We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice very clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Charlemagne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is in a great spot, very close to public transport and we found it very easily with the map I printed off google. There are a few shops (super market, restaurants, cafè and bar) on the same road and it only takes 10mins on metro to Charles De Gual station (le Arc de triomphe) to find everything else. The hotel staff were very friendly and call all speak a variety of languages and are very helpful. That will also assist in booking any of the main attractions or tours for you. This is great especially if you want to visit the Eiffle Tower as it allows you to jump the ques, the prices were very good you can add lunch on the second floor and a cruise down the Seine for a few €s more. It would be wise to look into travel passes if you are staying more than a day, as they allow travel on all modes of transport and include the night buses too. Cafe Richard just along from the hotel serve breakfast if you don't want to spend €12 on the hotel breakfast that isn't included in the price (and doesn't have the best selection) Sophie the Cafè Richards manager speaks English and they are very friendly and serve hot tea. The hotel does NOT have tea or coffee making facilities in the room but does have a medium sized fridge. The room wasn't the largest but it suited for our 4 day stay and was made up and cleaned every day. Cannot fault the cleanliness at all. The bed was quite firm which I liked but my partner had a bit of an achey back. The room had a Juliette balcony which my partner spent a lot of his time being a smoker. There is no smoking in the rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms have double glazing and are extremely quiet and are pretty much the same
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cass1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Charlemagne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here with my daughter in October, we used it as a base as we were flat-hunting for her as she was moving to Paris. It was perfect, not far from Porte Maillot bus station (2 stops on the Metro) and on a great metro line for access to all of Paris. The hotel itself was spotless, very nice and comfortable and the receptionist there could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was very good, continental style with lovely bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, croissants, jam, honey, yoghurts, set us up for the day. The metro stop was about a minute walk away from the hotel. I would highly recommend this, and it was an excellent price for such a good location.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, but had a little bit of street noise. Some rooms to the back of the hotel may...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had three nights at the Charlemange Hotel in a twin room. We had a little difficulty locating it, but after the first time we found it was in an excellent location. Just out of the main tourist area, but city centre was easily accessible either by metro or bus. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room size was quite acceptable for Paris, clean and very comfortable.The shower was hot and toiletries supplied. BBC and CNN on the TV.The breakfast room downstairs was buffet continental style. Boil your own egg. All that is required to start the day. The breakfast room lady always greeted with a smile. Some good patisseries, a small supermarket and restaurants nearby. Sunday evening, only eaterie open was the 'British Pub'. Don't!! Would recommend Charlemange. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quitosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel. The room was clean and compact. The beds were comfortable and with spare pillows in the small wardrobe. The shower room/toilet was very small but there were clean towels and always plenty of hot water.

We were very disappointed that the air conditioning was not working. We think that it was turned off for the winter but in mid-September we still needed it as it got to 25 degrees in the room (‘centrally controlled’ came up on the display and we left it on but it didn’t cool down). The windows opened but the duvet was thick so nights were too hot as we had to shut the full-length windows overnight because of street noise. There was only one usable electrical socket in the room.

The breakfast is ‘extended continental’. The waitress takes your order for hot drinks, a pot of tea or coffee or some hot chocolate. For breakfast there’s bread, jam, eggs for boiling (check that the machine is turned on when you want to start boiling your egg), packets of chocolate spread, cheese, spreadable cheese and honey, ham, pots of yogurt, tinned fruit, dried fruit and pieces of baguette and croissants or other pastry in the baskets high above your head - although you had to just get lucky to get a Danish pastry or pain au chocolate instead of a plain croissant! There is a grill to warm your bread or if you leave it ages you will get toast. If breakfast is not included in your package it is 12 euros. The breakfast room is very small.

You can ask for a free wifi code at the reception desk which we didn’t realise at first as the information sheet in the room said the internet was 10 euros per day. There was no internet computer for guests. The safe was 5 euros for your stay and minibar drinks were 3 euros.

Packets of soap and shower gel were provided and topped up as needed. The room was clean although we found a cherry tomato in a corner! There are toilets and an ironing board to the back of the breakfast room. There is a postbox right outside for you postcards.

Room Tip: All rooms very much the same
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very nice hotel-great area....very easy to get to on the metro. The room was small but it was exactly what I needed. Everything was very clean and the room also had air conditioning (very important as I was there in summer!). The area is safe and I felt very comfortable walking around as a solo traveler! There was always someone at the front desk and they were very helpful and friendly. There is also an elevator which was a rare find in my budget travels through Europe:)

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank lspeirs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Charlemagne is straightforward to get to from the centre of Paris on Metro Line 1 and 2 mins walk from the metro station.
A nice welcome on arrival and overall I found all of the staff pleasant and always very helpful with our requests.
Seemed to be someone on reception at all times, having returned to the hotel past midnight more than once.
A typical breakfast included boiled eggs (with a special egg boiler) yoghurts, croissants, pastries, breads, cheeses, hams, fruit salad, jams, honey, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juices. Good value if you can eat most of the above in comparison to some places.
The bedroom for 3 persons was a satsfactory size with a decent TV and the minibar was fine, although we didn't use this. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were clean and tidy.
Having someone on reception at all times, key cards for the room and an electronic shutter on the window (we were on the ground floor) gave us peace of mind as far as security was concerned.
Being close to the Metro was an advantage as well as a good deal of the Paris "must sees" either on the same line as the hotel or 2/3 stops from the line itself and it proved to be reasonably convenient.
The are a number of nicer restaurants and cafes/bars close by, though there are some less expensive places in the centre of Paris. This did not stop us visiting some where ths proved to be convenient.
All in all for the price paid for this neat little hotel, and the service provided, it's a decent 3 star with a decent buffet breakfast and I will probaby return to this hotel should I visit Paris again.
The owners can feel pleased with the service provided.
I shall ignore one or two personal gripes that I did have but that is just down to my own ignorance and how Paris operates and not a reflection of the hotel.

Room Tip: Had a room on the ground floor at the rear. Felt very secure and was quiet in the evening
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Small but clean rooms that were well kept, size of bathrooms differed a lot depending on the room you were in. Take breakfast out of the hotel (way too expensive), there are quite a few places to on walking distance.
Great plus: 100 meters fromo Line 1 metro that will get you around Paris in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for room 211 or 311 when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen3920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuilly-sur-Seine
0.2 mi away
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#4 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris Neuilly
Hotel Paris Neuilly
#2 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Jatte
Hotel de la Jatte
#8 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Neuilly Park
Neuilly Park
#7 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Paris La Defense
Novotel Paris La Defense
#7 of 41 in La Defense
902 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Paris - Neuilly
Crowne Plaza Paris - Neuilly
#1 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlemagne

Address: 1 rue Charcot | Metro (1) : Pont de Neuilly, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Neuilly-sur-Seine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Neuilly-sur-Seine
Price Range: £59 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charlemagne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just steps from the Pont de Neuilly, the Hotel Charlemagne is a quality 3-star hotel with air condionned which ensures guests easy and rapid access to the centre of Paris, including the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre museum, the historical Marais district, the Jardin d'Acclimatation and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemagne Hotel Neuilly Sur Seine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing