We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly staff, good location”
Review of Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Charlemagne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, Friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The hotel itself was pretty hard to find at night, but location wise its perfect. The metro station is just across the road, where you can easily access the main sites of Paris. The neighbourhood was friendly and there are plenty of resteraunts and bars on the main road.

The staff there were friendly and would do anything to help. The rooms were spotless, although the shower was abit cramped. The walls were abit thin, as we could hear someone having coughing fits in the room next to us, thankfully it wasnt all night.

All in all the Hotel Charlemagne was a terrific hotel and i'd definatly recommend it to anyone who wants to explore Paris on a budget

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Grumpy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    156
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
58
129
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I was concerned that this hotel would be too far from the centre, but it is in a lovely situation facing a little cafe and fountain, just off the main Paris Axe between La Defense and l'Arc. Lots of cafes, bars and restaurants, nearby, as well as public transport, but a clean, well landscaped, smart area - we didn't see any rowdiness and chose to eat in Neuilly most evenings. Good double glazing and air conditioning. Breakfast buffet included everything you could expect, and was served from 7 to 10 am.

I'd be happy to stay here again for leisure or a business trip to La Defense.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janner47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed 4 nights - hotel was all as described
-very good value with the 3 for 2 nights as part of our stay.
Very clean, tidy small hotel. rooms small but adequate.
Very good breakfast for the cost, simple but plenty.
Good location Metro station very close, nice area.
Staff friendly and helpful. Can buy supermarket drinks and they will keep in fridge.
A good tip because of the extortionate prices in bars

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirewhitings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We had a very good stay in this hotel. The metro-stop is right next to the hotel, and makes travelling around in Paris easy. Breakfast was ok. The bathroom was tiny, but it worked out. Free internet from neighburs. I would like to stay here when we come back to visit wonderful Paris :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
1 Thank solma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We booked this hotel from looking at trip advisor and were not disappointed. Our deal was a 4 night weekend break with B & B which cost us about 130 euros each.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is about 1 minutes walk to Neuilly-sur-Seine metro, even closer is a bus stop with a regular service down the Champs- Elysses to the Place de la Concorde and finishing at the Musee D'Orsay (route 73). On Sundays a bus runs a circular route as far as Notre Dame (route Bb)- this covers most of the spots on the sightseeing buses. There is also a direct bus from/to the Gard Du Nord (route 43) which stops about 3 mins walk from the hotel - this is a better option if you have suitcases with you as you have to change lines and negociate steps on the Metro.
The hotel is on a side street off Avenue Charles de Gaulle and has bedrooms on the ground floor and 3 floors above - there is a lift. I would recommend asking for a higher floor as it is likely to be quieter away from the babble of the local cafes and traffic. We had a room on the 3rd floor which was a reasonable size with a king size bed. The bathrooms are tiny and only had a shower so if you want a bath make sure you put that on your booking request. The rooms have been recently refurbished and they were working on the hallways when we were there but didn't cause any disruption.
The reception staff are friendly and most spoke English very well - however the night staff, cleaners and breakfast waitresses don't speak english so be prepared to speak some basic french to get what you need. All the staff, and particularly the waitresses were very friendly. Although this hotel has ground floor rooms the breakfast room is down a curved staircase in the basement so may be a problem for those with limited mobility.
The hotel doesn't have a restuarant so you will need to venture out along the main street - the cafes and bars are very busy during the weekday evenings with professionals having a few drinks before going home. There are quite a range of restaurants although quite pricey. For a cheap eat there is always Mcdonalds which can be found either at La Defense or just outside Les Sablons metro (one stop away).
We didn't find a convenience store locally although there is a tabac and a patisserie nearby.
The hotel suited us very well - when in Paris what you need in a hotel is a comfortable bed, a good shower and a decent breakfast to set you up for the day. This hotel met that brief. Thanks to Paris' brilliant and cheap transport system you can enjoy the advantages of the main city sights whilst staying in a more peaceful part of the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cannie-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne Lincs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This is a very good hotel for it's price. The room we had was compact but was well decorated and better than some central paris 3 star hotels. Tiny Bathroom, which was beautifully lit and modern, no problem with having as much hot water as required. Heating was excellent. Mini bar was great for lunch time self catering. receptionist was friendly and welcoming. Location, very close to metro and frequent bus service, yet the area is peacful and quiet with no intrusive noise. Bois de Bologne 2 mins away. A walk to la Defence arch in the early evening people watching was really interesting. The area is full of great restaurants. When we return to Paris we will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BourneTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

No hesitation in recommending this hotel: spotless, smartly decorated, if very small rooms with large, comfortable beds. The double glazing is excellent and the curtains block out all light, which combined with responsive and quiet air conditioning makes for a very comfortable night.. For the price (£144 for 3 nights B&B in a double room) I don't know how they do it.

If you are very large or have restricted mobility, you may have problems with the tiny en-suite shower rooms.

Neuilly sur Seine is a rather soulless business district currently but the Charlemagne is only 50m from the metro station (Pont de Neuilly on Line 1) so you can be in the centre of Paris in ten minutes.

Tip: earn the affection of the formidable breakfast waitress by giving your room number and tea/coffee order in French. She got amusingly tetchy with those who didn't.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuilly-sur-Seine
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paris Neuilly
Hotel Paris Neuilly
#2 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#8 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardin de Neuilly
Jardin de Neuilly
#6 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Jatte
Hotel de la Jatte
#5 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
216 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Paris - Neuilly
Crowne Plaza Paris - Neuilly
#1 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#2 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlemagne

Property: Hotel Charlemagne
Address: 1 rue Charcot | Metro (1) : Pont de Neuilly, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Neuilly-sur-Seine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Neuilly-sur-Seine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charlemagne 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just steps from the Pont de Neuilly, the Hotel Charlemagne is a quality 3-star hotel with air condionned which ensures guests easy and rapid access to the centre of Paris, including the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, the Tuileries Gardens and the Louvre museum, the historical Marais district, the Jardin d'Acclimatation and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemagne Hotel Neuilly Sur Seine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing