We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel offering excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlemagne
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“A great hotel offering excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

No hesitation in recommending this hotel: spotless, smartly decorated, if very small rooms with large, comfortable beds. The double glazing is excellent and the curtains block out all light, which combined with responsive and quiet air conditioning makes for a very comfortable night.. For the price (£144 for 3 nights B&B in a double room) I don't know how they do it.

If you are very large or have restricted mobility, you may have problems with the tiny en-suite shower rooms.

Neuilly sur Seine is a rather soulless business district currently but the Charlemagne is only 50m from the metro station (Pont de Neuilly on Line 1) so you can be in the centre of Paris in ten minutes.

Tip: earn the affection of the formidable breakfast waitress by giving your room number and tea/coffee order in French. She got amusingly tetchy with those who didn't.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    145
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
56
122
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

My friend and I spent 4 nights here last week - total cost £216 between us including a good breakfast, - what a bargain! Clean reasonable sized room, decent shower, air con and double glazed, we were only on the 1st floor but we not disturbed by any of the nearby restaurants. Easy to get to from CDG with only one change at Chatlelet. Easy quick access to Central Paris. Friendly staff, we didn't need to check out til 12 on the last day and no problem leaving our bags whilst we went nosing around La Defense.
No issues whatsoever - woudl def go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed at the Charlemagne last week and really enjoyed the hotel. The value for money was brilliant, especially considering that it was Paris, with the room and breakfast costing us about 40 pounds per night. Breakfast was brilliant too with a selection of breads, pastries, cold meats, fruit etc.

The room itself is of a comfortable size and was clean and tidy. Bathroom was small but that was to be expected for the price.

Location is very good, next to Metro stop (Pont Neuilly) which is only about a 10 minute journey to the heart of Paris.

Previous reviewers have made mention of the thin walls which is certainly true, however I would only consider this a slight negative and would not put me off staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

After staying in some pretty small (and old) hotels in Paris, I have to say the Charlemagne was a great surprise. The rooms were very clean and the hotel was quiet. The morning breakfasts were pretty good with fresh crosissants, juice, cheese and eggs. The hotel is about 1 block from the subway (Metro) station with many different types of restaraunts within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel for the budget tourist out for a short stay in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travislai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We were happy with our choice of this hotel, stayed for 4 nights and would visit again. The room was small but didn’t feel cramped and was only lacking in tea and coffee making facilities. We were on the third floor and had a very small shower room, no bath. We had booked on a hotel booking website.
We found the reception staff to be helpful and enjoyed the breakfasts. The breakfast room is downstairs opposite reception and is quite small, but there was always a free table when we went. For boiled eggs you cooked your own, switching the dial to turn the egg boiler on.
Housekeeping was slightly hit and miss, only one set of towels when we arrived and one day no new shower gels were left when we had used up the sachets. The hotel internet was minimum 4 euros for 15 minutes.
The restaurants in the area were quite expensive, main courses around 20 euros, but the Chinese (Nouvelle Etoile) was quite good value, although the rice portion was not very large but our meat dishes were tasty. We paid 35 euros for 1 starter, 2 mains and 2 drinks.
Would recommend taking the metro 2 stops up to La Defense - as well as seeing the buildings there are some snack places by the station exit and there is a large shopping centre, Les Quatre Temps, with restaurants and burger places. Also there’s a hypermarket called Auchan, if you have large bags with you, on entry you get them sealed with a cable tie. The nearest corner store to the hotel we had found down the street, past the post box and turn left, and things were expensive, eg. 2euros50 for a small loaf of bread; much better value at the hypermarket.
Transport: We arrived at terminal 2A at Charles de Gaulle airport and it was a long way to the rail link, about 10-15 minutes walk. Arriving at Gare de Nord station we got the metro and changed at Chatelet and that was quite a long walk and up and down, lots of stairs too. The hotel is near to the Pont de Neuilly metro.
Bought the batches of 10 t+ tickets for the transport systems but these didn’t always allow changes - we tried going from the bus to the metro but had to use a fresh ticket. Didn’t feel we would make full use of the Paris Visite card. Caught the bus (line 43) back to Gare de Nord which took around 45 minutes.
Generally, we had a good time and saw all the main sights. We paid for the museums separately but the Paris Museum Pass gives good value. Top tip; for 3 euros ride the Pompidou Centre escalators to get a great view of the city. If you’re from the UK and get Tesco clubcard vouchers, you can get deals for a boat trip voucher and aquarium tickets, which we did.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel is correctly rated and a pleasant start of my Paris trip. Is very near to the metro and the line will stop just at Musee de Louvre and is still in zone 1-2.

The bed and rooms is great + a lovely balcony.

Highly recommended to couples and honeymooners. Little attention, the room only will fit 2, if you got big family, request a big room or else you will be disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Having stopped previously in Paris we were simply after a 'half decent' hotel in any area (transport system is so easy and reliable the area didn't matter too much). We chose the Charlemagne mostly due to price as we only intended to be in the hotel to sleep.

On arrival we were met with friendly helpful staff who explained the facilities and procedures within the hotel. Our room was on the ground floor next to the road. Even though we were next to the road noise was not an issue.

The room had the usual features expected from a hotel. Double bed with put up bed for our son. The room itself was adequate in size. Within the room was a wardrobe, mini-bar and TV with limited English channels.

Our bathroom had a large bath, toilet and sink. Breakfast was in a downstairs dining room. The lady that looked after the berakfast room never stopped. As soon as we walked in she asked whether we wanted tea or coffee. Any table was cleared immediately once vacant.

Usual continental style buffet (breads, croissants, eggs, cold meats, cheeses, milk, juice, cereals, etc). In the reception area was seating and access to the internet at a small charge (think it was 1 euro for 15 mins).

Overall :- the hotel was kept clean and tidy with helpful, friendly staff. Standard of room was fine. Location fine due to close links with public transport (2 minutes walk).

Is this a top class luxury hotel? No. If you are looking for a good base at a fair standard then this hotel is great. I would certainly recommend it as a base and somewhere to sleep.

General tips :- Buy a Paris Visite pass that allows use of the public transport system. We wanted to be able to visit DisneyLand therfore bought the zone 6 tickets. Cost worked out at 8 pound per person per day for unlimited use. These can be purchased at most railway stations including the one at Charles de Gaulle airport. Certainly a lot cheaper than having a taxi!

The Charlemagne is within 2 stops on the metro to the main A line trains which is handy for travelling that bit quicker and further. Within 15 minutes walk of the Grand Arch at La Defense. 25 minutes stroll from the Champs Elysee. 40 mins stroll from the Eiffel Tower.

Eating out in the area proved expensive. An 'English' (cough) bar nearby charged 55 pound for 2 burgers and chips, 1 fish and chips, 1 half pint lager and 2 cokes!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuilly-sur-Seine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris Neuilly
Hotel Paris Neuilly
#2 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#7 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin de Neuilly
Jardin de Neuilly
#4 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Neuilly Park
Neuilly Park
#5 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Paris Neuilly
Movenpick Hotel Paris Neuilly
#1 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Jatte
Hotel de la Jatte
#6 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlemagne

Property: Hotel Charlemagne
Address: 1 rue Charcot | Metro (1) : Pont de Neuilly, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Neuilly-sur-Seine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Neuilly-sur-Seine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charlemagne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just steps from the Pont de Neuilly, the Hotel Charlemagne is a quality 3-star hotel with air condionned which ensures guests easy and rapid access to the centre of Paris, including the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre museum, the historical Marais district, the Jardin d'Acclimation and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemagne Hotel Neuilly Sur Seine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing