept us awake on the first night, but the other nights were fine.

It was a walk accross an open park to the nearest Metro, We was some open drug taking, but never felt threatened by anyone or anything. There main road with buses etc was one building the other way, but we always used the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mr_Cellophane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nanterre hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nanterre hotels
0.0 mi away
Campanile Paris Ouest - Nanterre - La Defense
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Nanterre La Defense
0.9 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Nanterre La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#6 of 9 in Nanterre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Paris La Defense Grande Arche Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Nanterre La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Amandier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Amandier

Property: L'Amandier
Address: 14 avenue Pablo Picasso, 92000 Nanterre, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Nanterre
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nanterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Amandier 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, five story hotel located in the suburbs, 5 km from Paris centre; offers comfortable accommodations and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Amandier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Amandier Nanterre
l Amandier Hotel Nanterre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing