We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and expensive”
Review of Ashiana

Ashiana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bland and expensive”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I was very disappointed. The food is almost tasteless and very pricey. So disappointing and very expensive for what I ate. There are far better Indian restaurants in Paris, Try Passage Brady ones, wall to wall indian restaurants and you will eat authentic Indian dishes for half the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    68
    25
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

One of the best restaurant in Paris. The taste of the food is very near to the food that we have in India.
Overall, I would say a must visit.
Little expensive, but worth-it.

I dont regret any of my orders placed for taste or quality. The atmosphere is amazing and good for private dinners, or business lunches

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ca_yusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Need to be spiced up and not cheap”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have eaten here several times and learnt that you need to ask them to spice up the curries. The Lamb Sagt is very nice and the meat somosa is good as is the chicken tikka, but all dishes require extra spice as they can be a bit bland othwise as we have learnt from experience. The ambience is good and the service very good but the food does not come cheap. On average for 3 people with entre, mains rice, naan and a bottle of wine you will be paying around €150 which includes taxes and service charge. Great location as metro is right outside the door

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGOAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasteless mush”
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

A family of four, we got take-out, ordering a little extra so as to have left-overs. Not one dish was even half-way decent. All were flavorless, the ones that were hot were just tongue-burning without any other taste. There were only two or three overly chewy shrimp in the "shrimp" biryani, the daal was more like soup and completely bland. Not saying that we wanted more of this food, but portions were small and expensive.
If I said it was Indian McDonald's, I would be insulting McDonald's.

Helpful?
Thank mirirab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Upscale Ambience”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I dined here one night passing through Paris and was more than satisfied. The decor of the place is upscale Indian, nice traditional furniture, and a double level dining room. The menu offered a wide variety of traditional Indian dishes, and some I had never seen before. I had a delicious appetizer, spiced onion beignets over salad, with typical dipping sauces. For my main course, I had a Shrimp Curry which was quite tasty, well spiced but not overly hot. The shrimp were ample, succulent, and large enough for such a dish. My only criticism is that there was no free white rice option.. There were several specialty rices on the menu at 5 to 7 euro, and the plain white which I choose for my curry was 4 or 5, which seemed high to me. Of course, I am used to Indian restaurants in the U.S. where white rice is usually free with nearly every dish. The waiters were efficient and polite and fluent in French as well as English. All in all I enjoyed the meal and would happily take my wife there if we were in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EZTVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashiana also viewed

Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
 
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
Neuilly-sur-Seine, Hauts-de-Seine
 

Been to Ashiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing